Extended Audio Sample

Download The Taste of Conquest: The Rise and Fall of the Three Great Cities of Spice Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Taste of Conquest: The Rise and Fall of the Three Great Cities of Spice, by Michael Krondl Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (161 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Michael Krondl Narrator: Todd McLaren Publisher: Tantor Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $19.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

In this engaging, anecdotal history of food, world conquest, and desire, a chef-turned-journalist tells the story of three legendary cities-Venice, Lisbon, and Amsterdam-that transformed the globe in the quest for spice. Written in a colorful style that will appeal to fans of Mark Kurlansky and Michael Pollan, this ambitious yet accessible book travels effortlessly from the Crusades to the present day. Michael Krondl explains that it was the desire for spices that got international trade up and running on a scale that had never occurred prior to that time. This explosive growth of the spice trade led to the successive rise-and fall-of Venice, Lisbon, and Amsterdam. Krondl, a gifted food writer, travels to each of these great cities and begins his visit with a great meal. Gradually, he merges the menu he's enjoying with the city's colorful past, and readers are off on a gastronomical tour that teaches them not only about food and spice but also about history and commerce. Download and start listening now!

bdpc

Quotes & Awards

  • Todd McLaren reads with a persuasive impersonation as he vicariously becomes the author. AudioFile
  • “With a dash of flair and a pinch of humor Michael Krondl mixes up a batch of well-researched facts to tell the story of the intriguing world of spices and their presence on the worldwide table. This is a book that every amateur cook, serious chef, foodie, or food historian should read.”

    Mary Ann Esposito, host/creator of the PBS cooking series Ciao Italia

  • “Michael Krondl’s new book on the spice trade peeks behind the usual histories of Venice, Lisbon, and Amsterdam—and tells a tale that is at once witty, informative, scholarly, and as consistently spicy as its subject. In short, it’s delicious!”

    Gary Allen, food history editor at Leite’s Culinaria and author of The Herbalist in the Kitchen

  • The Taste of Conquest is the savory story of the rise and fall of three spice-trading cities. It is filled with rich aromas and piquant tastes from the past that still resonate today. Michael Krondl serves up this aromatic tale with zest and verve. This book isn’t just for historians and spice lovers–it’s for all who love good writing and great stories.”

    Andrew F. Smith, editor of The Oxford Companion to American Food and Drink

  • “As a chef I have always been deeply intrigued by the mystique of spices. Michael Krondl’s book awakens and transports the reader into this mysterious world, showing us how our lives and history have been transformed by the sensuous odors of cardamom, nutmeg, and turmeric.”

    Gray Kunz, chef and owner of Cafe Gray and Grayz, coauthor of The Elements of Taste

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Cjj | 7/7/2013

    " An interesting read. Light enough for bedtime reading, but informative enough. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Ann | 8/4/2012

    " The book is very interesting, but I get the feeling that the author doesn't think the reader is always paying attention. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Liz | 6/16/2010

    " One of my favorite reads. It's a feast on travels to foreign places, their customs, their foods, their history. Fascinating! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Paul | 4/18/2010

    " Since I love spices, old cities and history, and have spent wonderful times wandering around Venice, Lisbon and Amsterdam, this book was pretty much the perfect bath time read for me. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations