Extended Audio Sample

Download Trouble Makes a Comeback Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample Trouble Makes a Comeback, by Stephanie Tromly Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Stephanie Tromly Narrator: Kathleen McInerney Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: Trouble Series Release Date:
Regular Price: $23.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $18.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

A whip-smart, screwball noir mystery with snappy prose, wry humor, and breakneck dialogue—this sequel to Trouble Is a Friend of Mine is perfect for fans of Veronica Mars, Sherlock, John Hughes, and Carl Hiassen.

After a fall semester of fiascoes: getting arrested, then kidnapped, then blown up in an explosion (all thanks to the weird but brilliant Philip Digby), Zoe Webster is looking forward to a quiet spring. Now that Digby has left town, she’s finally built a regular high school life for herself. She’s dating Austin, the alternate QB; she knows girls she considers friends; she’s learning to enjoy being normal and semi-popular. Which of course is when Digby comes back: He’s got a new lead on his missing sister and he needs Zoe’s help.

Suddenly Zoe is tussling with a billionaire arch-villain, locking horns with armed goons, and digging into what makes the Digby family tick, even as she tries to navigate the confusing and emotionally fraught world of high school politics and locker-room drama. After all, it’s hard to explain Digby to a boy like Austin, especially when Zoe isn’t sure how she feels about Digby herself—or how he feels about her.

Now that Digby’s back, get ready for another hilarious whodunit filled with razor-sharp dialogue, ridiculously funny action, and the most charismatic, dynamic duo you’ve ever met. And just try to stay out of trouble. We dare you.

Download and start listening now!

c0bm

Quotes & Awards

  • “This action-packed read will appeal to boys and girls who like the dark underbelly of organized crime. There are just enough normal teenage antics to make the story somewhat relatable and just enough scheming to make the story exciting.”

    VOYA

  • “The author bounces her characters off one another in spectacular ways, crafting drama, suspense, love, and exasperation with ease…The characters come in to their own, darting in and out of mischief and mayhem at dizzying speeds and trading verbal jabs along the way….The characters are so rich and the dialogue is so much fun…An effective and largely entertaining romp.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “Narrator Kathleen McInerney is also back, bringing the same verve and charm to her performance that she delivered in this series’ debut, Trouble Is a Friend of Mine. Listeners will find themselves equally engaged in the fate of Digby’s missing sister and in Zoe’s struggle to balance her new boyfriend, Austin, with her old feelings for Digby. Witty dialogue and a cast of characters—from a high school queen bee to Zoe’s overbearing dad—are brought to life with aplomb by McInerney.”

    AudioFile

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations