Extended Audio Sample

Download The Trial of Fallen Angels Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Trial of Fallen Angels Audiobook, by James Kimmel Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: James Kimmel Narrator: Thérèse Plummer Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: November 2012 ISBN: 9781101579565
Regular Price: $17.50 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

For fans of The Shack, Mitch Albom, and The Lovely Bones comes a novel about a lawyer of souls in the afterlife.

Brek Cuttler has it all: a husband she loves, a daughter she adores, a successful law practice. And then one day everything she has ever known disappears. Brek finds herself standing on a deserted train platform, covered in blood. As she tries to comprehend what is happening to her, a man from her past approaches and explains that she has been chosen to join the elite team of lawyers charged with prosecuting and defending souls at the Final Judgment.

As Brek struggles to find her way back to her husband and daughter, she will discover that her first client holds the shocking secret of her fate—that seemingly disparate events during her life have conspired to bring her to a single moment in time that will determine her eternity, and that every act of kindness and cruelty sets in motion things beyond our wildest imaginations.

Download and start listening now!

aln7

Quotes & Awards

  • “In a world seething with anger in search of so-called justice, James Kimmel, Jr., spins a heartbreaking story that delivers a rebuke with courage, intelligence, and elegant prose.”

    Bryan Gruley, award-winning author of The Skeleton Box

  • “In his first novel, Kimmel has created a thrilling and fantastic world, a heady combination of the movie What Dreams May Come, John Grisham’s best work, and Dante’s Divine Comedy. Sometimes dreamily lyrical and sometimes harshly realistic, Kimmel’s authorial voice is undeniably compelling. Raw, tender, and intelligent, The Trial of Fallen Angels is a fascinating glimpse into the judgment of lost souls and recovered memories.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “This powerful debut from lawyer Kimmel…explores a myriad of spiritual concepts expressed in various religions. He deftly unveils each new character and cleverly balances the positive and negative aspects of their lives. Building upon the memories of multiple generations, Kimmel has written a stirring spiritual thriller.”

    Library Journal

  • “Kimmel pays readers a supreme compliment here by inviting them to take seriously the theological question of the Last Judgment…An intriguing, intricate, and metaphysical novel—not your typical fare.”

    Kirkus Reviews

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

James Kimmel Jr. is a novelist, lawyer, scholar, and advocate who focuses on the intersection of law and spirituality. He received his doctorate from the University of Pennsylvania, where he was a member of the University of Pennsylvania Law Review. Currently a member of the Religious Society of Friends, Jim has taught as an adjunct professor at the Lutheran Theological Seminary at Philadelphia. He lives in Pennsylvania with his wife and their two children.

About the Narrator

Thérèse Plummer is an actor, award-winning voice-over artist, and counselor. She is a four-time winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award for audio narration. She has appeared in a variety of television and film roles, and, as counselor for adolescents, she spent five years using drama therapy techniques in individual and group settings.