Extended Audio Sample

Download The Woman Who Died a Lot: A Thursday Next Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Woman Who Died a Lot: A Thursday Next Novel Audiobook, by Jasper Fforde Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (3,581 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Jasper Fforde Narrator: Emily Gray Publisher: Recorded Books, LLC Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Thursday Next Series Release Date: October 2012 ISBN: 9781470323844
Regular Price: $29.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Jasper Fforde’s delightfully zany Thursday Next series shows no signs of slowing down with its seventh entry, The Woman Who Died a Lot.

Despite being semi-happily semi-retired from SpecOps, Thursday accepts the head librarian position at the Swindon library. But soon threats from a supreme Deity, a mnemonomorph, and the nefarious Goliath corporation press Thursday back into active duty.

Download and start listening now!

BK_RECO_006204

Quotes & Awards

  • “This is the proverbial madcap lighthearted romp, full of hijinks, parody, and puns. Jasper Fforde does it well. It’s safe to say that if you enjoy that particularly British, Douglas Adams-style absurd delivery of wry observations, you’ll get a kick out of this one.”

    New York Journal of Books

  • “Big, big fun, with enough in-jokes to keep anyone snickering for a long time—especially English Lit geeks.”

    Seattle Times

  • “As always, Fforde makes this wacky world perfectly plausible, elucidating Ffordian physics with just the right ratio of pseudoscientific jargon to punch lines. It’s a dazzling, heady brew of high concept and low humor, absurd antics with a tea-and-toast sensibility that will appeal to fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse alike.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “Fforde continues to show that his forte is absurdist humor in his seventh crime thriller starring Thursday Next…[An] endearingly-bizarre fantasy world limited only by Fforde’s impressive imagination.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Narrator Emily Gray is the ideal foil for Jasper Fforde’s quirky parody—her measured pacing and genteel British accent give a ‘straight man’ quality to her performance. Gray delivers Fforde’s fantasies with subdued hilarity…Thought-provoking, imaginative humor, and literary allusions abound.”

    AudioFile

  • “Strap in and hang on tight…Another winner for fans and lovers of SF, time travel, puns, allusions, and all sorts of literary hijinks.”

    Library Journal

  • A 2012 Kansas City Star Top 100 Book for Mystery/Suspense
  • A New York Times Bestseller

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Abby | 2/4/2014

    " I look forward to Thursday's Next adventure in the Dark Reading Matter-- I know I only understand a fraction of what goes on in these books but they're just so much fun I can't stop. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sandra | 1/21/2014

    " More Chronoguard focus in this book. Ends as though there may be a sequel... "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Nikki | 1/20/2014

    " A great read that reminded me of Fforde's earlier Thursday Next novels. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Ann Rufo | 1/15/2014

    " To be honest, this latest in one of my favorite series, started out a little slow for me. And then at about page twenty that stopped being true and I was lost again in the rich, alternative world of Thursday Next, where books and literature are the highest commodity and even an older Thursday is still the woman in charge who kicks ass and protects books, a dream heroine. The only unfortunate part is the growing fear with each book, this one especially, that Thursday may have run her course. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 J | 1/12/2014

    " oh, jasper. you are so wonderful. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 James | 1/6/2014

    " After the last Thursday Next book was slightly disappointing, I had mixed expectations for this one. But it delivered! Set entirely in Swindon and its surrounds, this is an excellent return to Jasper Fforde's utterly bizarre yet somehow entirely reasonable world of Thursday Next. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kathy | 1/6/2014

    " The best one yet, in my opinion! Of course that could have something to do with all the library jokes. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Lexi | 1/4/2014

    " This returns to the great storytelling of the first Thursday Next books. After all these years, Thursday's still got it. So many twists and turns, and if you appreciate - and can keep up with - Fforde's constant turnabouts, you'll love this latest Thursday Next caper, just like I did. Some things you can see coming, but when the characters finally catch up with you, there's still a twist or two you didn't see coming. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lisa | 1/3/2014

    " Welcome back, Thursday! As usual, loved his book. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kerry Dwyer | 12/29/2013

    " This was not the best of the Thursday Next series. It won't stop me reading the next one but I felt this one tried too hard. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Courtney | 12/3/2013

    " (3.5 stars) Not my favorite in the series. I miss the BookWorld. Lots of quirky goodness in this one, but I spent most of it wishing Thursday would jump into a book. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Steph Moreno | 11/21/2013

    " Fforde still has it! He just needs to put this effort in his other series too "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Mirakel Mayoral | 11/6/2013

    " It's Jasper. It's Thursday. It's awesome, and very funny! Gave me much to think about! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Gail | 9/3/2013

    " I have read the entire series and while I enjoy this kind of nonsense, I cant really give something like this more than 3 stars. I am kind of stingy with my stars. Only read this book if you have read the rest of the series. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kristina | 7/6/2013

    " Jasper Fforde never runs out of idea! A great read! Although I did miss Thursday's jumping into books. Hope she'll be able to do that again in the next book of the series. (You need to have read the previous books in the series to understand what I'm talking about...) Still, I enjoyed this a lot. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Ashley | 6/24/2013

    " I love the Thursday Next series because of Fforde's twists and turns through literature. This latest Next book has no entry into the Book World and it's unclear whether any future books will return there. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kathie | 6/19/2013

    " Rather disconcerting to read a Thursday Next book in which the Bookworld had very little part. Nevertheless, the book has the same qualities that have made the previous books in the series so good - most notably, an interesting alternate world and clever use of language. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Laura | 4/30/2013

    " A must-read for librarians! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Martha | 10/3/2012

    " Thursday Next is back in book #7 with a host of punny problems including a son who may commit murder, slashed budgets, a relentless mindworm, and an imminent smiting. Would recommend to Nextian fans, as new readers would be hard pressed to figure out who's who and what the heck is going on. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Jasper Fforde

Jasper Fforde traded a varied career in the film industry for staring vacantly out the window and arranging words on a page. He is the author of the Nursery Crime and Thursday Next series.

About the Narrator

Emily Gray grew up in a military family and started audiobook narration in 2001. She has been heard bringing to life the adventures of Becky Bloomwood in Sophie Kinsella’s Shopaholic series. Emily and her husband started the Classics Acting Company in Dallas where she has appeared in The Cherry Orchard. She is the winner of three AudioFile Earphones Awards.