Download The Progress of the Seasons: Forty Years of Baseball in Our Town Audiobook

The Progress of the Seasons: Forty Years of Baseball in Our Town Audiobook, by George V. Higgins Extended Sample Click for printable size audiobook cover
Author: George V. Higgins Narrator: Ian Esmo Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: February 2015 ISBN: 9781481558570
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (12 ratings) (rate this audio book)
Regular Price: $16.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$7.95$7.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Beginning in 1946, a then eight-year-old George Higgins, accompanied by father and grandfather, began taking the long train ride out to Fenway Park to find some truth in immortals like Doerr, DiMaggio, York, and Williams, and later, Yastremski, Marty Barrett, and many more. This is a book about baseball and about the Boston Red Sox; but that is only part of the story. Beyond the games, the book turns on thoughts about family and continuity and, of course, the progress of the seasons. There’s a magical moment when Higgins calls on his own mythic Emily to check the all-time lineup with his deceased forebears. By then, you’ve come to know what the author’s values have in common with those in Our Town, and why certain professional athletes achieve immortality and others don’t. The Progress of the Seasons confirms what admirers of the author’s sparkling accurate prose already know: Higgins is to writing what Ted Williams was to baseball, an all-star.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Blending intimate personal memories with public events over a long time span is a tricky affair. Higgins carries it off with nary an error.”

    New York Times

  • “A warm, sentimental journey…Higgins’ writing is as crisp as a well-pitched game under the shadows of Fenway’s Green Monster left-field wall.”


  • “At once refreshingly traditional yet innovative, Higgins is a writer of Balzacian appetite, trying to lift the lid off the human comedy, using Bostonas his fulcrum.”


  • “In this affecting memoir, with prose as sharp as a live-drive single, Higgins shows how his love of baseball is matched only by his love of his father and grandfather, men who introduced him to the game forty year earlier. Ian Esmo reads with care, maintaining a steady pace.”


Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!
Write a Review

About the Author

George V. Higgins (1939–1999) was a lawyer, journalist, teacher, and the author of twenty-nine books, most notably The Friends of Eddie Coyle.

About the Narrator

Ian Esmo is an audiobook narrator who specializes in athlete and sports biographies.