The Rain Audiobook, by Joseph A. Turkot Play Audiobook Sample

The Rain Audiobook

The Rain Audiobook, by Joseph A. Turkot Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95
$9.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $22.95 Add to Cart
Read By: Charlie Thurston, Lily Ganser Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 8.67 hours at 1.5x Speed 6.50 hours at 2.0x Speed Release Date: July 2023 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9798200834709

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:

43

Longest Chapter Length:

35:23 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

05:32 minutes

Average Chapter Length:

18:14 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:

1

Publisher Description

Perfect for fans of the hit TV series The Last of Us and novels like Camp Zero, this riveting novel set in a postapocalyptic America brings us a chilling look at survival in the face of a catastrophic climate disaster and the collapse of civilization as we know it.

The rain began nineteen years ago, and it never stopped: more than a foot of rain per day until almost the whole of North America was underwater. Those who survived the first year were forced to take drastic measures, and those who held to the veneer of civilization were few and very far between.

Seventeen-year-old Tanner grew up after the rain began. She and her adoptive caretaker, Russell, have long sought a fabled Colorado refuge, a dream that has kept them going through years of brutal trials as they try to stay one step ahead of the “face eaters”—people addicted to a mysterious drug that drives them to murder and cannibalism.

When the rain began, Rook Wallace was a meteorologist who joined a company called Yasper that, years after its emergency funding dried up, continues its stated mission to help survivors by maintaining a trade network among isolated island communities. But when Rook learns the insidious truth of what keeps the Yasper mission going, he is forced to risk everything that remains of his former life to try to stop it.

As Tanner’s and Rook’s stories converge in time and geography, readers will be thrilled by this postapocalyptic tale for fans of Emily St. John Mandel’s Station Eleven and Josh Malerman’s Bird Box.

Download and start listening now!

“The Rain delivers all of the imagination and suspense we associate with the best of dystopian novels, and in doing so offers a powerful indictment of government corruption and corporate greed. Yet equally impressive is Turkot’s ability to create memorable characters, allowing us to know their actions but to also know their hearts. This exceptional novel deserves a wide and appreciative audience, so spread the word: Joseph Turkot is the real deal.”

— Ron Rash, New York Times bestselling author of Serena 

Quotes

  • “Joseph Turkot immediately creates a moody and chilling postapocalyptic drama with clean writing, compelling storytelling, and a unique concept. He conveys a growing nonstop dread with a glimmer of hope for humanity.”

    — Kevin J. Anderson, New York Times bestselling author

The Rain Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About Joseph A. Turkot

Joseph A. Turkot is the author of eight novels and many short stories. He began writing as an independent author, and The Rain is his first release with Blackstone Publishing. He lives in South Jersey, and when not writing, he dreams of the day when he’ll be able to open an animal sanctuary.

About Charlie Thurston

Charlie Thurston is an actor and Earphones Award–winning narrator. He holds an MFA in acting from Brown University / Trinity Rep and has appeared on stages across the country with Trinity Repertory Company, Chautauqua Theater Company, Creede Rep, and at Riverside Theatre and Redmoon Theater, among others. His favorite roles include Edgar in The Completely Fictional—Utterly True—Final Strange Tale of Edgar Allan Poe, Stephen in The Long Christmas Ride Home, Tuzenbach in The Three Sisters, and Tony in You Can’t Take It with You.