The Tin Drum: A New Translation by Breon Mitchell Audiobook, by Günter Grass Play Audiobook Sample

The Tin Drum: A New Translation by Breon Mitchell Audiobook

The Tin Drum: A New Translation by Breon Mitchell Audiobook, by Günter Grass Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $16.95
$9.95 for new members!
(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening)
  • Love your audiobook or we'll exchange it
  • No credits to manage, just big savings
  • Unlimited podcast listening
Add to Cart
$9.95/m - cancel anytime - 
learn more
Regular Price: $34.95 Add to Cart
Read By: Richard Powers Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 17.00 hours at 1.5x Speed 12.75 hours at 2.0x Speed Release Date: October 2009 Format: Unabridged Audiobook ISBN: 9781504643818

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:


Longest Chapter Length:

44:52 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

23:55 minutes

Average Chapter Length:

33:07 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:


Other Audiobooks Written by Günter Grass: > View All...

Publisher Description

The Tin Drum, one of the great novels of the twentieth century, became a runaway bestseller and catapulted its young author to the forefront of world literature. Now on the book’s fiftieth anniversary comes this new translation by Breon Mitchell, one that is faithful to Grass’ style and rhythm, restores omissions, and reflects more fully the complexity of the original work.

This is the story of Oskar Matzerath, a dwarfish hunchback detained in a mental hospital, convicted of a murder he did not commit. On the day of his third birthday, Oskar received his first tin drum, and from then on it is the means of his expression, allowing him to draw forth memories from his eccentric past as well as judgments about the horrors he observed through the nightmare of the Nazi era. The rhythms of Oskar’s drums are intricate and insistent, and they lead us, often by way of shocking fantasy, through the dark forest of German history. Through Oskar’s piercing, outspoken voice and deformed figure, through the imaginative distortion and exaggeration of historical experience, a startlingly true portrayal of the human situation comes into view.

Download and start listening now!

“At the ages of fourteen and fifteen, I had read Great Expectations twice—Dickens made me want to be a writer—but it was reading The Tin Drum at nineteen and twenty that showed me how. It was Günter Grass who demonstrated that it was possible to be a living writer who wrote with Dicken’s full range of emotion and relentless outpouring of language. Grass wrote with fury, love, derision, slapstick, pathos—all with an unforgiving conscience.”

— New York Times Book Review 


  • “When Günter Grass published The Tin Drum in 1959, it was as if German literature had been granted a new beginning after decades of linguistic and moral destruction. Within the pages of this, his first novel, Grass re-created the lost world from which his creativity sprang...It is not too audacious to assume that The Tin Drum will become one of the enduring literary works of the twentieth century.”

    — The Swedish Academy
  • “Breon Mitchell’s new translation of The Tin Drum shows it to be the masterpiece it is, and Paul Michael Garcia’s performance…serves it well…Together, Garcia, Grass, and Mitchell take listeners on a tour of love, war, and madness.”

    — AudioFile
  • “The story…flows smoothly, carried along by the prose and Garcia’s captivating performance. He reads with a dramatic intensity, giving Oskar (the narrator of the book) the voice of a man who seems to be talking to himself, listening, analyzing, and checking his words…Garcia’s masterful performance brings unreliable, unforgettable Oskar vividly to life.”

    — Booklist
  • “German author Günter Grass collaborated with Breon Mitchell on a brand-new translation of his Nobel Prize–winning classic. In 2005, Mitchell and nine other translators accompanied Grass on a week-long retreat in Germany, asking questions about the book and touring the locations featured in The Tin Drum. The result? The most faithful translation in fifty years. If you haven’t read this modern classic, now’s the time.”

    — BookPage

The Tin Drum Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About Günter Grass

Günter Grass (1927–2015) was born in Danzig, Germany. A novelist, playwright, essayist, graphic artist, and poet, he was the author of many acclaimed books. In 1999 he was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature. He lived in Lübeck, Germany.

About Richard Powers

Richard Powers has published thirteen novels. He is a MacArthur Fellow and received the National Book Award. His book, The Overstory, won the Pulitzer Prize in Fiction.