Extended Audio Sample

Download The Messiah of Morris Avenue: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Messiah of Morris Avenue: A Novel Audiobook, by Tony Hendra Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (183 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Tony Hendra Narrator: John Bedford Lloyd Publisher: Macmillan Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: April 2006 ISBN: 9781593979195
Regular Price: $17.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $14.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

The acclaimed satirist and bestselling author of Father Joe poses the question, would we recognize the messiah if he appeared today? and delivers, in the words of Frank McCourt, “just what the country needs now—a good dose of merriment in the face of crawthumping righteousness.”

In the not so distant future of Tony Hendra’s novel, the tide of righteousness—in the form of executions, barking evangelists, tank-like SUVs, and a movie industry run entirely by the Christian right—has swept the nation. Aside from the non-white, the non-Christian, and the non-wealthy, all are believers. Among the skeptics is a washed-up journalist named Johnny Greco, who hears of a media-shy young man known as “Jay“roaming through ghettos, healing the sick, and tossing off miracles. Soft-spoken and shabbily dressed, Jay is an unlikely savior for this antsy and intolerant America. But as he makes his rounds, gathers followers, and makes furious enemies among the righteous powers that be, Johnny finds it harder and harder to doubt him.

Download and start listening now!

b6uz

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Ruth | 2/11/2014

    " this was a scary listen. I could see our future in this tale of politics by religion. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Daniel Hadley | 1/27/2014

    " A Left Behind for Liberals. Neat concept, but turns out it's too much like Left Behind for conservatives. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Conchita Campos | 1/22/2014

    " Apparently, the new Jesus is this Guatemalan kid named Jose who lives in the Bronx and performs various miracles around the neighborhood, all while trying to avoid the public spotlight and the backlash of an avid Christian right. Pretty funny stuff. A little too political but entertaining at the very least. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Dawn | 1/8/2014

    " The setting scarily resembles aspects of now and what could be if we don't change direction. Parts of this book are devestating...actually made me sick. Still, worthwhile, but hard to read. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Alex | 12/25/2013

    " I got a $10 library fine because of this book! "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 TJ | 12/3/2013

    " This book is a little too over the top for me. A much better and more inspiring version is the Joshua series. I couldn't even finish the first 100 pages b/c it was too much. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kelly | 11/19/2013

    " very clever and satirical and witty. Good play on words for popular slogans, movies, TV, etc. Ending is a bit disappointing. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 David Wasser | 10/9/2013

    " One of the funniest books I've read in a long time, it's a marvelous satire of America in the 1990's. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kaite Stover | 10/6/2013

    " Readalike for Anthem of a Reluctant Prophet . "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Sapphire Pyro | 9/29/2013

    " Interesting premise, but not that impressed after finishing it. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 treehugger | 4/19/2013

    " This was SURPRISINGLY good - insightful, thoughtful, liberal, intuitive, subversive, and probably the first book I've ever read that made me think that someone REALLY has thought about life, the world, and Christianity and tried to figure out how they all fit together. Worth a read. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Yeva | 10/8/2012

    " Wow. I really liked the twists in this book. Theologically speaking, it's an interesting take on the story of Jesus' life, and it's vastly amusing in some places. I recommend this book, because I think we often need a reminder of what Jesus really stood for. Good read. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Philip De Guzman | 9/19/2012

    " A prophetic book that grabs Christendom and shakes it violetnly at the neck. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tami | 6/23/2012

    " Excellent book! A new take on an old story. Loved it. Easy reading. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Mary Lou | 6/11/2012

    " Funny, thought-provoking allegory of the 2nd coming of Christ. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Mjackman | 2/20/2012

    " Wow. Why do comedians write some of the most moving stuff? It doesn't have that extra oomph to put it over the edge into five-star territory, but Hendra's compassion, humanity and sympathy are what make this anti-fundamentalist passion play work. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kaye | 9/22/2011

    " The satire of a modern America run by a theocratic government makes for a good setting for anyone to enjoy, and if you are religious, you will find the new appearance of Jesus (with contemporary language and new miracles that mirror the old) fascinating. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Greg | 9/3/2011

    " I liked the idea behind this book. Sadly, that was probably the best part. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Joanne | 5/30/2011

    " Half way through. The idea of what could happen if the religious right continues to gain power and influence is interesting, but it's a little like the text of a graphic novel. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Steven Wilson | 5/2/2011

    " darkly funny. unfortunately, not too far from reality "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jack | 4/16/2011

    " All in all a very well done short novel. Hendra's narrative of titular messiah was a bit heavy-handed for my taste at times, but his vision of the fundamentalist theocratic dystopia that is just around the corner feels too dead-on for comfort. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Matt | 3/23/2011

    " Picture an America controlled by the Christian Right where Jesus returns as an ugly Hispanic guy roaming the ghetto. That's the setting of this wonderful novel from Tony Hendra.

    It's a beautiful, funny, and poignant read that wholeheartedly recommend. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jack | 10/19/2010

    " All in all a very well done short novel. Hendra's narrative of titular messiah was a bit heavy-handed for my taste at times, but his vision of the fundamentalist theocratic dystopia that is just around the corner feels too dead-on for comfort. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Mjackman | 9/10/2009

    " Wow. Why do comedians write some of the most moving stuff? It doesn't have that extra oomph to put it over the edge into five-star territory, but Hendra's compassion, humanity and sympathy are what make this anti-fundamentalist passion play work. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Nanalilly | 8/26/2009

    " I feel in love with the concept of this book. I started changing my tune when I started reading it. While the concept was fantastic, the characters are so under developed that unless you have the attention span of an speed addict, chances are you will find it about as boring as I did. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kaye | 7/1/2009

    " The satire of a modern America run by a theocratic government makes for a good setting for anyone to enjoy, and if you are religious, you will find the new appearance of Jesus (with contemporary language and new miracles that mirror the old) fascinating. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Steven | 4/18/2009

    " darkly funny. unfortunately, not too far from reality "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Mary Lou | 1/29/2009

    " Funny, thought-provoking allegory of the 2nd coming of Christ. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Joanne | 7/16/2008

    " Half way through. The idea of what could happen if the religious right continues to gain power and influence is interesting, but it's a little like the text of a graphic novel. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Daniel | 6/1/2008

    " A Left Behind for Liberals. Neat concept, but turns out it's too much like Left Behind for conservatives. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kaite | 4/20/2008

    " Readalike for Anthem of a Reluctant Prophet. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kelly | 2/16/2008

    " very clever and satirical and witty. Good play on words for popular slogans, movies, TV, etc. Ending is a bit disappointing. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Dawn | 1/12/2008

    " The setting scarily resembles aspects of now and what could be if we don't change direction. Parts of this book are devestating...actually made me sick. Still, worthwhile, but hard to read. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Tami | 9/6/2007

    " Excellent book! A new take on an old story. Loved it. Easy reading. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Tony Hendra

Tony Hendra is an English satirist and writer who has worked mostly in the United States. Educated at St. Albans School (where he was a classmate of Stephen Hawking) and Cambridge University, he was a member of the Cambridge University Footlights revue in 1962, alongside John Cleese, Graham Chapman, and Tim Brooke-Taylor.

About the Narrator

John Bedford Lloyd, a graduate of the Yale School of Drama, has appeared in many major motion pictures, including The Bourne Supremacy, Crossing Delancey, The Abyss, The Manchurian Candidate, and Philadelphia. His television credits include Suits, Pan Am, Law & Order, Spin City, and The West Wing. A critically acclaimed audiobook narrator and winner of the Edgar Allen Poe Award, his voice work includes reading for such authors as Michael Crichton, Nicholas Sparks, Paul Doiron, and Atul Gawande, among others.