Extended Audio Sample

Download The Turnaround Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Turnaround Audiobook, by George P. Pelecanos Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (1,624 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: George P. Pelecanos Narrator: Dion Graham Publisher: Hachette Book Group Format: Abridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: August 2008 ISBN: 9781600242373
Regular Price: $14.98 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

On a hot summer afternoon in 1972, three teenagers drove into an unfamiliar neighborhood and six lives were altered forever.

Thirty-five years later, one survivor of that night reaches out to another, opening a door that could lead to salvation. But another survivor is now out of prison, looking for reparation in any form he can find it.

The Turnaround takes us on a journey from the rock-and-soul streets of the ’70s to the changing neighborhoods of present-day Washington, DC, from the diners and auto garages of the city to the inside of Walter Reed Army Medical Hospital, where wounded men and women have returned to the world in a time of war. It is a novel of fathers and sons, wives and husbands, loss, victory, and violent redemption, another compelling, highly charged novel from George Pelecanos, “the best crime novelist in America” (Oregonian).

Download and start listening now!

BK_HACH_000141

Quotes & Awards

  • “Cogent and powerful…[Pelecanos] tells a tight, suspenseful story. And he packs enough of a wallop to put The Turnaround on an express bus of its own.”

    New York Times

  • “If you’ve never read a George Pelecanos novel, stop what you’re doing right now and find a copy.”

    Entertainment Weekly

  • “Incorporate[s] a heady brew of soul and rock music, movie-western morals, and urban street life. They are also thoughtful examinations of race, ethnicity, and manhood…an indelible read.”

    Los Angeles Times

  • “A mature story, told with easy mastery…Pelecanos’ narrative unfolds effortlessly…a gem.”

    Washington Post

  • “Pelecanos has a perfect ear for the rhythms of life and language in his beloved Washington…This is an excellent thriller about choices, family values, loyalty, and ultimately, violent redemption.”

    Guardian (London)

  • The Turnaround tells its stories masterfully, constricting the characters’ lives into a white-hot singularity of violence…As he always does, Pelecanos builds these characters out of tiny, perfectly observed details: food, geography, basketball, music…[an] intimate, suspenseful, gritty, hopeful slice of life.”

    AV Club

  • A New York Times Bestseller
  • Winner of the 2008 Hammett Prize

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 ccccurt Heimbuck | 2/18/2014

    " I guess I should give higher than 3 stars. The ending was too sweet. I'll read more of his books. Night Gardener next. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Paulo | 2/13/2014

    " George Pelecanos may be one of those boring bleeding heart dudes who seem to rant endlessly about peace, love and understanding, but he sure doesn't write like one. His historical writing is always sharp and to the point, and his sense of proportion is flawless: his characters react believably to the believable quandaries Pelecanos sets for them. 'Believable' is not something that seems to matter a lot for modern fiction; Pelecanos' books are always among the most remarkable exceptions - and he wrote so many good ones. It's tough finding new things to praise, but 'The Turnaround' is yet another good, vintage Pelecanos book. (That would make 478, by my count.) "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Jan | 2/1/2014

    " Urban grime,like "The Wire", though somehow not as engrossing. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 deep | 1/18/2014

    " Fans of The Wire or Generation Kill will find familiar reasons to dig this book - crime, decay, conflict, people, their circumstances, their reasons why and a common wish to break free of it all. Some of the turns come off telegraphed and some characters aren't that deep. The same could be said for the show Pelecanos used to write for, and it didn't ruin the results there. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Nancy | 1/15/2014

    " the ending made it right "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Bianca | 12/26/2013

    " I liked that it took place right in the MD/DC areas that I'm familiar with so I could actually envision every place the characters were, but it is definitely more of a male skewed book. The Author seems very knowledgeable and is also one of the creator/writers for The Wire, so I knew this book would have "street cred" for sure. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Arlene | 12/25/2013

    " I don't usually enjoy crime novels. This one held my attention because of the local flavor ... the neighborhood where I grew up AND the one where I live now. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Melody | 12/4/2013

    " There is a pretty far fetched thing that makes Alex "solve" a "mystery". And some of the language is predictable and trite. But his characters are 3D and he puts them smack dab into some thought provoking situations and gives you the reasons why. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 David Hewitt | 11/6/2013

    " I don't read all that much crime fiction, but there are some really terrific authors working in the field, and Pelicanos may be the best of them. Great characters, great sense of place, and some of the most brilliant plotting I've ever read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Eva Mitnick | 10/11/2013

    " While the story treads familiar ground, Pelecanos demonstrates a good ear for dialogue, and the stilted and somewhat sentimental prose turned into magic through the skillful and nuanced narration of Dion Graham, whose performance lifted me above the clogged 10 freeway. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kit | 11/29/2012

    " One coincidence rankles but otherwise this is a better book than I thought it would be. Mostly because most of the drama isn't in the scenes the plot summary on the jacket copy conjures up. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Chris Mason | 11/6/2012

    " Somewhat disappointing, I did recognize some characters from the wire. Not sure if I will read another of his books. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Laura Dugan | 10/17/2012

    " An interesting story centering around how one incident can change the shape of the lives of those involved and the quest for closure and redemption that follow. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jessica | 10/15/2012

    " Good story about mistakes made, redemption, forgiveness and generosity. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Dale | 4/13/2012

    " brought back memories, since part of it takes place in the 70's in areas near where i grew up. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Linda | 3/5/2012

    " Predictable, but not a bad read. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Joanne | 1/26/2012

    " I read about 1/4 of this book then had to put it down. The story wasn't compelling enough to help me get past the writing style - reading the book felt like I was reading a script from dragnet. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Luis | 12/29/2011

    " Far from Pelecanos' best. Yet, still enjoyable. Pelacanos still renders D.C.-as-character better than any other. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Lorissa | 11/4/2011

    " I've read better Pelecanos but am still a fan. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Tara | 10/6/2011

    " A good book, well written. A story of mistakes and forgiveness. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kevin Bokay | 7/27/2011

    " Great writer... this is a book about redemption. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Alison | 7/15/2011

    " Another book with a bonus! Great crime story follows clean real characters presented plus hip dialog. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Jules | 7/7/2011

    " My gosh, this book is terrible! I couldn't even finish it. That's some bad writing. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Dylan Posa | 5/25/2011

    " A well-written, simple little book. I'm not sure if I liked it for it's unassuming nature, or the fact that it went down easy. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Janet | 4/14/2011

    " Story by writer for TV The Wire and has much of the same feel, although not quite so involved. Deals with racial issues, family issues and accepting responsibility and facing the past with dignity. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 stan | 2/20/2011

    " A awesome book. up there amongst the best ,GP has no competition

    "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Bracey | 1/10/2011

    " Couldn't even finish it. Total bore. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Marc | 1/7/2011

    " ok, a bit of a surprise at the end - but nothing special, lots of dull parts. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Linnet | 12/10/2010

    " Thirty years after a confrontation of 3 white boys with 3 black boys, the men who were involved try to pick up the pieces. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Ron | 12/3/2010

    " A more accessible version of Richard Price that breaks down at its conclusion, ending without real drama in a strangely sappy feel-good resolution. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Wendy | 11/2/2010

    " Somewhat unrealistic in its too sweet ending, but I did read it in one sitting! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Lorissa | 10/24/2010

    " I've read better Pelecanos but am still a fan. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Steve | 9/17/2010

    " Pelecanos is one of my favorite mystery/crime writers. He writes about real people. Well, they seem real. The books are gritty and violent,but his books are almost all set in Washington, DC (where I lived for many years) and violence is pretty everyday. Easy but compelling reading. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

George Pelecanos is the New York Times bestselling author of numerous novels set in and around Washington, DC. His works have earned him the Raymond Chandler Award in Italy, the Falcon Award in Japan, and the Grand Prix Du Roman Noir in France. He is also an independent-film producer, an essayist, and a producer and Emmy-nominated writer of the HBO hit series The Wire. He currently writes for the acclaimed HBO series Treme. He lives with his family in Silver Spring, Maryland.

About the Narrator

Dion Graham, from HBO’s The Wire, also narrates The First 48 on A&E. Winner of more than a dozen Earphones Awards and the prestigious Audie Award for best narration, he has performed on Broadway, off Broadway, internationally, in films, and in several hit television series. His performances have been praised as thoughtful and compelling, vivid and full of life.