Extended Audio Sample

Download This Must Be the Place: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample This Must Be the Place: A Novel Audiobook, by Kate Racculia Click for printable size audiobook cover
3.68 out of 53.68 out of 53.68 out of 53.68 out of 53.68 out of 5 3.68 (28 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Kate Racculia Narrator: Coleen Marlo Publisher: Tantor Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: July 2010 ISBN: 9781400187966
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

The Darby-Jones boardinghouse in Ruby Falls, New York, is home to Mona Jones and her daughter, Oneida, two loners and self-declared outcasts who have formed a perfectly insular family unit: the two of them and the four eclectic boarders living in their house. But their small, quiet life is upended when Arthur Rook shows up in the middle of a nervous breakdown, devastated by the death of his wife, carrying a pink shoe box containing all his wife's mementos and keepsakes, and holding a postcard from sixteen years ago, addressed to Mona but never sent. Slowly the contents of the box begin to fit together to tell a story-one of a powerful friendship, a lost love, and a secret that, if revealed, could change everything that Mona, Oneida, and Arthur know to be true. Or maybe the stories the box tells and the truths it brings to life will teach everyone about love-how deeply it runs, how strong it makes us, and, even when all seems lost, how tightly it brings us together. With emotional accuracy and great energy, This Must Be the Place introduces memorable, charming characters that refuse to be forgotten. Download and start listening now!

bemf

Quotes & Awards

  • A thoroughly enjoyable first novel, both accessibly absurd and quite touching. Publishers Weekly
  • This Must Be the Place makes for a lively read as it explores the themes of friendship, love, loss and forgiveness…The author creates subtle moments of poetry by way of everyday objects and lives.”

    Los Angeles Times

  • “The author brilliantly captures teenage angst and uncertainty as she conveys some very grown-up truths about the choices we make and the prices we—and others—pay for them. Intelligent, warm-hearted and tough-minded—Racculia is a talent to watch.”

    Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

  • “Racculia’s irresistibly charming debut is an artful mix of genres: oddball domestic (set in a boardinghouse, characters named Desdemona and Oneida), coming-of-age (high school loves and teen angst), and literary women’s fiction (love, loss, and friendship)…With its happy ending and rich trove of Gen-X references and humor, this is a thoroughly enjoyable first novel, both accessibly absurd and quite touching.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “By book’s end, readers will know they have unearthed a treasure. Highly recommended for discerning readers.”

    Library Journal

  • “A quirky upstate New York boarding house is the backdrop for Racculia’s ambitious debut about life, death, and love, lost and found…Fans of Bobbie Ann Mason and Billie Letts will enjoy this first outing from Racculia.”

    Booklist

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Debbie | 2/1/2014

    " A very enjoyable book, made me wish I could rent a room and have my life changed for the better. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Susan | 1/14/2014

    " This story didn't go anywhere I expected to so that made it interesting (and sometimes very funny - especially the WWPTD chapter - what WOULD Pete Townsend do?). I loved all the characters (yes even Amy) and it had a happy ending (several happy endings actually) - what more can you want. I'm surprised people haven't listed favorite quotes - I remember several things I should have written down and remembered. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Alicia | 1/4/2014

    " I wavered between 2 and 3 stars but ultimately decided I liked it more than I disliked it, despite the awkward and sometimes heavy-handed foreshadowing at times. (So heavy-handed that I saw the "big reveal" coming from a mile away, and that's saying something since I'm almost always the last one to catch on to those kinds of twists.) "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kristen | 12/10/2013

    " I enjoyed reading this...the references were fun, the writing was good without being fussy (perhaps the character names were a bit overly quirky, but I don't mind that sort of thing) and the characters were fully realized. The central relationship is well handled...it could have easily been weird given the circumstances, but it progresses in a way that makes sense. Also, I would happily read a book just about Dani because I loved her. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Karen | 11/30/2013

    " Just okay. Ultimately a little too chick-litty for me. I enjoyed the bits about the boarding house and the characters there, but I found the plot about the daughter and the boy from her high school class uninteresting. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Rebecca | 11/28/2013

    " Somewhat predictable, but this was a good plane read. I liked the characters, and I liked reading about cake. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Denise | 11/19/2013

    " This is Kate Racculia's first book ... and personally I hope to see many more, soon, very soon. I thoroughly enjoyed the plot, she draws amazingly complex characters and takes some unexpected turns. Bravo. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Kari | 11/7/2013

    " I am not finishing this book. It was given to me free for review. I'm so disappointed. The writing is well done, but the content is offensive. I won't go into details, because it's gross, but combine it with horrid language and you'll know why I gave up on it. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jennifer | 10/24/2013

    " I enjoyed this book, which followed one man's journey to discover who his wife was - after her death. The characters were well-developed and the plot was interesting. It did take me a while to read it, though, as it is a pretty long book. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Rachelheavers | 10/2/2013

    " never would have made it through if I had had anything else to read, but I'm really glad I decided to stick with it. Love that the characters are the same age as I am and went to high school in the same period. Racculia is generous with her character's flaws, both in description and depth. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Tess | 8/18/2013

    " One of those books with a very engaging (if predictable) main plot/"mystery" and less engaging subplot. I found myself wanting to skip a lot (the author's very descriptive writing style didn't help) to get to the parts I was most interested in. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Pam McCauley | 3/4/2013

    " Loved this book...very, very well written! Very troubled characters! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jana | 12/8/2012

    " I absolutely loved this book!! Please write more, Kate! "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Gina | 11/18/2012

    " I really liked the premise of this novel, but for me, it didn't live up to its expectation. A reviewer said it would have been better as a short story and I agree. One thing that I did enjoy was the quirky characters. Overall this book for me was meh. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Rebecca | 10/27/2012

    " This is a fantastic debut novel. It's a captivating story with totally original characters. Kate Racculia is a great writer who I hope comes out with something else very soon. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Dana M. | 6/4/2012

    " I've been lucky to have chosen several good books so far this year. I loved this one! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kerry | 9/17/2011

    " Intriguing! Lots of passion on the first 40 pages! This turned out to be an awesome read!teen angst, parenting issues, baking/fondant, art forgery..it had it all! as they say on the book jacket- "it is a celebration of life,self-discovery and love." "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Maya Lang | 8/13/2011

    " Really liked this book. A trifecta of character, plot, and good writing. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Terry | 8/2/2011

    " Why does this remind me of Elizabeth McCracken? An intriguing story, gently told--ostensibly about a young widower's search for his late wife's identity, but more about the mystery of belonging and finding our place in the world. LA to Syracuse. blurbed by Elizabeth Berg. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Cathy | 5/5/2011

    " I enjoyed this book very much, and will look for other books by this author. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lori | 4/15/2011

    " enjoyed it very much. she's a gifted writer "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Carolyn | 4/7/2011

    " quick read, very enjoyable, palate cleanser, "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kerry | 3/21/2011

    " Intriguing! Lots of passion on the first 40 pages! This turned out to be an awesome read!teen angst, parenting issues, baking/fondant, art forgery..it had it all! as they say on the book jacket- "it is a celebration of life,self-discovery and love." "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Karen | 3/7/2011

    " The "secret" is not much of a secret; finishing it says something. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jacquelyn | 2/25/2011

    " the plot turned out to be a little less than i expected, but Racculia writes with so much elegance and subtle sense of humor. for the style of writing alone, i'm sure i will read more of Racculia. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Dana | 2/24/2011

    " I've been lucky to have chosen several good books so far this year. I loved this one! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Linda | 2/21/2011

    " I was nervous the whole time I was reading this book because ALL the characters were nervous, anxious, sad, secretive. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Rebecca | 2/12/2011

    " Somewhat predictable, but this was a good plane read. I liked the characters, and I liked reading about cake. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Kate Racculia

Kate Racculia grew up in Syracuse, New York, and attended college in Buffalo, where she studied illustration, design, Jane Austen, and Canada. She moved to Boston for graduate school, where she received her MFA from Emerson College. Now she calls Boston home.

About the Narrator

Coleen Marlo is an AudioFile Earphones Award–winning narrator who has been nominated for an Audie Award twice, winning in 2011. She has been awarded three Listen-Up Awards from Publishers Weekly and an AudioFile Audiobook of the Year Award in 2011 and was named Audiobook Narrator of the Year for 2010 by Publishers Weekly. She is a member of the prestigious Actors Studio and taught acting for ten years at the Lee Strasberg Theatre & Film Institute. Marlo is a proud founding member of Deyan Institute of Voice Artistry and Technology.