Extended Audio Sample

Download The Priest's Madonna Audiobook (Unabridged)

Extended Audio Sample The Priests Madonna (Unabridged), by Amy Hassinger
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (90 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Amy Hassinger Narrator: Anna Fields Publisher: Listen & Live Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

For fans of The Birth of Venus, Girl with a Pearl Earring, and The Other Boleyn Girl, Amy Hassinger, author of Nina: Adolescence, delivers this historically lush, lyrical, and thoroughly enthralling novel about the forbidden love between a woman and a holy man, and about the moral and spiritual struggles of faith.

In 1896, the priest in a small village in southern France suddenly came into possession of immense wealth. This much is true. What no one knows for sure is where his money came from. The history of the region suggests that he may have stumbled upon clues to a hidden treasure of the Knights Templar. An even more tantalizing possibility is that he discovered coded documents hidden in the structure of his church, documents so threatening to the Catholic Church that he was paid to keep silent. At his death under mysterious circumstances in 1917, his secrets died with him.

Yet there is one other person who may have known all, Marie Dernanaud, the priest's housekeeper and, some say, his lover. Interweaving the history of France at the turn of the twentieth century, scenes of ancient Judea, and the romantic and religious journey of a spirited and intense heroine, The Priest's Madonna gives Marie a chance to tell her version of what transpired, as well as her own story of belief, doubt, and illicit passions.

Download and start listening now!

BK_LIVE_000172

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Aiesha | 8/2/2011

    " This book was a quick read. Apparently it is based upon a true story. I enjoyed it. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 by Erin | 4/15/2011

    " If you liked the DaVinci code, you might like this. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Tinie | 7/9/2010

    " Beautifully constructed. Very alive, real characters. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Teresa | 1/13/2009

    " What keeps this novel from being a very enjoyable read is how anti-climatic the realization of the affair ends up. Even the discovery of the treasure and the explanation behind it does not live up to the promise of the plot threads. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations