The Turning Audiobook, by Emily Whitman Play Audiobook Sample

Download The Turning Audiobook

The Turning Audiobook, by Emily Whitman Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $19.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $27.99 Add to Cart
Author: Emily Whitman Narrator: Kirby Heyborne Publisher: Greenwillow Books Audio Length: Release Date: July 2018 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780062840912

Publisher Description

Does he belong to the land or to the sea?

Readers who loved Kelly Barnhill’s The Girl Who Drank the Moon and Pam Muñoz Ryan’s Echo will be transported to the place where the water and land meet in this exquisitely crafted coming-of-age tale about a selkie boy.

Aran has never truly fit in with his selkie clan. He was born in his human form, without a pelt to transform him into a sleek, strong seal. Each day he waits, left behind while his selkie family explores the deep ocean. What if his pelt never comes? Does the Moon even see him? Is he putting his clan at risk?

When his mother undertakes a journey to the far north to seek help, Aran is left in the care of a reclusive human woman on remote Spindle Island. Life on land is full of more wonders—and more dangers—than Aran could have ever imagined. Soon Aran will be forced to decide: will he fight for his place on land, or return to his home in the sea?

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • “Whitman builds a beautiful slow burn with her evocative middle-grade debut…A contemplative tale about the yearning to belong.”

    - Booklist
  • “Whitman keeps the suspense high and delivers a satisfying conclusion.”

    - School Library Journal

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Emily Whitman is the author of two acclaimed books for teenagers, and this is her first novel for younger readers. In all her books, myth and magic are a part of everyday life. She has worked in bookstores and behind library reference desks, and now she teaches writing workshops. She lives with her family in Portland, Oregon.

About the Narrator

Kirby Heyborne is a musician, actor, and professional narrator. Noted for his work in teen and juvenile audio, he has garnered over twenty Earphones Awards. His audiobook credits include Jesse Kellerman’s The Genius, Cory Doctorow’s Little Brother, and George R. R. Martin’s Selections from Dreamsongs.