Download Trigger Warning: Short Fictions and Disturbances Audiobook

Trigger Warning: Short Fictions and Disturbances Audiobook, by Neil Gaiman Extended Sample Click for printable size audiobook cover
Author: Neil Gaiman Narrator: Neil Gaiman Publisher: HarperAudio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: February 2015 ISBN: 9780062373625
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00 (1 ratings) (rate this audio book)
Regular Price: $15.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$7.95$7.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Multiple award winning, #1 New York Times bestselling author Neil Gaiman returns to dazzle, captivate, haunt, and entertain with this third collection of short fiction following Smoke and Mirrors and Fragile Things—which includes a never-before published American Gods story, “Black Dog,” written exclusively for this volume.

In this new collection, Neil Gaiman pierces the veil of reality to reveal the enigmatic, shadowy world that lies beneath. Trigger Warning includes previously published pieces of short fiction—stories, verse, and a very special Doctor Who story that was written for the fiftieth anniversary of the beloved series in 2013—as well “Black Dog,” a new tale that revisits the world of American Gods, exclusive to this collection.

Trigger Warning explores the masks we all wear and the people we are beneath them to reveal our vulnerabilities and our truest selves. Here is a rich cornucopia of horror and ghosts stories, science fiction and fairy tales, fabulism and poetry that explore the realm of experience and emotion. In Adventure Story—a thematic companion to The Ocean at the End of the Lane—Gaiman ponders death and the way people take their stories with them when they die. His social media experience A Calendar of Tales are short takes inspired by replies to fan tweets about the months of the year—stories of pirates and the March winds, an igloo made of books, and a Mother’s Day card that portends disturbances in the universe. Gaiman offers his own ingenious spin on Sherlock Holmes in his award-nominated mystery tale The Case of Death and Honey. And Click-Clack the Rattlebag explains the creaks and clatter we hear when we’re all alone in the darkness.

A sophisticated writer whose creative genius is unparalleled, Gaiman entrances with his literary alchemy, transporting us deep into the realm of imagination, where the fantastical becomes real and the everyday incandescent. Full of wonder and terror, surprises and amusements, Trigger Warning is a treasury of delights that engage the mind, stir the heart, and shake the soul from one of the most unique and popular literary artists of our day.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “A prodigiously imaginative collection…The best of these clever fantasy metafictions explore the mysteries of artistic inspiration.”

    New York Times Book Review

  • “The first collection of short works by the Hugo and Nebula winner in nine years contains 400 pages of stories, fairy tales, short takes, and verse. Its mixture of genres, tones, and lengths will please all takers. Its special attractions include pieces about Dr. Who, Sherlock Holmes, and an original story written exclusively for this volume.”

    Barnes&, editorial review

  • “There’s much to revel in here, especially for those who’ve never read anything by Gaiman.”

    Huffington Post

  • “There is something for every type of Gaiman fan here, and those new to his work will find this to be a solid introduction to the type of stories he crafts: lyrical, literary, sometimes quite chilling, and always strange and provocative…This is a book to savor and enjoy.”

  • “Those who want to greet and shake hands or settle in for a conversational catch-up with Gaiman’s delightfully dramatic minstrel’s tale-by-the-campfire style will love everything in Trigger Warning, naturally.”


  • “Everything that endears Gaiman to his legions of fans is on display…Full of all manner of witches and monsters and things that creep in the night, this collection will thoroughly satisfy faithful fans and win new ones—if there’s anyone out there left unconverted.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “Not every author is also a talented narrator, but Neil Gaiman is succeeding at mastering the art. It’s a pleasure to listen to him deliver his new collection of short stories. He’s clearly enjoying himself, and listeners will be carried along with his good cheer. Gaiman’s stories are almost always spooky, odd, and disquieting, and he narrates with tense concern, calm bravado, or quiet menace, as called for. He creates terrific Scottish and American accents and softens his tones for female characters, in particular performing convincingly as an elderly woman. The only quibble with this audiobook is its widely varying volume. When Gaiman drops his voice, it becomes so quiet that it can be hard to hear in a car—listening with headphones is best.”


  • A New York Times Editor’s Choice
  • A 2015 Amazon Best Books of the Year Selection for Science Fiction & Fantasy
  • Winner of the 2016 Locus Award for Collection

Listener Reviews

Write a Review
  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Aeon815 | 9/18/2017

    " I love Neil's work. I have read a lot of "young adult" stories from him lately and it was great to read a more "adult" side of him. This is a great collection of great stories from a great writer. He is also an incredible orator and it makes it that much more enjoyable to hear him read his own work. Highly recommended if you like Gaiman's writing style. "

About the Author

Neil Gaiman is the author of several #1 New York Times bestsellers, including Norse Mythogy, The Ocean at the End of the Lane, and Anansi Boys, and others, as well as the Sandman series of graphic novels. His fiction has received Newbery, Carnegie, Hugo, Nebula, World Fantasy, and Will Eisner awards. His novel American Gods aired as a TV series in 2017. Originally from England, he lives in the United States, where he is a professor at Bard College.