Download The Stan Freberg Show: The Complete Collection Audiobook

The Stan Freberg Show: The Complete Collection Audiobook, by Black Eye Entertainment Extended Sample Click for printable size audiobook cover
Author: Black Eye Entertainment Narrator: a full cast Publisher: Black Eye Entertainment Format: Audio Theater Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: May 2019 ISBN: 9781982684235
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book)
Regular Price: $16.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$7.95$7.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

The Stan Freberg Show ran on CBS radio for only fifteen episodes in 1957. It starred comedian Stan Freberg and featured his stock company of performers: Daws Butler, June Foray, and Peter Leeds. It also featured singing star Peggy Taylor, the vocal stylings of The Jud Conlon Rythmnaires, and the musical direction of Billy May. Despite its short run, the show developed running gags and stock jokes that are still remembered today, including Freberg’s ambivalence toward Madison Avenue to the overwhelmingly popular interviews with a sneaker-wearing Abominable Snowman. Much of the show took deadly satiric aim at the advertising business, making it difficult for CBS to find a sponsor. By week thirteen it was apparent that a sponsor would not be signing on, so CBS cancelled the show after just fifteen episodes.

The Stan Freberg Show was the last American network radio show to devote itself purely to comedy. This collection features all fifteen episodes of The Stan Freberg Show plus a bonus episode of The CBS Radio Workshop from 1956 starring Stan Freberg and his stock company, including Alan Reed (the voice of Fred Flintstone). On this thirty-minute show, Stan explains the art of satire to a skeptical censor and illustrates the explanation with his own recordings. The collection is a must for Freberg lovers!

07/14/57 - Incident at Los Varocis (First show)
07/21/57 - Interview with the Abominable Snowman
07/28/57 - Miss Universe Contest
08/04/57 - Lecture on Hi-Fi
08/11/57 - Orville Arrives from the Moon
08/18/57 - Program Censor
08/25/57 - The Lone Psychiatrist
09/01/57 - Uninterrupted Melody
09/08/57 - Spoof of “The Honeymooners”
09/15/57 - Another Hi-Fi Lecture
09/22/57 - Francis Butch Carmley, Football Hero
09/29/57 - How to Repair a Leaky Faucet
10/06/57 - All About Werewolves
10/13/57 - Sponsored by Freberg
10/20/57 - Final Show
08/31/56 - Bonus: CBS Radio Workshop - An Analysis of Satire

Download and start listening now!


Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!
Write a Review

About the Narrator

New York Times bestselling coauthors Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff met thanks to international taxation law, and soon struck up a writing partnership based on a shared love of blowing things up and breaking hearts. Their first collaboration resulted in the international bestseller Illuminae. Separately, Amie is also the coauthor of the bestselling Starbound trilogy, while Jay is the author of the award-winning Lotus War trilogy and the Nevernight Chronicle. They live with their respective spouses in Melbourne, Australia, and are fueled almost exclusively by caffeine and readers’ tears.