Extended Audio Sample

Download The Surrogate Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Surrogate, by Tania Carver Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (73 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Tania Carver Narrator: Mark Meadows Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Brennan and Esposito Series Release Date: January 2012 ISBN: 9781482982138
Regular Price: $29.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $14.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

A shocking double-murder scene greets Detective Inspector Philip Brennan when he is called to a flat in Colchester. Two women are viciously cut open and laying spread-eagled, one tied to the bed, one on the floor. The woman on the bed has had her stomach cut into and her unborn child is missing. But this is the third time Phil and his team have seen such an atrocity. Two other pregnant women have been killed in this way and their babies taken from them. No one can imagine what sort of person would want to commit such horrible crimes. When psychologist Marina Esposito is brought in, Phil has to put aside his feelings about their shared past and get on with the job. But can they find the killer before another woman is targeted?

Download and start listening now!

BK_BBCA_000881

Quotes & Awards

  • “A crackling read that promises to keep you up all night.”

    Sun (London)

  • “A fantastic debut.”

    Marie Claire (UK)

  • With a plot line that ensnares from the off, and a comprehensive cast of characters, Carver’s debut novel sets the crime thriller bar high. A hard act to follow.”

    Irish Examiner

  • “Carver’s expert timing is aided by her prose, deceptively laconic but with a constant forward push…Plot devices are spun until they scream, and even the Perils of Pauline ending works enough startling changes to keep you up past lights-out.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “In Carver’s impressive debut, an intense British police procedural, Colchester Det. Insp. Philip Brennan and his team investigate the gruesome murders of pregnant women whose unborn children are cut from their bodies…Carver never crosses the line into gratuitous violence, while myriad clues and surprising twists keep the reader off-kilter. Fans of Mo Hayder, Chelsea Cain, and Karin Slaughter will find much to like.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Shocking, gruesome, and compelling…this book is so powerful you just won’t want it to end.”

    Peterborough Evening Telegraph

  • “Tania Carver delivers a dark, sexy thriller in her relentlessly suspenseful debut The Surrogate. If you haven’t discovered this talented newcomer yet, hurry. She’s on her way to the top.”

    Richard Montanari, award-winning author

  • Short-listed for the 2010 Theakston Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Debi | 9/14/2013

    " Creepy book - but good. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Samantha Colson | 8/25/2013

    " Very good book. I really enjoyed it. Keep me in suspense the whole time. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Julie | 8/18/2013

    " I had a hard time not being frustrated with the surrogate the entire book! I just wanted her to be honest with the family and allow them to help her. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Delaney Burton | 8/2/2013

    " I didn't finish this book. I probably have about 100 pages to go but I just can't bring myself to finish it. Wasn't what it sounded like from the back and I just thought it dragged on. Hopefully others will like it better. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jennifer | 7/12/2013

    " Despite this book having a Christian slant, I did not find it to be an overt attack of religious belief. The story had strong characters, was fast-paced and was a great read. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Robin | 5/9/2013

    " Sorry Leah but I did not enjoy your mom's book. The main characters were too whiny and there was too much "Why God", etc. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Mandy | 1/13/2013

    " This book kept my attention only because I couldn't figure out what the main character's problem was - it was kind of a let down at the end. It wasn't a bad book, just weird! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kristen Hinca | 11/1/2012

    " Good story. religious undertones with a hint of the supernatural. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Shelley | 10/4/2012

    " Wow! This book could potentially scare the bejeebers out of people who are looking for a surrogate. What a roller coaster ride. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Mary | 9/28/2012

    " A little "hokey", and kinda "preachy", but an interesting read. Alot of action, esp at the end, almost too much action, like the author was "trying to hard". "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Lisa | 5/5/2012

    " Not a fan of this book "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations