Extended Audio Sample

Download The Orphanmaster Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Orphanmaster, by Jean Zimmerman Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (841 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Jean Zimmerman Narrator: George Guidall Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $25.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $20.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

From a debut novelist, a gripping historical thriller and rousing love story set in seventeenth-century Manhattan

It’s 1663 in the tiny, hardscrabble Dutch colony of New Amsterdam, now present-day southern Manhattan. Orphan children are going missing, and among those looking into the mysterious state of affairs are a quick-witted twenty-two-year-old trader, Blandine von Couvering, herself an orphan, and a dashing British spy named Edward Drummond.

Suspects abound, including the governor’s wealthy nephew, a green-eyed aristocrat with decadent tastes; an Algonquin trapper who may be possessed by a demon that turns people into cannibals; and the colony’s own corrupt and conflicted orphanmaster. Both the search for the killer and Edward and Blandine’s newfound romance are endangered, however, when Blandine is accused of being a witch and Edward is sentenced to hang for espionage. Meanwhile, war looms as the English king plans to wrest control of the colony.

Jean Zimmerman brings New Amsterdam and its surrounding wilderness alive for modern-day readers with exacting period detail. Lively, fast paced, and full of colorful characters, The Orphanmaster is a dramatic page-turner that will appeal to fans of Hilary Mantel and Geraldine Brooks.

Download and start listening now!

BK_PENG_001911

Quotes & Awards

  • The Orphanmaster is a sweeping novel of great and precise imaginative intelligence; it’s also the most entertaining and believable historical novel I’ve read in years. Jean Zimmerman is a debut novelist who already writes like an old master. Read any page of The Orphanmaster and you’ll become an instant fan.”

    Darin Strauss, author of Half a Life and Chang and Eng

  • “Jean Zimmerman’s seventeenth-century New Amsterdam teems with enough intrigue, lust, and madness to give our twenty-first-century Big Apple a run for its money. And money is what drives this book—liberating, corrupting, forming the only bulwark against a terrifying, chaotic New World. Zimmerman’s wit and humanity shine light in a dark woods, creating an uncommonly rich debut.” 

    Sheri Holman, author of The Dress Lodger

  • “Here’s American history turned inside out, animated by Jean Zimmerman’s prodigious imagination. Monsters lurk in the shadows, chaos presses in, legends come alive, and one adventure leads with irresistible force to the next. The Orphanmaster is a breathtaking achievement.”

    Joanna Scott, author of Arrogance and Various Antidotes

  • “Absorbing period fiction with the requisite colorful characters of the era.” 

    New York Daily News

Listener Opinions

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 by Sara | 2/16/2014

    " This book isn't worth the time it takes to read it. For a historical novel the verbal and conceptual anachronisms are too distracting. The author likes to tell rather than show. For example, I paraphrase, but this is essentially what is written, 'Eventhought they would rather die than admit it both loved their little brother fiercely.' I might just skip to the end to see what happens to everyone. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 by Cindy | 2/12/2014

    " Eh. I gave up and skipped to the last chapter to find out. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Alex M. | 2/10/2014

    " Such a slow start, but eventually picked up. I liked the setting of New Amsterdam and I think historically I learned a lot, but I thought the characters were all a bit trite and there was barely any female-female interaction, just a lot of dudes, and that was pretty boring. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Honour Del | 1/16/2014

    " Great - a wonderful dive into early America "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations