Extended Audio Sample

Download The Sixteenth of June: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Sixteenth of June: A Novel, by Maya Lang Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Maya Lang Narrator: Julia Whelan, MacLeod Andrews, Will Damron Publisher: Brilliance Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $14.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

This soaring debut novel—a finely observed, wry social satire set in Philadelphia that takes place over the course of a single day—paints a moving portrait of a family at a turning point.

Leopold Portman, a young IT manager a few years out of college, dreams of settling down in Philly’s bucolic suburbs and starting a family with his fiancée, Nora. A talented singer in mourning for her mother, Nora has abandoned a promising opera career and wonders what her destiny holds. Her best friend, Stephen, Leopold’s brother, dithers in his seventh year of graduate school and privately questions Leo and Nora’s relationship. On June 16, 2004, the three are brought together—first for a funeral, then for an annual Bloomsday party. As the long-simmering tensions between them come to a head, they are forced to confront the choices of their pasts and their hopes for the future.

Clever, lyrical, and often hilarious, The Sixteenth of June is a feat of storytelling and a sharp depiction of modern American family life. It delves into the tensions and allegiances of friendships, the murky uncertainty of early adulthood, and the yearning to belong. Thisremarkable novel offers a nod to James Joyce’s celebrated classic, Ulysses, and it is about the secrets we keep and the lengths we’ll go to for acceptance and love.

Download and start listening now!

bc7w

Quotes & Awards

  • “A perfect book for fans of Jonathan Tropper, Meg Wolitzer, and, yes, James Joyce.”

    Minneapolis Star-Tribune

  • “Addictive, outstanding…elevates family dysfunction to an art form.”

    Shelf Awareness

  • “Lang’s love for the author is evident…[in] this straightforward, mild-mannered tale of love and family.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Taking place on a single day, like James Joyce’s Ulysses, Lang’s clever first novel tracks three twentysomethings: the Portmans’ sons, Stephen and Leopold, and Nora, who is Leo’s fiancée as well as Stephen’s best friend. All three of them are stuck…They all find some resolution by the end of the day, although it isn’t necessarily the one they expected or hoped for. Despite the references to Ulysses, the Portmans’—and the novel’s—connection to Joyce’s work lies mostly on the surface. What matters more is the family dynamic and its currents of longing, loss, and love.”

    Booklist

  • “Lang works disease, aging, death, sibling friction, and fraying love into the novel’s brief time frame mainly through the wandering thoughts of the three younger characters. The richest moments stem from Stephen’s friendship with Nora and his empathy with Hannah, formed through weekly visits to her retirement home…A promising writer gives the love triangle an engaging workout under challenging constraints.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “Alternating chapters, Julia Whelan reads the story from Nora’s perspective, Will Damron from Steven’s, and MacLeod Andrews from Leo’s…The actors trade chapters, using subtle shifts in of vocal range to portray male and female characters. Working with themes of relationships, death, and marriage, Whelan, Damron, and Andrews balance a steady narration with the story’s emotional arc.”

    AudioFile

  • Longlisted for the 2014 Flaherty-Dunnan First Novel Prize
  • Finalist for the 2015 Audie Award for Best Multivoiced Performance
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations