The Witch King Audiobook, by H. E. Edgmon Play Audiobook Sample

Download The Witch King Audiobook

The Witch King Audiobook, by H. E. Edgmon Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $9.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $12.95 Add to Cart
Author: H. E. Edgmon Narrator: Dani Martineck Publisher: Harlequin Audio Audio Length: Series:The Witch King Duology Release Date: June 2021 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781488211249

Publisher Description

To save a fae kingdom, a trans witch must face his traumatic past and the royal fiancé he left behind. A debut fantasy for fans of Aiden Thomas, April Daniels, and C. B. Lee.

Wyatt would give anything to forget where he came from—but a kingdom demands its king.

In Asalin, fae rule and witches like Wyatt Croft … don’t. Wyatt’s betrothal to his best friend, fae prince Emyr North, was supposed to change that. But when Wyatt lost control of his magic one devastating night, he fled to the human world.

Now a coldly distant Emyr has hunted him down. Despite transgender Wyatt’s newfound identity and troubling past, Emyr has no intention of dissolving their engagement. In fact, he claims they must marry now or risk losing the throne. Jaded, Wyatt strikes a deal with the enemy, hoping to escape Asalin forever. But as he gets to know Emyr, Wyatt realizes the boy he once loved may still exist. And as the witches face worsening conditions, he must decide once and for all what’s more important—his people or his freedom.

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • “Martineck characterizes Wyatt with realistic emotion, bringing his snarky stubbornness, troubling past, and teenage flirtations to life. Emyr’s voice is more restrained, with playful undertones that are delightful to hear…Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.”

    - AudioFile
  • “[A] revolution-tinged celebration of trans joy, which refreshingly builds its conflict without jumping for trauma tropes.”

    - Publishers Weekly (starred review)
  • “[A] fiery stunner of a fantasy.”

    - Booklist
  • “Its rich worldbuilding and LGBTQIA+ representation, including a wide range of trans, nonbinary, and queer characters, will excite fantasy fans looking for a new world to explore.”

    - School Library Journal

Awards

  • Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award
  • An Indie Next List Pick of the Month for Kids
  • A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year in YA Fiction

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

H. E. Edgmon was born in the deep south but has had many homes, dropped out of school to do gay stuff, and is at least a little feral. In both their writing and daily life, they aim to center the voices of Indigenous people, trans people, and survivors of trauma. It is always their goal to make fascists uncomfortable. They have an eccentric little family of their own design, several very sensitive pets, and a lot of opinions.