Extended Audio Sample

Download The Night the Rich Men Burned Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Night the Rich Men Burned Audiobook, by Malcolm Mackay Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Malcolm Mackay Narrator: Angus King Publisher: Hachette Book Group Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: May 2016 ISBN: 9781478964414
Regular Price: $25.98 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Oliver Peterkinney and Alex Glass, two friends from Glasgow’s desperate fringes, become involved in one of the city’s darkest and most dangerous trades: debt collection. While one rises quickly through the ranks, the other falls prey to the industry’s addictive lifestyle and accumulating debts.

Meanwhile, the three most powerful rivals in the business—Marty Jones, ruthless pimp; Potty Cruickshank, member of the old guard; and Billy Patterson, brutal newcomer—vie for prominence. And now Peterkinney, young and darkly ambitious, is beginning to make himself known.

Before long, violence will spill out onto the streets, as those at the top make deadly attempts to out-maneuver one another for a bigger share of the spoils. Peterkinney and Glass will find themselves at the very center of this war; as the pressure builds, each will find their actions—and inactions—coming back to haunt them. But it is those they love who will suffer most …

The Night the Rich Men Burned is a novel for our times and Mackay’s most ambitious work to date, proving that in Glasgow’s criminal underworld, there’s nothing so terrifying as money.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • Mackay's devilishly intricate storylines ultimately converge with lethal force. Vick Mickunas, Dayton Daily News
  • “A bracing taste of Tartan Noir…[Mackay] delves deeply into the psyches of his characters.”

    Pittsburg Post-Gazette

  • “[A] gritty, complex crime thriller.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “A sharp-edged morality play delivered with the relentless intensity of machine gunfire.”

    Library Journal

  • “Narrator Angus King gives credible voices to a whole cast of hardened Glasgow men…King can be as gritty as it takes but also manages the nonchalant tone the writing requires. The story is well plotted—shocks and surprises abound. But be warned, these are not nice people!”


Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Malcolm Mackay’s acclaimed debut series, the Glasgow trilogy, has been nominated for countless international prizes. The first of the series, The Necessary Death of Lewis Winter, was short-listed for the CWA John Creasey New Blood Dagger Award, the Theakson Old Peculier Crime Novel of the Year Award, and long-listed for the the CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger for Best Thriller of the Year. Mackay was born in Stornoway on Scotland’s Isle of Lewis, where he still lives.

About the Narrator

Angus King is a Scottish voice actor with roles in a number of television commercials, corporate videos, and video games. His extensive audiobook narration credits include Last Days of Christmas by Christopher Brookmyre, The Incident by Kenneth MacLeod, and Gallowglass by Gordon Ferris, among many others.