Extended Audio Sample

Download The Story of Stuff: How Our Obsession with Stuff is Trashing the Planet, Our Communities, and Our Health-and a Vision for Change Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Story of Stuff: How Our Obsession with Stuff is Trashing the Planet, Our Communities, and Our Health-and a Vision for Change, by Annie Leonard Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (1,071 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Annie Leonard Narrator: Annie Leonard Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $23.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

We have a problem with stuff. With just 5 percent of the world’s population, we’re consuming 30 percent of the world’s resources and creating 30 percent of the world’s waste. If everyone consumed at US rates, we would need three to five planets!

This alarming fact drove Annie Leonard to create the Internet film sensation The Story of Stuff, which has been viewed over ten million times. Now in a landmark book in the tradition of Rachel Carson’s Silent Spring, Leonard tracks the life of the stuff we use every day—how it is produced, distributed, and consumed, and where it goes when we throw it out.

Leonard’s message is startlingly clear: we have too much stuff, and too much of it is toxic. Outlining the five stages of our consumption-driven economy—from extraction through production, distribution, consumption, and disposal—she vividly illuminates its frightening repercussions. Leonard reveals the true story behind our possessions and how we as consumers are compromising our health, safety, and quality of life. Meanwhile all this stuff isn’t even making us happier!

The drive for a “growth at all costs” economy fuels a system in crisis, but Annie Leonard shows us that this is not the way things have to be. Expansive, galvanizing, and sobering yet optimistic, The Story of Stuff transforms how we think about our lives and our relationship to the planet.

Download and start listening now!

BK_SANS_002421

Quotes & Awards

  • “Annie Leonard not only knows ‘the story of stuff’—she has the right stuff!” 

    Ralph Nader

  • “The intrepid Ann Leonard has written an eye-opening, humorous, and highly readable account of how our seemingly innocuous lifestyles are part of a larger system of destruction and dysfunction. Leonard gets my vote for hero of the year. A must-read.” 

    Juliet B. Schor, author of Plenitude: The New Economics of True Wealth and professor of sociology at Boston College 

  • “Where others have documented countless challenges to the Earth and its inhabitants, Annie Leonard has accomplished the rare feat of defining the systemic nature of the problems we face and offering solutions that get to the heart of the matter. Whether you are redesigning industry and commerce or simply imagining a better world for your grandchildren’s grandchildren, Annie’s work will engage you. Read it and be inspired into action.” 

    Ray C. Anderson, founder and chairman, Interface, Inc. 

  • “At once engaging, accessible, and authoritative, The Story of Stuff is a brilliant masterwork. Leonard weaves together engaging personal stories and encyclopedic knowledge of her subject to communicate a powerful systemic frame and define a spot-on agenda for practical action. I gained new facts, ideas, and inspiration. It gets my highest and most enthusiastic recommendation for anyone interested in why we humans are on a path to self-destruction and what we can do about it.” 

    David C. Korten, author of Agenda for a New Economy and The Great Turning and board chair of YES! magazine 

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Donna Fogarty | 2/16/2014

    " this is a very important book. i feel like i should read it again and again. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Erika | 2/4/2014

    " In this book, Leonard details what she has learned in a lifetime of studying stuff, where it comes from, how it is used, and where it ultimately ends up. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Molly | 2/4/2014

    " Currently listening. I want to like this... but it's a bit on the snooze-y side. We'll see... "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Tita | 1/24/2014

    " I've watched the video and used it in my Design & Sustainability class. Now I finally got the book! Reading proceeds... "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations