Extended Audio Sample

Download The Music of the Spheres Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Music of the Spheres, by Elizabeth Redfern Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (437 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Elizabeth Redfern Narrator: Tim Curry Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio Format: Abridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $15.95 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

In the London of 1795, intrigue and death walk the dark streets. England is at war with its neighbor and nemesis, France, and espionage is rampant. It is the job of Jonathan Absey at the Home Office to catch these spies, but his mind is elsewhere, his dreams haunted by the still unsolved murder of his fifteen-year-old daughter on these same streets.


Desperately pursuing both investigations, he stumbles across a strange society of astronomers called the Company of Titius who are on a furious search of their own: to discover a long-lost star in the wide black sky. As he digs into their arcane world, their quest begins to merge with his own, and Absey finds himself discovering more than he had ever imagined -- not only about spies and murderers but also about celestial numbers and the making of codes; about passions as unnatural as they are obsessive; and about the bonds of family...and the lengths we will go to preserve them.

With The Music of the Spheres, Elizabeth Redfern emerges as an evocative and elegant writer of startling power, her gifts for characterization, atmosphere, narrative, and rich moral drama marking her as a new star in her own right.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Intricately plotted, beautifully paced, The Music of the Spheres is an elegant historical novel, rich in detail, at times Dickensian in its description of London. Elizabeth Redfern has made an exciting debut.” 

    Martha Grimes, New York Times bestselling author

  • “The complex narrative is brilliantly handled to keep the reader guessing right to the end, [with] some ingenious surprises along the way. The colorful background is an atmospheric and evocative re-creation of London in the 1790s, with all the complex political and diplomatic intrigues of that wartime era.” 

    Charles Palliser, author of The Quincux

  • “A historical thriller in the vein of Caleb Carr and Iain Pears…There are vivid touches of atmosphere, some strong detail on contemporary astronomy, and some of the moral dilemmas are piercing.” 

    Publishers Weekly

  • “A complex story of plot and counterplot surrounding the murders of red-haired young prostitutes, the French Revolution and all its political machinations, and the search for the missing planet that astronomers conjecture must lie between Mars and Jupiter…Read with an exceptional number of well-done voices and accents by Tim Curry…Recommended.” 

    Library Journal

Listener Opinions

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Maria | 2/14/2014

    " This was certainly an interesting book. I liked the background setting, 1795, London, the war with France and astronomers, which is something I have never read about before in a fictional book. I am always uncomfortable with sexual situations, but just try to skip over them and get to the meat of the book. It held my attention and that's all it takes, but it's not on my list of favorite books or something I would recommend. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Brittany | 2/5/2014

    " I have to admit that I didn't finish this book. Or if I did it was so unremarkable I don't remember it. I thought the Selena theme could have been handled so much better, as well as the Jack the Ripper-type bits. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Sylvia | 1/30/2014

    " Cover art claims "Reminiscent of Caleb Carr's The Alienist". Bah. Doesn't have the power nor does it provide the insight to that interesting time in history that Carr's book does. Murderer targets red-haired ladies of the evening while naive astronomer is used by military spies. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 by Bnschmid | 1/25/2014

    " I was not impressed with this book.Too much buggery of small children and other heinous acts thought to be acceptable in the 1700's.Also,people didn't bathe back then,and I don't want to be reminded of stanky twankers...shiver... "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations