Extended Audio Sample

Download The Stonehenge Legacy Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Stonehenge Legacy Audiobook, by Sam Christer Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (564 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Sam Christer Narrator: David Thorpe Publisher: Tantor Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: September 2011 ISBN: 9781452674322
Regular Price: $21.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Eight days before the summer solstice, a man is butchered in a blood-freezing sacrifice on the ancient site of Stonehenge before a congregation of robed worshippers. Within hours, one of the world's foremost treasure hunters has shot himself in his country mansion. And to his estranged son, young archaeologist Gideon Chase, he leaves a cryptic letter. Teaming up with an intrepid policewoman, Gideon soon exposes a secret society-an ancient international legion devoted for thousands of years to Stonehenge. With a charismatic and ruthless new leader at the helm, the cult is now performing ritual human sacrifices in a terrifying bid to unlock the secret of the stones. Packed with codes, symbology, relentless suspense, and fascinating detail about the history of one of the world's most mysterious places, The Stonehenge Legacy is a blockbuster to rival the very best of Dan Brown. Download and start listening now!

bf0u

Quotes & Awards

  • A non-stop delight of a read complete with history, secrets, conspiracies, and adventure. Christer matches wits and wiles, holding you in a tight grip from page 1 to the end. Fiercely intelligent and curious, take a walk on the perilous side and enjoy The Stonehenge Legacy. Steve Berry, author of The Amber Room
  • “With his commanding voice, David Thorpe creates an aura of foreboding and evil that mesmerizes listeners.”

    AudioFile

  • “A non-stop delight of a read complete with history, secrets, conspiracies, and adventure. Christer matches wits and wiles, holding you in a tight grip from page one to the end. Fiercely intelligent and curious, take a walk on the perilous side and enjoy The Stonehenge Legacy."

    Steve Berry, author of The Amber Room

  • “Long-buried secrets, a dangerous cult, and lots of twists and turns. Sure to appeal to fans of Steve Berry and Dan Brown!”

    C. S. Graham, author of The Archangel Project

  • “A creepily compelling tale that deftly mixes the near-Satanic activities of an ages-old pre-Christian cult with an entirely modern kidnap plot…This is one of those very rare books that is capable of both thrilling and chilling the reader.”

    James Becker, author of The Moses Stone

Listener Opinions

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Lynn Mcinroy | 2/13/2014

    " More readable than Dan Brown but plot even more unbelievable "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Erin | 2/8/2014

    " Average thriller, a little light on historical detail, good build but I thought the ending came too quickly and not detailed enough. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Beth Harris | 1/17/2014

    " I've given up on this book. Tried 3 times to get into it and just couldn't get past chapter 4. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Alise | 1/15/2014

    " Great book, that's verry addictive. Only ending is too short. It was quite dissapinting, that there was only couple of sentences about all characters. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Howard Weaver | 1/14/2014

    " Good thriller if you ignore the Stonehenge mumbo jumbo "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Chelsea | 1/6/2014

    " Not the type of book I usually read however that being said it was easy to get into, delving straight into the story and slowly unravelling the mysteries. Both exciting and gripping, I couldn't put this book down. My only fault for it is that the conclusion was slightly abrupt and I felt there could of been a little more story like a more in depth detail of what happened to the characters after the catastrophic events. But then I didn't want the book to end! I believe this book would enjoyed by most as it's an easy read that tangles you up in it's mystery. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Katia | 1/6/2014

    " I could not bring myself to finish it.... "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Helen | 1/4/2014

    " Fast paced, exciting and easy to read. I liked it a lot! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Chris Stanley | 1/1/2014

    " I don't know how to rate this book, it somehow didn't fulfill it's potential. Plodded in places and for a secret society, it had a lot of members, and it was not exactly selective. I enjoyed it, a good fun read, but not original nor creative enough! "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Luce Konickovova | 12/5/2013

    " Boring, nothing original, nothing interesting, the story is a kind of dull mainstream trying to benefit from attractive theme with no result anyway "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Terrybisk | 11/25/2013

    " Pretty childish book. Smelled the plot a mile away. The poor man's adventure story. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Stuart | 7/24/2013

    " Another of the 'secret society going back thousands of years' genre. However, the action all took place in the present and was a good read over a wet weekend. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Robert Jiang | 6/16/2013

    " This book was pretty exciting and it has some pretty interesting, made up theories which actually make a bit of sense "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 George | 4/25/2013

    " An enjoyable read, interesting storyline and characters but there was just something missing for me. I liked the Stonehenge concept and the plot but as i said there was just something that was not there. Even i don't know what it was! Altho i would most definitely read San Christers other work. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Stephanie Woods | 2/13/2013

    " I enjoyed the story, listened to it on Audible on my way to and from the office. A reasonable paced story, but you could predict the plot and the characters. I enjoyed that I did not have to think to much to know what was going on. I will still aways enjoy books that involve Stonehenge. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sue | 11/9/2012

    " An enjoyable, gripping read. I live very close to the area so am now off to Imber in the next few days and am booking a special 'stone circle' visit to Stonehenge. Things I've always wanted to do and have now been inspired to get on and do them! "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Steve Patenaude | 10/17/2012

    " An OK read, but certainly not at the level of the masters of the genre. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Stephen | 9/12/2012

    " fast paced and multi layered sub plots and felt myself hooked but the only disappointing part to me was the ending as if the author had ran out of ideas, says its dan brown style but felt it was more towards james rollins myself "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Patti Kaeding | 7/18/2012

    " I quite enjoyed the story. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Marge | 5/12/2012

    " The book description is totally wrong. It was enjoyable "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Trina Hollis | 12/7/2011

    " Good story but a bit too violent and blood thirsty for me. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Philip | 10/31/2011

    " OK, it's not a work of literature, but it's an entertaining if farfetched read. A bit of fun and certainly a page turner. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Terrybisk | 10/19/2011

    " Pretty childish book. Smelled the plot a mile away. The poor man's adventure story. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Steve | 9/22/2011

    " An OK read, but certainly not at the level of the masters of the genre.
    "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Howard | 9/19/2011

    " Good thriller if you ignore the Stonehenge mumbo jumbo "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Karen | 8/13/2011

    " Great story and location, good plot and an exciting ending "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Shalyce | 7/28/2011

    " Quick read, pretty similar idea to davinci code but extra interesting cause we just visited Stonehenge. Will be giving the book to my mom and friends to read next. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Angie | 6/15/2011

    " On page 160. So far so good. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Stuart | 5/9/2011

    " Another of the 'secret society going back thousands of years' genre. However, the action all took place in the present and was a good read over a wet weekend. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Sam Christer was educated in England. He has worked for several major television studios as a director, producer, host, and reporter, and his award-winning documentaries have covered scientific discoveries, kidnapping cases, and murder prosecutions, among other topics. The Stonehenge Legacy is his first novel.

About the Narrator

David Thorpe has appeared in numerous stage plays, in repertory, and on tour. Twice a member of the BBC Radio Drama Company, he has been heard in many radio plays and readings. An award-winning audiobook narrator, he has voiced several fantasy and science fiction books, including a number of the original Doctor Who books and Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl.