Extended Audio Sample

Download The Sixteenth of June: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Sixteenth of June: A Novel Audiobook, by Maya Lang Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Maya Lang Narrator: Julia Whelan, Will Damron, MacLeod Andrews Publisher: Brilliance Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: June 2014 ISBN: 9781491523148
Regular Price: $14.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

A finely observed, wry social satire set in Philadelphia over the course of a single day, this soaring debut novel paints a moving portrait of a family at a turning point.

Leopold Portman, a young IT manager a few years out of college, dreams of settling down in Philly’s bucolic suburbs and starting a family with his fiancée, Nora. A talented singer in mourning for her mother, Nora has abandoned a promising opera career and wonders what her destiny holds. Her best friend, Stephen, Leopold’s brother, dithers in his seventh year of graduate school and privately questions Leo and Nora’s relationship. On June 16, 2004, the three are brought together—first for a funeral, then for an annual Bloomsday party. As the long-simmering tensions between them come to a head, they are forced to confront the choices of their pasts and their hopes for the future.

Clever, lyrical, and often hilarious, The Sixteenth of June is a feat of storytelling and a sharp depiction of modern American family life. It delves into the tensions and allegiances of friendships, the murky uncertainty of early adulthood, and the yearning to belong. This remarkable novel offers a nod to James Joyce's celebrated classic, Ulysses, and it is about the secrets we keep and the lengths we’ll go to for acceptance and love.

Download and start listening now!

bc7w

Quotes & Awards

  • “A perfect book for fans of Jonathan Tropper, Meg Wolitzer, and, yes, James Joyce.”

    Minneapolis Star-Tribune

  • “Addictive, outstanding…elevates family dysfunction to an art form.”

    Shelf Awareness

  • “Lang’s love for the author is evident…[in] this straightforward, mild-mannered tale of love and family.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Taking place on a single day, like James Joyce’s Ulysses, Lang’s clever first novel tracks three twentysomethings: the Portmans’ sons, Stephen and Leopold, and Nora, who is Leo’s fiancée as well as Stephen’s best friend. All three of them are stuck…They all find some resolution by the end of the day, although it isn’t necessarily the one they expected or hoped for. Despite the references to Ulysses, the Portmans’—and the novel’s—connection to Joyce’s work lies mostly on the surface. What matters more is the family dynamic and its currents of longing, loss, and love.”

    Booklist

  • “Lang works disease, aging, death, sibling friction, and fraying love into the novel’s brief time frame mainly through the wandering thoughts of the three younger characters. The richest moments stem from Stephen’s friendship with Nora and his empathy with Hannah, formed through weekly visits to her retirement home…A promising writer gives the love triangle an engaging workout under challenging constraints.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “Alternating chapters, Julia Whelan reads the story from Nora’s perspective, Will Damron from Steven’s, and MacLeod Andrews from Leo’s…The actors trade chapters, using subtle shifts in of vocal range to portray male and female characters. Working with themes of relationships, death, and marriage, Whelan, Damron, and Andrews balance a steady narration with the story’s emotional arc.”

    AudioFile

  • Longlisted for the 2014 Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize
  • Finalist for the 2015 Audie Award for Best Multivoiced Performance
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Maya Lang is the first-generation daughter of Indian immigrants and was born in Queens, New York. She was awarded the 2012 Bread Loaf-Rona Jaffe Foundation Scholarship in Fiction and was a finalist for Glimmer Train’s Short Story Award for New Writers. She holds a PhD in comparative literature from the State University of New York at Stony Brook and lives in Seattle with her family.

About the Narrators

Julia Whelan, winner of numerous Earphones Awards, won the prestigious Audie Award for Best Romance Narration in 2013 and was twice a finalist for an Audie in 2015. She is a former child actor who has appeared in multiple films and television shows, most notably ABC’s Once and Again. After receiving her college degree, she returned to the film industry and is also a writer. Her audiobook credits include memoir, nonfiction, romance, supernatural thrillers, young adult, and adult fiction.

Will Damron is an award-winning audiobook narrator. His narration of The Unfinished Life of Addison Stone by Adele Griffin won an AudioFile Earphones Award, and his co-narration with two other readers of The Sixteen of June by Maya Lang was a finalist for the 2015 Audie Award for Best Multi-Voiced Performance. Raised in rural southern Virginia, he has appeared Off-Broadway and on stage and screen throughout the country. He has won a total of four Earphones Awards for his audiobook narration.

MacLeod Andrews is an actor, voice actor, and audiobook narrator. He has narrated dozens of audiobooks, earning eleven AudioFile Earphones Awards and placing as a finalist for the prestigious Audie Award for best narration in 2010, 2011, 2013, 2014, 2015, and 2016. He is a company member of Rising Phoenix Repertory in Los Angeles.