Extended Audio Sample

Download The Sonic Memorial Project: A National Collaboration Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample The Sonic Memorial Project: A National Collaboration (Unabridged) Audiobook, by The Kitchen Sisters
3.67 out of 53.67 out of 53.67 out of 53.67 out of 53.67 out of 5 3.67 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: The Kitchen Sisters Narrator: Paul Auster, Jay Allison, Joe Richman Publisher: The Kitchen Sisters Productions Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: June 2004 ISBN:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

The Sonic Memorial Project is a collection of radio stories and audio artifacts commemorating the life and history of the World Trade Center and its neighborhood.

Shortly after September 11, 2001, NPR's Lost & Found Sound brought together radio producers, archivists, new media artists, historians, and public radio stations nationwide to collect and preserve the stories and sounds of the World Trade Center and its neighborhood.

With National Public Radio, Davia Nelson and Nikki Silva (The Kitchen Sisters) set up a phone line and invited listeners to contribute their voice mails, remembrances, home recordings, and shards of sound to this documentary effort. Hundreds called with their stories and audio artifacts, both personal and historic. These recordings, along with interviews gathered by radio producers across the country, are presented in this collection of stories broadcast on NPR during the year following the attack. The archive and project continue online at www.sonicmemorial.org where one can explore the archive, contribute sounds and stories, and immerse oneself in the Sonic Browser, an interactive soundscape of stories and audio fragments.

The Sonic Memorial Project is a national collaboration with Lost & Found Sound, NPR, Picture Project, WNYC, transom.org, Radio Diaries, Ben Shapiro Productions, dotsperinch, Sound Portraits, Creative Time, MPR/Public Radio Collaboration, and independent producers nationwide.

Major project funding provided by The Corporation for Public Broadcasting & The National Endowment for the Arts. Additional support provided by The Ford Foundation, California Arts Council, and the Sonic Memorial Fund.

Download and start listening now!

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

The Kitchen Sisters (Davia Nelson and Nikki Silva), heard on NPR, have received Peabody Awards for Lost and Found Sound and for The Sonic Memorial, a chronicling of the life and history of the World Trade Center and surrounding neighborhood.