Extended Audio Sample

Download The Woman at the Light: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Woman at the Light: A Novel, by Joanna Brady Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (258 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Joanna Brady Narrator: Hillary Huber Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $19.95 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

In the tradition of Leila Meacham and Dorothea Benton Frank comes a stunning debut novel about a well-born Southern woman who finds courage and strength to overcome tragedy with an unexpected new love.

One afternoon in 1839, Emily Lowry’s husband vanishes from Wreckers’ Cay, an isolated island off the coast of Key West where he tends the lighthouse. As days stretch into months, Emily has no choice but to take charge of Wreckers’ Cay and her husband’s duties tending the light to support her three children—and a fourth on the way. Unexpected help arrives when a runaway slave named Andrew washes up on their beach. At first, Emily is intensely wary of this strange, charming man, whose very presence there is highly illegal. But Andrew proves himself an enormous help and soon wins the hearts of the Lowry family. Far from the outside world and society’s rules, his place in Emily’s life, as steadfast now as the light, will forever change their futures. When Emily’s family is ripped apart once again, she faces untold hardships that test her love and determination and show how the passionate love of a defiant, determined woman can overcome any obstacle.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BLAK_005068

Quotes & Awards

  • “An enthralling tale of the days when wreckers ruled the seas and a beautiful woman was fair game.”

    Mary Cross, author of Madonna: A Biography

  • “Emily is an authentic heroine, relating her story in the manner of a late-life flashback, recounting her missteps and hardships with detached stoicism and her better memories with more poetic feeling…A delightful homage to the industries and people of nineteenth-century Key West as well as a moving love story with a light, mysterious twist.” 

    Booklist

  • “In her richly nuanced novel, Brady has created a heroine readers are unlikely to ever forget…An absolutely fantastic and unputdownable read!”

    Michelle Moran, nationally bestselling author

  • “Part history, part romance, told in clear prose, The Woman at the Light is compelling and rewarding.”

    Daphne Kalotay, author of Russian Winter

  • “A guaranteed good read!”

    Mark Howell, editor of Solares Hill

  • “Forbidden love, passion, greed, revenge, and murder…[Brady] knows how to stop your heart on one page and pull your heart strings on the next. Along the way, she weaves in a suspenseful mystery with a surprise ending; I could not put the book down and neither will you.”

    John Viele, author of the The Florida Keys: A History of the Pioneers

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Betty Sylvester | 2/19/2014

    " I can't say enough good things about this book. I am a big reader, one to two books a week. It is getting harder to find something that holds my interest. Since I have always liked books from the Civil War era, I was anxious to read this one. It did not disappoint me. It is a love story with some suspense and history added in. It is hard to believe this is Joanna Brady's first novel. Let's hope she writes many more. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Amy Bailey | 2/5/2014

    " Read My Review at LibGirlBooks! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Margaret Depaula | 1/23/2014

    " Joanna Brady has written a thoroughly enjoyable debut novel. Although I have visited and know some of the history of the outer islands of Key West, I had never read about or even heard about the nineteenth century women lighthouse keepers. The blend of factual events and names with the fictional story of the life of Emily Dinsmore gives us a snapshot of what life was like for some in the antebellum era of Key West. I also love the fact that she brings us the life of Emily from young woman to aged grandmother so that we are not left wondering what happened to her. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Emily | 1/19/2014

    " The pacing of this story was a little rushed at the end, but overall it was very well written. I stayed up late several nights this unexpected page turner! "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Joanna Brady’s novel was inspired by Key West’s colorful history and its female lighthouse keepers in the nineteenth century. She divides her time between Key West and a stone cottage in a medieval village in the Southwest of France.