The Murder Pit: An Arrowood Mystery Audiobook, by Mick Finlay Play Audiobook Sample

The Murder Pit: An Arrowood Mystery Audiobook

The Murder Pit: An Arrowood Mystery Audiobook, by Mick Finlay Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $19.95
$9.95 for new members!
(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening)
  • Love your audiobook or we'll exchange it
  • No credits to manage, just big savings
  • Unlimited podcast listening
Add to Cart
$9.95/m - cancel anytime - 
learn more
Regular Price: $27.99 Add to Cart
Read By: Malk Williams Publisher: Harlequin Audio Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 8.00 hours at 1.5x Speed 6.00 hours at 2.0x Speed Series: The Arrowood Series Release Date: February 2019 Format: Unabridged Audiobook ISBN: 9781488204883

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:


Longest Chapter Length:

25:00 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

11 seconds

Average Chapter Length:

13:58 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:


Other Audiobooks Written by Mick Finlay: > View All...

Publisher Description

Where Evil Lies Buried

1896: Sherlock Holmes has once again hit the headlines, solving mysteries for the cream of aristocracy. But among the workhouses and pudding shops of South London, private detective William Arrowood is presented with far grittier, more violent and considerably less well-paid cases. Arrowood has no doubt who is the better detective, and when Mr. and Mrs. Barclay engage him to find their estranged daughter, Birdie, he’s sure it won’t be long before he and his assistant, Barnett, have tracked her down.

But this seemingly simple missing-person case soon turns into a murder investigation. Far from the comfort of Baker Street, Arrowood’s London is a city of unrelenting cruelty, where evil is waiting to be uncovered…

Download and start listening now!

“Malk Williams deftly narrates an engaging Victorian mystery featuring the poor man’s Sherlock Holmes…Williams imbues Arrowood with arrogance and intelligence and especially shines with varied voices. From lisps to subtle tonal shifts, he ensures that every character has a distinct, lively voice that’s appropriate to the era and builds the atmosphere beautifully. The writing and the narration enhance each other to great effect, creating a dark but compelling take on the Victorian mystery. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.”

— AudioFile 


  • “Enthralling…Finlay casts Arrowood as an alternative Sherlock Holmes, who, instead of relying on physical clues and logic, focuses on the psychology of the people involved. This is a welcome grittier take on a familiar genre trope.”

    — Publishers Weekly (starred review)
  • “William Arrowood, the poor man’s Sherlock Holmes, goes looking for a silent bride and finds a cesspool of corruption…with better detective work than the series kickoff and less emphasis on the hero’s amusingly futile rivalry with Holmes.”

    — Kirkus Reviews
  • “The exchanges between Arrowood and Barnett [are] witty, sometimes brutal, and, then, surprisingly moving.”

    — Booklist


  • Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

The Murder Pit Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About Mick Finlay

Mick Finlay is the author of the Arrowood historical mystery series. He was born in Glasgow but left as a young boy to live in Canada and then England. Before becoming an academic, he ran a market stall on Portobello Road and has worked various jobs in the social services. He teaches in a psychology department, and has published research on political violence and persuasion, verbal and nonverbal communication, and disability.

About Malk Williams

Malk Williams is a voice talent and Earphones Award–winning audiobook narrator.