Extended Audio Sample

Download The Postmortal: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Postmortal: A Novel, by Drew Magary Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (3,006 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Drew Magary Narrator: Johnny Heller Publisher: Tantor Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $20.49 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

John Farrell is about to get “The Cure”—old age can never kill him now.

The only problem is … everything else still can.

Imagine a near future where a cure for aging is discovered and—after much political and moral debate—made available to people worldwide. Immortality, however, comes with its own unique problems—including evil green people, government euthanasia programs, a disturbing new religious cult, and other horrors. Witty, eerie, and full of humanity, The Postmortal is an unforgettable thriller that envisions a preapocalyptic world so real that it is completely terrifying.

Download and start listening now!

BK_TANT_002289

Quotes & Awards

  • “A must-read for fans of postmodern dystopia in the vein of Margaret Atwood, Chuck Palahniuk, and Neil Gaiman.”

    Library Journal

  • “Magary’s relaxed, conversational style…and pragmatic assessment of the warty idiocy that is the most likely outcome of humanity figuring out how to immortalize itself make the premise remarkably easy to swallow.”

    Booklist

  • “Magary’s haunting first novel imagines a postmodern dystopia that would seem far-fetched if it didn’t seem so possible. The Postmortal will make you regret ever wondering, even secretly, what it would be like to live forever.”

    Stefan Fatsis, author of A Few Seconds of Panic

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by John Pappas | 2/12/2014

    " Magary imagines a near-future where a scientist has discovered a "cure" for aging -- a way to prevent normal cellular degradation -- and plots out the subsequent impact on marriage, parenting, politics, religion, ethics and other aspects of our culture. Does the meaning of "I'll love you forever" change when a marriage can last not 40 years, but 800 years? What does it mean to never have to worry about retirement? These smaller questions pave the way for larger questions -- does life mean less if you get more of it? How are scientific advances impacting our society and culture? What are the costs of a society that worships youth and scorns the elderly? An engaging protagonist and fascination hypotheticals makes up for a sketchy plot and some unrealistic dialogue making this novel a fun and thought-provoking look at our possible future. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Sarah Giffen | 2/11/2014

    " It's an eerie book because all the events that happen in it are very possible. Peter Pan cases are the most disturbing... "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Andrea | 2/10/2014

    " Good sci-fi (gadgets, chemistry, mega-corporations!) speculating on a scenario that had never occurred to me. Magary was an editor at Gawker so no suprise that his voice is modern and quick paced. I hesitate to describe apocalyptic anarchy as a "fun" read, but it was ... in a scary way. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Joooordan! !!! | 2/10/2014

    " I picked this book up on a whim for about $1, interested in the premise but not very optimistic about its quality since I had never heard anything about it. Huge error. I have not been this drawn into a sci-fi novel for months and felt a deliciously real sense of panic at the near-future that Drew Magary has created. I want to shove this book onto EVERYONE, not just sci-fi fans. It's the perfect balance between a quick weekend pulp read and a dark 'what-if' scenario that brings up big questions. I look forward to whatever else this author brings out. "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations