Extended Audio Sample

Download The Second Messiah Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample The Second Messiah (Unabridged) Audiobook, by Glenn Meade
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (349 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Glenn Meade Narrator: George Guidall Publisher: Recorded Books Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: August 2011 ISBN:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

An intrepid Irish journalist and ace pilot, international best-selling author Glenn Meade writes thrillers that deliver the goods (Booklist). Miles apart an ancient scroll is stolen before its revelations are fully translated, and an American priest with long-hidden secrets becomes pope. Now, as millions wonder if this man is the anti-Christ or the Second Messiah, historian Jack Cane and Israeli detective Lela Raul must find the missing scroll and discover the truth before it's too late.

Download and start listening now!

BK_RECO_005031

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Robert Brase | 1/28/2014

    " Faced pace with small chapters that make it very easy to lose some sleeping time. Oh sure I can read just one more chapter, no wait maybe just one more. The next thing you know you are only getting a short nap in before work. The premise of this tale and the writing is very good. Is it possible that there are some scrolls from the Qumran region that have been translated and not disclosed? Could some of these scrolls contain some earth Shattering revelations? Here is where that conspiracy theory gains some credibility, just think of how many people can actually translate and read these things. I would hazard a guess that probably more than 95% of the current population of the world would be unable to read these ancient documents. All in all I will say I liked this much better than the DaVinci Code. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 John Hanscom | 1/24/2014

    " Exciting idea but average in telling. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Dale | 1/18/2014

    " Good book with a plausible historical premise. It isn't particularly thought provoking unless you are inclined to a( question things as they are or b) big on conspiracy theories. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Alexis Thompson | 1/15/2014

    " A really exciting book, especially well written. Essenes, Dead Sea Scroll, The VaticaN--IT'S GOT IT ALL! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Julie Horner | 1/13/2014

    " Started out a bit slow.....but, it took off. Enjoyed the characters and the twists/turns the Author took. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Laurie | 1/7/2014

    " An very entertaining book. I love books that blend history and folk lore, and I love the archeological background as well. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jennifer Willingham | 1/3/2014

    " Glenn Meade is a top notch thriller/action novelist. I enjoy Meade as much as Flynn, Thor, or Clancy. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Paula Howard | 12/27/2013

    " Excellent blend of religion - Jewish and Catholic faiths - archaeology - espionage. Very fast past and well written. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tad Coogan | 12/14/2013

    " I thought this was a terrific read. Interesting characters, fast pace, intriguing. Highly recommended. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sue Barko | 12/4/2013

    " I really enjoyed this book!!! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Dee Pierce | 8/23/2013

    " Couldn't put this book down. Suspenseful fiction yet, also intellectual and I believe, historically accurate. Raised serious questions about possible abuse of power by the Catholic Church. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 tiddle | 7/19/2013

    " Rather simplistic, very predictable but not very believable plots. Writing is straightforward. Characters not believable and not likable. I've lost interest maybe 1/3 into it, although for completeness sake, I make myself finish reading the book. I wish I haven't done so. Big yawn. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jolie Bird | 6/19/2013

    " worth 5 stars! "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Phoenix Robles | 5/12/2013

    " A formulaic Biblical thriller, complete with ho-hum romance and dry dialogue. Overall, a disappointment *... "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jack Rigg | 3/11/2013

    " Clever, kept me reading, couldn't put it down. His research seems pretty on the buttom and his characters and plot excellent. It has some good and very interesting things to say. I'll definitely read more from this author. I see some of his other books got some great reviews, too. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Ryan Rauber | 2/22/2013

    " I admit, I'm big fan of the DaVinci Code type novels. It's probably my favorite genre. This book is better than most. A good combination of history, mystery, and action to keep me entertained. Very much recommend. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Gretta | 1/1/2013

    " I loved this book...great characters, plot and premise. I highly recommend it. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tammy Gearson | 9/24/2012

    " Another wonderful read from this author. I look forward to much more. Very moving, especially the end. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Denice | 2/2/2012

    " Excellent book! A page turner that keeps you on the edge of your seat. Loved the ending. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kelaine | 12/1/2011

    " A new Pope opens the confidential Vatican archives, but can the Church, a Robert Langdon/Indiana Jones hybrid archaeologist, and a female Israeli police detective survive the fallout as secrets are revealed? For fans of Dan Brown and Steve Berry "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Phoenix | 10/28/2011

    " A formulaic Biblical thriller, complete with ho-hum romance and dry dialogue. Overall, a disappointment *... "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Bill.ellis23hotmail.com | 9/26/2011

    " One of the most thought-provoking, interesting thrillers I've read in quite a while. I recommend this book whole-hearedly. Enjoy! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 tiddle | 9/21/2011

    " Rather simplistic, very predictable but not very believable plots. Writing is straightforward. Characters not believable and not likable. I've lost interest maybe 1/3 into it, although for completeness sake, I make myself finish reading the book. I wish I haven't done so. Big yawn. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Richard | 9/13/2011

    " Highly recommended. Especially if you like Dan Brown--even better, I thought. This guy can write better than Brown. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Paul | 9/7/2011

    " I thoroughly loved this book. Highly reommended for fans of Dan Browne, and others! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Ryan | 9/4/2011

    " I admit, I'm big fan of the DaVinci Code type novels. It's probably my favorite genre. This book is better than most. A good combination of history, mystery, and action to keep me entertained. Very much recommend. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Darren | 9/2/2011

    " I very much enjoyed this book. Action, plot twists, great leading character, and a very interesting topic. Makes you thnk. Has a good heart, too, I think... definitely worth reading. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Paula | 9/2/2011

    " Excellent blend of religion - Jewish and Catholic faiths - archaeology - espionage. Very fast past and well written. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Gail | 8/30/2011

    " 4.5 stars. If only "The Da Vinci Code" had been this good. Meade writes rings around Dan Brown and delivers a much better constructed thriller. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tika.farrell | 8/24/2011

    " Thank you for a wonderful read!!! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Michael | 8/20/2011

    " I liked this book a lot. Having read The Da Vinci Code and thought it junk, I was wary of this book. However, it is very well researched, based on truth rather than fiction (a la Da Vinci), and I loved what it had to say, and the characters, esepcially John Beckett.
    I highly recommend it. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Peter | 8/19/2011

    " Completely enjoyable, informative, and thrilling. This book heas a good hear at its core.
    Very glad I read it.
    "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Glenn Meade

Glenn Meade was born in Finglas, Dublin. Nearly all his novels have been international bestsellers, translated into over twenty languages, and have enjoyed both critical and commercial success. He worked in the field of pilot training for Aer Lingus for many years and as a journalist for the Irish Times.

About the Narrator

George Guidall, winner of eighty AudioFile Erphones Awards, has twice won the prestigious Audie Award for Excellence in Audiobook Narration. In 2014 the Audio Publishers Association presented him with the Special Achievement Award for an audiobook narrator of exceptional stature and accomplishment. During his thirty-year recording career he has recorded over 1,100 audiobooks, won multiple awards, been a mentor to many narrators, and shown by example the potential of fine storytelling. Among Guidall’s narration achievements are Crime and Punishment, The Iliad, and John Irving’s A Widow for One Year, which earned him an Audie Award for best unabridged narration of a novel, an honor he captured again for his rendition of Wally Lamb’s I Know This Much Is True. Guidall’s forty-year acting career includes starring roles on Broadway, an Obie Award for best performance off Broadway, and frequent television appearances.