Extended Audio Sample

Download The Trudeau Vector Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Trudeau Vector, by Juris Jurjevics Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (174 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Juris Jurjevics Narrator: Robertson Dean Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: August 2005 ISBN: 9780786561872
Regular Price: $24.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $19.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

As the international team of scientists at the spectacular Trudeau Research Center prepares for six months of unrelenting Arctic winter, three of their colleagues are found dead, their pupils missing and their bodies contorted in ghastly, unnatural positions. An American epidemiologist, the talented and unconventional Dr. Jessica Hanley, is summoned to investigate the medical riddle posed by these grisly deaths. At the same time, a decorated Russian admiral in Moscow is assigned a top-secret mission to locate and retrieve a Russian submarine that has suddenly and inexplicably vanished from central command’s radar.

The die is cast. Their lives will cross in Jurjevics’ engrossing debut thriller, brilliant and terrifying in its medical and historical accuracy. Hanley’s inquiry and Admiral Rudenko’s quest bring them up against hazards much bigger than microbes: scientific megalomania, lingering cold war tensions, world-threatening environmental toxins, all unfolding in the unforgiving extremes of the Arctic.

A thriller that superbly depicts the precarious, volatile area where science and global politics can clash with disastrous results, The Trudeau Vector is reminiscent of the classic suspense of Frederick Forsyth’s The Day of the Jackal and the terrifying realism of Michael Crichton’s The Andromeda Strain. With its disquieting and revelatory authenticity, readers cannot help but fall under its spell and ask themselves, “Could this really happen?”

Download and start listening now!

BK_PENG_000432

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Macy | 12/18/2013

    " I enjoyed this book immensely. It is a blend of suspense, medical drama, ecological drama, and lost love. I've recommended it to several people. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Brian | 10/12/2013

    " This was a solid read. I enjoyed it very much. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jp | 9/1/2013

    " The book keeps you guessing until near the very end. Believable plot and interesting characters play out a suspenseful search for what is killing them with timely but environmental and political soapbox discussions thrown in for good measure. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Ryan Zimmerman Carstairs | 8/15/2013

    " A surprisingly good book, far better than I thought it would be. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Harvee | 2/26/2013

    " Biochemists and epidemiologists, those who study communicable diseases, would love this thriller. I liked it too though I have just a general knowledge of biology. It was a happy find during my stroll through a recent bookstore sale. More here... "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Noel Hynd | 6/29/2012

    " A solid thriller, well researched, nicely paced..........Disclaimer: Juris used to be my editor at The Dial Press. Does this mean I now have to become an editor? ;-) "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Debi | 5/15/2012

    " This was an excellent medical thriller about the Arctic. When 3 scientists are found dead, Jessie Hanley is brought to the Arctic to discover what killed them. The book was informative about life in the Arctic. The mystery of what killed the scientists was intriguing as well. Highly recommended. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jessica | 3/14/2012

    " Bioterror and political intrigue isn't normally my thing, but this one is well-researched and the book moves along at a swift pace. Science Guy was much amused by the shout-out to Zeiss microscopes. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Katherine | 2/21/2012

    " Enjoyed it overall, some 'ya right' parts but yes, overall it was a good read. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kj | 2/7/2010

    " Stay off the ice! "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Jacqui | 2/1/2010

    " I couldn't resist a mystery paperback with a female epidemiologist as the main character... "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Renee | 10/12/2009

    " My how casually we talk about mass destruction. But really, if science had been presented like this to me in high school, I might have passed sophomore biology the first time. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 dragynlady | 1/26/2009

    " Entertaining read, in an interesting setting. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Mickey DeCicco | 9/29/2008

    " Haven't gotten very far in this book but it looks very promising. I'm a sucker for thrillers involving investigations of slaughters in arctic/antarctic research facilities, like H.P. Lovecraft's At the Mountains of Madness or John Carpenter's The Thing, or Alien vs. Predator. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Mic | 10/19/2007

    " Excellent book in the vein of Michael Crichton and Kim Stanley Robinson. Gripping. Knows enough of the science/medical stuff to make it believable. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 james | 6/15/2007

    " High adventure in the High Arctic. There's a research station on an island in the far north of Canada. Then some scientists die of a mysterious ailment. A Russian nuclear sub appears and leaves, and later another one arrives. Also, there is plenty of commentary about environmental degradation. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Paul K | 1/14/2006

    " A satisfying Bio thriller. Not quite on par with Crichton or Cook but still quite enjoyable. My only complaint was the ending seemed rushed. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations