The Seasons of My Mother: A Memoir of Love, Family, and Flowers Audiobook, by Marcia Gay Harden Play Audiobook Sample

The Seasons of My Mother: A Memoir of Love, Family, and Flowers Audiobook

The Seasons of My Mother: A Memoir of Love, Family, and Flowers Audiobook, by Marcia Gay Harden Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $14.95
$9.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $17.99 Add to Cart
Read By: Marcia Gay Harden Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 5.67 hours at 1.5x Speed 4.25 hours at 2.0x Speed Release Date: May 2018 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781508257141

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:


Longest Chapter Length:

86:06 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

14 seconds

Average Chapter Length:

27:06 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:


Publisher Description

In this poetic and inspiring memoir, one of America’s most revered actresses uses the imagery of flowers and the art of Ikebana to depict the unique creative bond that she has had with her mother throughout the years—and how, together, they are facing her mother’s struggle with Alzheimer’s disease.

Marcia Gay Harden knew at a young age that her life would be anything but ordinary. One of five lively children born to two Texas natives—Beverly, a proper Dallas lady, and Thad, a young officer in the US Navy hailing from El Paso—she always had a knack for storytelling, role-playing, and mischief-making. As a military family, the Hardens moved often, and their travels abroad eventually took them to a home off the coast of Japan. It was here that Beverly, amidst the many challenges of raising a gaggle of youngsters, found solace in Ikebana, the Japanese art of flower arrangement.

Using the imagery of flowers and Ikebana as her starting point, Marcia Gay Harden takes us through the different seasons of her mother’s life, all the while weaving in the story of her own journey from precocious young girl to budding artist to Academy Award-winning actress. With a razor-sharp wit, as well as the kind of emotional honesty that has made her performances resonate with audiences worldwide, Marcia describes the family’s travels overseas, her flourishing career in New York and Hollywood, and, most poignantly, Beverly’s struggles today to maintain her identity as she tackles her greatest challenge yet: Alzheimer’s disease.

Featuring photographs of gorgeous Ikebana arrangements created specially for this book, this memoir illustrates the uniqueness, beauty, and unforgettable love of motherhood, as Marcia does what Beverly can no longer do: she remembers. Like a cross between Mary Karr’s The Liars’ Club and Lisa Genova’s Still Alice, this memoir is a lyrical, loving homage to one mother’s strength as reflected in the tenacity and artistry of her daughter.

Download and start listening now!

“When Harden’s mother began to show signs of Alzheimer’s disease, Harden decided to try to capture her memories before they were gone. In this soulful memoir, she pays homage to the woman who raised her. She tells stories from her earliest childhood days to the present and emphasizes the beliefs and values her mother instilled in her…Praise, love, and honor all play roles in this respectful, highly affectionate memoir about a spirited mother-daughter relationship.”

— Kirkus Reviews 


  • “Honest, courageous, and often very funny, The Seasons of My Mother is an unforgettable testament to the unique endurance of the mother-daughter bond. I loved this book.”

    — Rob Lowe, Emmy Award-winning actor and New York Times bestselling author
  • “A fiercely loving and tender tribute to Marcia Gay Harden’s mother, remembering for her and for us what Alzheimer’s has stolen, filling those darkened holes with compassion, acceptance, beauty, and love. I savored every page and didn’t want it to end.”

    — Lisa Genova, New York Times bestselling author
  • “Marcia Gay Harden makes a literary statement with this moving story of her relationship with her mother, who was recently diagnosed with Alzheimer’s.”

    — Entertainment Weekly
  • “The devotion and heartbreak of a loving mother-daughter relationship are captured with affection and precision in this graceful memoir…Harden delivers a love letter to her mother, in which the extraordinary elements of her ordinary life shine through.”

    — Publishers Weekly
  • “Poignant, beautiful…Replete with emotionally resonant scenes, humor, and tales of Harden’s own journey as an actor, The Seasons of My Mother is both inspirational and devastating, a touching tribute to a remarkable woman.”

    — Booklist

The Seasons of My Mother Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About Marcia Gay Harden

Marcia Gay Harden is an Academy Award and Tony Award–winning actress of film, stage, and television. She is also an author, an advocate for Alzheimer’s research, a gardener, and a potter. Her first mainstream film acting role was as a femme fatale in the Coen brothers’ Miller’s Crossing. She also had roles in Pollock, Mystic River, Mona Lisa Smile, and Meet Joe Black, among many others. She earned a BA in theater from the University of Texas and an MFA from the graduate acting program at New York University.