Extended Audio Sample

Download The Woman Who Died a Lot: A Thursday Next Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Woman Who Died a Lot: A Thursday Next Novel, by Jasper Fforde Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (3,581 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Jasper Fforde Narrator: Emily Gray Publisher: Recorded Books, LLC Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Thursday Next Series Release Date:
Regular Price: $29.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Jasper Fforde’s delightfully zany Thursday Next series shows no signs of slowing down with its seventh entry, The Woman Who Died a Lot.

Despite being semi-happily semi-retired from SpecOps, Thursday accepts the head librarian position at the Swindon library. But soon threats from a supreme Deity, a mnemonomorph, and the nefarious Goliath corporation press Thursday back into active duty.

Download and start listening now!

BK_RECO_006204

Quotes & Awards

  • “This is the proverbial madcap lighthearted romp, full of hijinks, parody, and puns. Jasper Fforde does it well. It’s safe to say that if you enjoy that particularly British, Douglas Adams-style absurd delivery of wry observations, you’ll get a kick out of this one.”

    New York Journal of Books

  • “Big, big fun, with enough in-jokes to keep anyone snickering for a long time—especially English Lit geeks.”

    Seattle Times

  • “As always, Fforde makes this wacky world perfectly plausible, elucidating Ffordian physics with just the right ratio of pseudoscientific jargon to punch lines. It’s a dazzling, heady brew of high concept and low humor, absurd antics with a tea-and-toast sensibility that will appeal to fans of Douglas Adams and P. G. Wodehouse alike.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “Fforde continues to show that his forte is absurdist humor in his seventh crime thriller starring Thursday Next…[An] endearingly-bizarre fantasy world limited only by Fforde’s impressive imagination.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Narrator Emily Gray is the ideal foil for Jasper Fforde’s quirky parody—her measured pacing and genteel British accent give a ‘straight man’ quality to her performance. Gray delivers Fforde’s fantasies with subdued hilarity…Thought-provoking, imaginative humor, and literary allusions abound.”

    AudioFile

  • “Strap in and hang on tight…Another winner for fans and lovers of SF, time travel, puns, allusions, and all sorts of literary hijinks.”

    Library Journal

  • A 2012 Kansas City Star Top 100 Book for Mystery/Suspense
  • A New York Times Bestseller

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Abby | 2/4/2014

    " I look forward to Thursday's Next adventure in the Dark Reading Matter-- I know I only understand a fraction of what goes on in these books but they're just so much fun I can't stop. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Sandra | 1/21/2014

    " More Chronoguard focus in this book. Ends as though there may be a sequel... "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Nikki | 1/20/2014

    " A great read that reminded me of Fforde's earlier Thursday Next novels. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Ann Rufo | 1/15/2014

    " To be honest, this latest in one of my favorite series, started out a little slow for me. And then at about page twenty that stopped being true and I was lost again in the rich, alternative world of Thursday Next, where books and literature are the highest commodity and even an older Thursday is still the woman in charge who kicks ass and protects books, a dream heroine. The only unfortunate part is the growing fear with each book, this one especially, that Thursday may have run her course. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations