The Story Of Doctor Dolittle Audiobook, by Hugh Lofting Play Audiobook Sample

The Story Of Doctor Dolittle Audiobook

The Story Of Doctor Dolittle Audiobook, by Hugh Lofting Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95
$9.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $15.95 Add to Cart
Read By: Travis Burton Publisher: Native Publishing House Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 1.67 hours at 1.5x Speed 1.25 hours at 2.0x Speed Release Date: June 2020 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781662121630

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:


Longest Chapter Length:

11:15 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

08 seconds

Average Chapter Length:

06:15 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:


Other Audiobooks Written by Hugh Lofting: > View All...

Publisher Description

Do you want to listen to The Story of Doctor Dolittle? If so then keep reading… Doctor Dolittle is one of kind. Not only can he talk to animals—but he can understand them too! One day Doctor Dolittle receives a message from Africa—the monkeys there need his help. So he sails off from his home, bringing along all his pals: Dab-Dab, the duck; Jip, the dog; Gub-Gub, the baby pig; Polynesia, the parrot; and Too-Too, the owl. Join the doctor and his animal friends on an amazing adventure. They even meet the rarest of all animals, the two-headed pushmi-pullyu! What are you waiting for The Story of Doctor Dolittle is one click away, start listening NOW!

Download and start listening now!

The Story Of Doctor Dolittle Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About Hugh Lofting

Hugh John Lofting (1886–1947), born in Berkshire and educated at a Jesuit boarding-school in Derbyshire, trained first as an architect and later as a civil engineer. His children’s stories originated in the illustrated letters he sent to his family from the front in World War I. The Story of Dr. Doolittle, the first of his series, appeared in 1920 and won instant success.

From 1922 to 1928 he wrote one Dr. Dolittle book a year, and these seven are considered the best of the series. The Voyages of Dr. Dolittle (1922) won the Newbery Medal as the best children’s book of the year. Wearying of his hero, Lofting tried to get rid of him by sending him to the moon (Dr. Dolittle in the Moon, 1928), but popular demand compelled him to write Dr. Dolittle’s Return in 1933. The last book of the series was published posthumously.