Extended Audio Sample

Download The Mystery of the Third Lucretia Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Mystery of the Third Lucretia Audiobook, by Susan Runholt Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (375 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Susan Runholt Narrator: Krista Sutton Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Kari + Lucas Mysteries Release Date: April 2008 ISBN: 9780739367483
Regular Price: $17.50 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $15.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

“Go a-way,” the painter snarled when Kari tried to see what was on his canvas. She and Lucas were at the Minneapolis Institute of Arts, and the guy’s easel was set up in front of one of Rembrandt’s famous Lucretia paintings. Something in this guy’s voice gave Kari the creeps. She had no problem following his instruction; she never wanted to see him again.

But a year later, she did see him in London. Walking through the National Gallery, Kari heard a familiar snarl. It was the same guy, and he was copying from another Rembrandt. Was it was just a coincidence? If so, why was he in disguise?

Using the kind of ingenuity and determination that only two teenage girls could come up with, Kari and Lucas embark on an international adventure to figure out who this mystery man is and what he’s up to. But neither is prepared for what they find. Suddenly what began as a madcap pursuit becomes deadly serious. Will they risk their lives in the name of art? Download and start listening now!

BK_LILI_000793

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Andrea | 2/19/2014

    " This was a cute middle grade story. It was a nice mystery with well-rounded action. The two main characters were strong female leads. I found it pretty predictable but I think the tween girls who want something other than a book with love in it will really enjoy it. The dialouge was well suited to teenagers. It was also kind of educational with little facts about the world thrown in. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Bhan13 | 2/17/2014

    " This book gets three stars for the unusual subject (a favourite around here), but two stars for the writing. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Nancy Healy | 2/17/2014

    " It's a fun middle-grades mystery. Parents should be aware that Lucretia is raped and commits suicide--that's the story behind Rembrandt's paintings. My niece loved the book because the refers to the Minneapolis Institutes of Art which we visited. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Justin Banger | 2/15/2014

    " books like this make me wanna commit an art crime. but I'd be a nice guy about it. now I wanna watch the Thomas crown affair and work on my forgery skills. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Marilyn | 2/3/2014

    " This was okay. I didn't love it but wasn't completely annoyed by it. It's presented as a realistic fiction mystery but felt highly unrealistic. The characters were two-dimensional and pretty uninteresting overall. I don't think teens will like it very well; it's more appropriate as a tween read. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Tracie | 2/1/2014

    " Kari and Lucas are best friends and able to spend time abroad with Kari's Mom as she works on assignment for the teen magazine Scene. While in England visiting the National Gallery, they encounter a mysterious artist they realize they've seen back home - but he's in disguise here though still with the same nasty personality. Before you know it, the girls are involved in a mystery that could turn out to be an international art scandal - if they aren't killed first. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Emmet O'Neal Library- Children's Department | 1/31/2014

    " This is a really great mystery about two inquisitive, smart girls that travel the world and solve a mystery along the way. Gotta love a mystery that includes traveling to places like London and Amsterdam. The first book in Kari + Lucas Mystery Series. Great for fans of Nancy Drew! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Carolien | 1/17/2014

    " The writing frequently took me out of the story. Runholt tends to explain what is about to happen, then it actually happens. I'd much prefer for the action to just happen without any preview or warning. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Melliott | 12/29/2013

    " I enjoyed the "art caper" aspect of this book (I'm always attracted to books about painting and art), and the narration style is fun. It's a little "girlie" in that there is a lot of focus on clothes and boys in this series, but I liked the chemistry between the two main characters. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Tamsyn | 12/12/2013

    " Very entertaining art history mystery, when two friends become suspicious of an artist they observe in 2 different museums who's copying paintings of Rembrandt. Lots of suspense, intrigue, done in a mostly realistic way. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Vicki ~ no time to read | 12/9/2013

    " I love love love this book! I read it for the first time when i was a little kid and i totally fell in love with it. There is so much mystery, adventure and travel! It is definitely one of my favorites! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sarah | 9/18/2013

    " Very exciting Middle-Grade/YA sleuth story. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kimberly | 9/16/2013

    " London + Art Theft + 2 teenage "BFFs" + Hilarious circumstances = Good read! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Barbara | 10/17/2012

    " I listened to this book while I was working on a cross stitch project. It was fun to listen to, even though I thought the girls in the story were being dangerously stupid in their choices. A very interesting plot and exciting - fun! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Hoover Public Library Kids and Teens | 9/20/2012

    " This is a really great mystery about two inquisitive, smart girls that travel the world and solve a mystery along the way. Gotta love a mystery that includes travel to places like London and Amsterdam. First in a series. Great for middle schoolers! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lauren | 7/14/2012

    " Fun Mystery to read on the beach, now I am able to go see the real Lucretia because my sister lives in Minneapolis, Minnesota. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Katie Jane | 4/24/2012

    " Girl-power mystery for fans of Chasing Vermeer and The Theft & the Miracle. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Beverly | 10/4/2011

    " Besides being an interesting mystery, this book will give readers a taste of London, Amsterdam, and great art. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 pdarnold | 9/28/2011

    " Read sometime back in 2010. If you like Nancy Drew or any other type of mystery that involves young spunky girls, world travel, art museums, and plain old fun then I recommend this book! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Rachel | 4/20/2011

    " loved it. cute kids book "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Emmet O'Neal Library- Children's Department | 1/5/2011

    " This is a really great mystery about two inquisitive, smart girls that travel the world and solve a mystery along the way. Gotta love a mystery that includes traveling to places like London and Amsterdam. The first book in Kari + Lucas Mystery Series. Great for fans of Nancy Drew! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Vicki (Hopeless Romance Junkie) | 12/29/2010

    " I love love love this book! I read it for the first time when i was a little kid and i totally fell in love with it. There is so much mystery, adventure and travel! It is definitely one of my favorites! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 ConwayCountyLibrary | 10/20/2010

    " (youth review) This was weird. I didn't really like it. It was slow and hard to read. ~Brad, 3rd grade, MIS "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sarah | 5/7/2010

    " Very exciting Middle-Grade/YA sleuth story. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Janet | 2/6/2010

    " I read this book with Eric. Even though it's a kids book, it is an action-filled story with lots of good history and world travel thrown in for flavor. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Ally | 12/27/2009

    " At first I thought this book was kinda boring and slow....but it really picked up! The ending was realy good, and I am excited for the next book. I love murder mysteries and it was a pretty good one :) "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Riley | 12/16/2009

    " I was so amused by this book! It was funny and witty, though a little confusing sometimes, but very good! I was trying to solve the mystery from the beginning, and, though I figured it out long before the end, still found it very good. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Hoover Public Library Kids and Teens | 10/8/2009

    " This is a really great mystery about two inquisitive, smart girls that travel the world and solve a mystery along the way. Gotta love a mystery that includes travel to places like London and Amsterdam. First in a series. Great for middle schoolers! "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Susan RunholtSusan Runholt shares a love of art, travel, and feminism with her teenage heroines, but maybe not their nerves of steel! After college, she traveled extensively in Europe and lived in Amsterdam and Paris, working as a bank clerk and an au pair. She’s also been a waitress, a maid, a motel desk clerk, a laundress, a caterer, and eventually the director of programming for South Dakota Public Television. She now lives in Saint Paul, Minnesota, where she is a fundraising consultant for social service and arts organizations. The Mystery of the Third Lucretia was named runner-up for the Debut Dagger Award by the Crime Writers’ Association of Great Britain. You can learn more about Susan Runholt at www.susanrunholt.com.