Extended Audio Sample

Download The Turnaround Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Turnaround, by George Pelecanos Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (1,624 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: George Pelecanos Narrator: Dion Graham Publisher: Hachette Book Group Format: Abridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $14.98 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

On a hot summer afternoon in 1972, three teenagers drove into an unfamiliar neighborhood and six lives were altered forever.

Thirty-five years later, one survivor of that night reaches out to another, opening a door that could lead to salvation. But another survivor is now out of prison, looking for reparation in any form he can find it.

The Turnaround takes us on a journey from the rock-and-soul streets of the ’70s to the changing neighborhoods of present-day Washington, DC, from the diners and auto garages of the city to the inside of Walter Reed Army Medical Hospital, where wounded men and women have returned to the world in a time of war. It is a novel of fathers and sons, wives and husbands, loss, victory, and violent redemption, another compelling, highly charged novel from George Pelecanos, “the best crime novelist in America” (Oregonian).

Download and start listening now!

BK_HACH_000141

Quotes & Awards

  • “Cogent and powerful…[Pelecanos] tells a tight, suspenseful story. And he packs enough of a wallop to put The Turnaround on an express bus of its own.”

    New York Times

  • “If you’ve never read a George Pelecanos novel, stop what you’re doing right now and find a copy.”

    Entertainment Weekly

  • “Incorporate[s] a heady brew of soul and rock music, movie-western morals, and urban street life. They are also thoughtful examinations of race, ethnicity, and manhood…an indelible read.”

    Los Angeles Times

  • “A mature story, told with easy mastery…Pelecanos’ narrative unfolds effortlessly…a gem.”

    Washington Post

  • “Pelecanos has a perfect ear for the rhythms of life and language in his beloved Washington…This is an excellent thriller about choices, family values, loyalty, and ultimately, violent redemption.”

    Guardian (London)

  • The Turnaround tells its stories masterfully, constricting the characters’ lives into a white-hot singularity of violence…As he always does, Pelecanos builds these characters out of tiny, perfectly observed details: food, geography, basketball, music…[an] intimate, suspenseful, gritty, hopeful slice of life.”

    AV Club

  • A New York Times Bestseller
  • Winner of the 2008 Hammett Prize

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by ccccurt Heimbuck | 2/18/2014

    " I guess I should give higher than 3 stars. The ending was too sweet. I'll read more of his books. Night Gardener next. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Paulo | 2/13/2014

    " George Pelecanos may be one of those boring bleeding heart dudes who seem to rant endlessly about peace, love and understanding, but he sure doesn't write like one. His historical writing is always sharp and to the point, and his sense of proportion is flawless: his characters react believably to the believable quandaries Pelecanos sets for them. 'Believable' is not something that seems to matter a lot for modern fiction; Pelecanos' books are always among the most remarkable exceptions - and he wrote so many good ones. It's tough finding new things to praise, but 'The Turnaround' is yet another good, vintage Pelecanos book. (That would make 478, by my count.) "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Jan | 2/1/2014

    " Urban grime,like "The Wire", though somehow not as engrossing. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by deep | 1/18/2014

    " Fans of The Wire or Generation Kill will find familiar reasons to dig this book - crime, decay, conflict, people, their circumstances, their reasons why and a common wish to break free of it all. Some of the turns come off telegraphed and some characters aren't that deep. The same could be said for the show Pelecanos used to write for, and it didn't ruin the results there. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations