Extended Audio Sample

Download The Spy Who Jumped off the Screen Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Spy Who Jumped off the Screen Audiobook, by Thomas Caplan Click for printable size audiobook cover
2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 2.00 (175 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Thomas Caplan Narrator: Michael Nouri Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: January 2012 ISBN: 9781101538517
Regular Price: $17.50 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

A former soldier turned movie star turned spy must stop a catastrophic nuclear weapons deal.

This gripping thriller from Thomas Caplan propels readers around the globe—from Hollywood to Rome, the Black Sea to the Mediterranean—and to the very brink of nuclear abyss.

The novel’s charismatic hero, former covert operative Ty Hunter, has become, almost by accident, the number-one film star in the world. When he is recruited on a clandestine mission to thwart the transfer of nuclear warheads into rogue hands, he must deploy every skill he has as an actor, soldier, and spy. Donning his fame as a disguise, Ty matches wits and muscle with the enigmatic billionaire Ian Santal and his nefarious protégé Philip Frost—two supremely sophisticated adversaries—even as he falls in love with the entrancing young woman closest to them both, the jewelry designer Isabella Cavill.

In prose that is both elegant and powerful, The Spy Who Jumped off the Screen gives us a breakneck parable of good and evil—and a hero in the tradition of James Bond and Jason Bourne, who is sure to become an icon of the genre.

Download and start listening now!

BK_PENG_001846

Listener Opinions

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Kristin | 2/3/2014

    " I struggled with this book. It was hard to stay focused. I suppose it just did not capture my attention and interest like I had hoped it would. A good story, but far-fetched. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Barbara | 2/2/2014

    " This was definitely not the book for me. Try as I might I could not read past the first few chapters. So back to the library it went. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Bill | 1/29/2014

    " Ty Hunter, Hollywood star and spy, brings almost nothing to the table to help the U.S. president avoid a nuclear holocaust. Chasing cardboard cut bad guys across Europe Ty seems to achive a lot by doing little. The book's characters showed little uniqueness, eg. bad guy has these qualities, good guy has these qualities; the plot was okay but there was no a whole lot of action--just a lot of dialogue that was not very interesting. My time could have been better spent but I honestly expected the book would pick up its pace at some point. It didn't. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Andy Plonka | 1/22/2014

    " I'm not much on spy novel of which this is one so take my comments with a grain of salt. The pace of this story is very slow, which makes reading it more painful, and it has the usual compliment of stock characters associated with such novels. There is the Russian mob presence, several characters for whom their success trumps anything, a beautiful girl who seems unattainable to the hero, himself a veteran army intelligence officer turned movie star. Well, you gert the picture. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Joy | 1/19/2014

    " This spy thriller was fun as an audiobook, and I think it is a good start to a series, but the plot as a whole needed a bit more action. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 alwz | 1/16/2014

    " Engaging and fun, not super believable. Moved too slowly at times and wrapped up a tad too neatly. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Chris | 1/15/2014

    " I'm surprised this book has been rated so poorly. It is a spy/action book, so you should know what to expect. It's no John LeCarre, but it still proves comparable to Fleming and Ludlum. At the very least it is a fun page-turner and a great way to spend a few hours. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Stéphanie Amesse | 1/15/2014

    " Didn't do anything for me. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Jay Clement | 12/9/2013

    " Not great. Characters spoke like a thesaurus, using words nobody uses in actual conversation. Plot was full of silly and unbelievable twists and turns. I was pretty disappointed. I wanted to like it, but... "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Pat | 12/6/2013

    " I wanted to like this book. I thought the premise was great; but I couldn't even get halfway through. It was so boring. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Heathermarvell | 11/30/2013

    " I finished it, so this squeaks in with two stars, but really, it was horrible. So flat and formulaic. It could have been written by a computer. Then only plus is that it was somewhat better in the use of language (and here I mean not excrutiatingly bad) than many in this genre. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Andrew Campbell | 11/25/2013

    " Terrific premise, limp execution. Protagonist doesn't show up for 40 pages and then turns out to be the most boring character in the book. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Jason Nassi | 11/25/2013

    " Started off well, but then fizzled out for a looooong time, and an ultimately unsatisfying ending. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Emily | 6/17/2013

    " I really wanted to like this book, but the dialogue was TERRIBLE. It's like the author never had a conversation with a real person. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Michele bookloverforever | 5/30/2013

    " it's okay but I was disappointed. the jacket blurb sounded better than the story itself. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Luanne | 4/27/2013

    " Ty Hunter is a soldier turned movie star. But Ty is pulled into being a spy. Exciting thriller. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Amy | 2/24/2013

    " Seems like a John Le Carre wannabe, but the people are boring "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Amy | 9/30/2012

    " President Bill Clinton and I don't like the same kinds of books. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Agnes | 6/14/2012

    " An entertaining, light read. For an action/ spy thriller type of novel the action sequences were a little slow and the dialogue was a little unrealistic but overall I enjoyed it. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Laurie | 3/22/2012

    " I read 150 pages and still couldn't follow the convoluted plot. I don't like to give up on books but this one gave me a headache "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jami Goodwin | 3/9/2012

    " A really interesting premises that gets bogged down in details from time-to-time, but manages to be a fairly entertaining story. The opening few pages are excellent, and provide some great hope that this author will continue to develop in this genre. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations