The Pentagon Papers: The Secret History of the Vietnam War Audiobook, by Hedrick Smith Play Audiobook Sample

The Pentagon Papers: The Secret History of the Vietnam War Audiobook

The Pentagon Papers: The Secret History of the Vietnam War Audiobook, by Hedrick Smith Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $31.95
$9.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $48.99 Add to Cart
Read By: James Anderson Foster Publisher: Brilliance Audio Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 24.67 hours at 1.5x Speed 18.50 hours at 2.0x Speed Release Date: January 2018 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781543680928

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:


Longest Chapter Length:

97:30 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

28:19 minutes

Average Chapter Length:

73:55 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:


Other Audiobooks Written by Hedrick Smith: > View All...

Publisher Description

“The WikiLeaks of its day” (Time) is as relevant as ever to present-day American politics.

“The most significant leaks of classified material in American history.” –The Washington Post

Not Fake News! The basis for the 2018 film The Post, The Pentagon Papers are a series of articles, documents, and studies examining the Johnson Administration’s lies to the public about the extent of US involvement in the Vietnam War, bringing to light shocking conclusions about America’s true role in the conflict.

Published by The New York Times in 1971, The Pentagon Papers riveted an already deeply divided nation with startling and disturbing revelations about the United States' involvement in Vietnam. The Washington Post called them “the most significant leaks of classified material in American history” and they remain relevant today as a reminder of the importance of a free press and First Amendment rights. The Pentagon Papers demonstrated that the government had systematically lied to both the public and to Congress.

This incomparable volume includes:

  • The Truman and Eisenhower Years: 1945-1960 by Fox Butterfield
  • Origins of the Insurgency in South Vietnam by Fox Butterfield
  • The Kennedy Years: 1961-1963 by Hedrick Smith
  • The Overthrow of Ngo Dinh Diem: May-November, 1963 by Hedrick Smith
  • The Covert War and Tonkin Gulf: February-August, 1964 by Neil Sheehan
  • The Consensus to Bomb North Vietnam: August, 1964-February, 1965 by Neil Sheehan
  • The Launching of the Ground War: March-July, 1965 by Neil Sheehan
  • The Buildup: July, 1965-September, 1966 by Fox Butterfield
  • Secretary McNamara’s Disenchantment: October, 1966-May, 1967 by Hedrick Smith
  • The Tet Offensive and the Turnaround by E. W. Kenworthy
  • Analysis and Comment
  • Court Records
  • Biographies of Key Figures
With a brand-new foreword by James L. Greenfield, this edition of the Pulitzer Prize–winning story is sure to provoke discussion about free press and government deception, and shed some light on issues in the past and the present so that we can better understand and improve the future.

Download and start listening now!

“With energy and focus, James Anderson Foster does a yeoman’s job narrating this one-time classified study of the missteps, miscalculations, and misinformation that led to one of the most divisive chapters in American history…This audiobook remains essential listening for anyone wanting to understand the Vietnam era. Within his powerful and devastating narration, Foster delivers a quote from the early 1960s that might crushingly sum up the whole affair: ‘The optimism proved misplaced.’”

— AudioFile 

The Pentagon Papers Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Authors

Hedrick Smith, a Pulitzer Prize–winning former New York Times reporter and editor and an Emmy Award–winning producer and correspondent, is one of America’s most distinguished journalists. He has covered Washington and other world capitals for the New York Times, authored several bestselling books, and created twenty award-winning PBS prime-time specials and miniseries on Washington’s power game, Soviet perestroika, the global economy, education reform, health care, teen violence, terrorism, and Wall Street.

Neil Sheehan is the author of several books, including A Fiery Peace in a Cold War and A Bright Shining Lie, which won the National Book Award and the Pulitzer Prize for nonfiction in 1989. He spent three years in Vietnam as a war correspondent for United Press International and the New York Times and won numerous awards for his reporting. In 1971, he obtained the Pentagon Papers, which brought the Times the Pulitzer Prize Gold Medal for meritorious public service.

About James Anderson Foster

James Anderson Foster, an Earphones Award–winning narrator, has narrated audiobooks for a variety of publishers, across nearly all genres, both fiction and nonfiction. In 2015, he was a finalist in three categories for the Society of Voice Arts and Sciences Voice Arts Awards—mystery, science fiction, and fantasy.