Extended Audio Sample

Download This Must Be the Place: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample This Must Be the Place: A Novel, by Kate Racculia Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (826 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Kate Racculia Narrator: Coleen Marlo Publisher: Tantor Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $20.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

A sudden death, a never-mailed postcard, and a long buried secret set the stage for a luminous and heartbreakingly real novel about lost souls finding one another.

The Darby-Jones boardinghouse in Ruby Falls, New York, is home to Mona Jones and her daughter Oneida, two loners and self-declared outcasts who have formed a perfectly insular family unit: the two of them and the three eclectic boarders living in their house. But their small, quiet life is upended when Arthur Rook shows up in the middle of a nervous breakdown, devastated by the death of his wife, carrying a pink shoe box containing all his wife’s mementos and keepsakes, and holding a postcard from sixteen years ago, addressed to Mona but never sent. Slowly the contents of the box begin to fit together to tell a story—one of a powerful friendship, a lost love, and a secret that, if revealed, could change everything that Mona, Oneida, and Arthur know to be true. Or maybe the stories the box tells and the truths it brings to life will teach everyone about love—how deeply it runs, how strong it makes us, and how even when all seems lost, how tightly it brings us together.

With emotional accuracy and great energy, This Must Be the Place introduces memorable, charming characters that refuse to be forgotten.

Download and start listening now!

bemf

Quotes & Awards

  • This Must Be the Place makes for a lively read as it explores the themes of friendship, love, loss and forgiveness…The author creates subtle moments of poetry by way of everyday objects and lives.”

    Los Angeles Times

  • “The author brilliantly captures teenage angst and uncertainty as she conveys some very grown-up truths about the choices we make and the prices we—and others—pay for them. Intelligent, warm-hearted and tough-minded—Racculia is a talent to watch.”

    Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

  • “Racculia’s irresistibly charming debut is an artful mix of genres: oddball domestic (set in a boardinghouse, characters named Desdemona and Oneida), coming-of-age (high school loves and teen angst), and literary women’s fiction (love, loss, and friendship)…With its happy ending and rich trove of Gen-X references and humor, this is a thoroughly enjoyable first novel, both accessibly absurd and quite touching.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “By book’s end, readers will know they have unearthed a treasure. Highly recommended for discerning readers.”

    Library Journal

  • “A quirky upstate New York boarding house is the backdrop for Racculia’s ambitious debut about life, death, and love, lost and found…Fans of Bobbie Ann Mason and Billie Letts will enjoy this first outing from Racculia.”

    Booklist

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Debbie | 2/1/2014

    " A very enjoyable book, made me wish I could rent a room and have my life changed for the better. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Susan | 1/14/2014

    " This story didn't go anywhere I expected to so that made it interesting (and sometimes very funny - especially the WWPTD chapter - what WOULD Pete Townsend do?). I loved all the characters (yes even Amy) and it had a happy ending (several happy endings actually) - what more can you want. I'm surprised people haven't listed favorite quotes - I remember several things I should have written down and remembered. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Alicia | 1/4/2014

    " I wavered between 2 and 3 stars but ultimately decided I liked it more than I disliked it, despite the awkward and sometimes heavy-handed foreshadowing at times. (So heavy-handed that I saw the "big reveal" coming from a mile away, and that's saying something since I'm almost always the last one to catch on to those kinds of twists.) "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Kristen | 12/10/2013

    " I enjoyed reading this...the references were fun, the writing was good without being fussy (perhaps the character names were a bit overly quirky, but I don't mind that sort of thing) and the characters were fully realized. The central relationship is well handled...it could have easily been weird given the circumstances, but it progresses in a way that makes sense. Also, I would happily read a book just about Dani because I loved her. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Kate Racculia

Kate Racculia grew up in Syracuse, New York, and attended college in Buffalo, where she studied illustration, design, Jane Austen, and Canada. She moved to Boston for graduate school, where she received her MFA from Emerson College. Now she calls Boston home.