Extended Audio Sample

Download The Millionaires’ Unit: The Aristocratic Flyboys Who Fought the Great War and Invented American Air Power Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Millionaires’ Unit: The Aristocratic Flyboys Who Fought the Great War and Invented American Air Power Audiobook, by Marc Wortman Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (41 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Marc Wortman Narrator: Patrick Lawlor Publisher: Tantor Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: June 2006 ISBN: 9781400172504
Regular Price: $21.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

The Millionaires' Unit is the story of a gilded generation of young men from the zenith of privilege: a Rockerfeller, the son of the head of the Union Pacific Railroad, several who counted friends and relatives among presidents and statesmen of the day. They had it all and, remarkably by modern standards, they were prepared to risk it all to fight a distant war in France. Driven by the belief that their membership in the American elite required certain sacrifice, schooled in heroism and the nature of leadership, they determined to be first into the conflict, leading the way ahead of America's declaration that it would join the war. At the heart of the group was the Yale flying club, six of whom are the heroes of this book. They would share rivalries over girlfriends, jealousies over membership in Skull and Bones, and fierce ambition to be the most daring young man over the battlefields of France, where the casualties among flyers were chillingly high. One of the six would go on to become the principal architect of the American Air Force's first strategic bomber force. Others would bring home decorations and tales of high life experiences in Paris. Some would not return, having made the greatest sacrifice of all in perhaps the last noble war. For readers of Flyboys, The Greatest Generation, or Flags of Our Fathers, this patriotic, romantic, absorbing book is narrative military history of the best kind. Download and start listening now!

bdhx

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Julia Pheifer | 8/30/2012

    " It met all of my criteria for biography. I felt like I knew the men by the time I finished and I felt I had lived during that time. I regret that that time is gone. It made WWI so real to me that I avert my eyes from the WWI memorial on my campus (U. of Arizona). "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Nannie Bittinger | 6/5/2011

    " So much information on WWI avaition..I was over-whelmed but my husband who is a pilot and aviation mechanic loved it. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 M | 5/21/2011

    " I learned a lot about the origins of Naval Airpower, and really American Air Power in general from this book. Plus a lot about WWI that I had forgotten since high school. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Martine Quinn | 4/29/2011

    " once upon a time, when scions had honor... "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Katie Christian | 3/20/2011

    " A little name/date/time heavy to be entirely engaging, but really interesting. I've often wondered how the Navy got planes, plus - at the end of the book - we won! Yay USA! Only kidding, of course we won :) Yay for the Yale and Harvard boys for doing such a service to their country! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Katie | 7/21/2010

    " A little name/date/time heavy to be entirely engaging, but really interesting. I've often wondered how the Navy got planes, plus - at the end of the book - we won! Yay USA! Only kidding, of course we won :) Yay for the Yale and Harvard boys for doing such a service to their country! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Nannie | 3/28/2010

    " So much information on WWI avaition..I was over-whelmed but my husband who is a pilot and aviation mechanic loved it. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Julia | 1/31/2009

    " It met all of my criteria for biography. I felt like I knew the men by the time I finished and I felt I had lived during that time. I regret that that time is gone. It made WWI so real to me that I avert my eyes from the WWI memorial on my campus (U. of Arizona). "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 M | 6/2/2007

    " I learned a lot about the origins of Naval Airpower, and really American Air Power in general from this book. Plus a lot about WWI that I had forgotten since high school. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Marc Wortman is the author of The Millionaires' Unit: The Aristocratic Flyboys Who Fought the Great War and Invented American Air Power. An award-winning freelance writer, his work has appeared in numerous national magazines. He has taught literature and writing at Princeton University and was a senior editor of the Yale alumni magazine. He lives in New Haven with his wife, daughter, and son.

About the Narrator

Patrick Lawlor, an award-winning narrator, is also an accomplished stage actor, director, and combat choreographer. He has worked extensively off Broadway and has been an actor and stuntman in both film and television. He has been an Audie Award finalist multiple times and has garnered several AudioFile Earphones Awards, a Publishers Weekly Listen-Up Award, and many Library Journal and Kirkus starred audio reviews.