Download Those Who Leave and Those Who Stay Audiobook

Those Who Leave and Those Who Stay Audiobook, by Elena Ferrante Extended Sample Click for printable size audiobook cover
Author: Elena Ferrante Narrator: Hillary Huber Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Series: The Neapolitan Novels Release Date: June 2015 ISBN: 9781483080628
5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 5.00 (1 ratings) (rate this audio book)
Regular Price: $22.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$7.95$7.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

The incredible story continues in book three of the critically acclaimed Neapolitan novels!

In this third Neapolitan novel, Elena and Lila, the two girls whom readers first met in My Brilliant Friend, have become women. Lila married at sixteen and has a young son; she has left her husband and the comforts her marriage brought and now works as a common laborer. Elena has left the neighborhood, earned her college degree, and published a successful novel, all of which has opened the doors to a world of learned interlocutors and richly furnished salons. Both women are pushing against the walls of a prison that would have seen them living a life of misery, ignorance, and submission. They are afloat on the great sea of opportunities that opened up during the 1970s. Yet they are still very much bound to each other by a strong, unbreakable bond.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Ferrante writes with the kind of power saved for weather systems with female names, sparing no one, and Those Who Stay is a tour de force. I don’t want to read anything else.”

    Jennifer Gilmore, New York Times bestselling author of Golden Country

  • “Elena Ferrante is one of the great novelists of our time.”

    New York Times Book Review

  • “Surpass[es] the rapturous storytelling of the previous titles in the Neapolitan Novels.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “Rising far above the melodrama of a typical coming-of-age story, this third in Ferrante’s four Neapolitan novels exhibits keen intellectual curiosity and heartfelt passion as it continues to explore the lives of childhood friends Lina and Elena…Superbly translated, this tour de force shows off Ferrante’s strong storytelling ability and will leave readers eager for the final volume of the series.”

    Library Journal (starred review)

  • “Ferrante continues to imbue this growing saga with great magic, treating the girls’ years of marriage and motherhood with breathtaking honesty while envisaging the turbulence of political and social unrest in 1970s Italy. Though originally planned as a trilogy, the story doesn’t finish here, as this book ends with a hook that will leave readers eagerly awaiting the next installment.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “Ferrante’s lucid rendering of Lila’s and Elena’s entwined yet discrete lives illustrates both that the personal is political and that novels of ideas can compel as much as their lighter-weight counterparts.”

    Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

  • “Ferrante has authored a ‘Portrait of the Artist as a Young Woman’ that captures not only the forging of a self but the salvaging of it.”

    Vogue, praise for the series

  • A Publishers Weekly Top 10 Book of 2014
  • One of Kirkus Reviews’ Best Books of 2014
  • A New York Times Editor’s Choice
  • A 2014 New York Times Notable Book

Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!
Write a Review

About the Author

Elena Ferrante, author of The Days of Abandonment, Troubling Love, and My Brilliant Friend, among others, is one of Italy’s most important and acclaimed contemporary writers. She was named one of the 100 Most Influential People of 2016 by Time.

About the Narrator

Hillary Huber, a Los Angeles–based voice talent with hundreds of commercials and promos under her belt, was bitten by the audiobook bug in 2005. She now records books on a regular basis and has been nominated for several Audie Awards and won numerous Earphones Awards.