Extended Audio Sample

Download The Message: The Reselling of President Obama Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Message: The Reselling of President Obama, by Richard Wolffe Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Richard Wolffe Narrator: Richard Wolffe Publisher: Hachette Book Group Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $25.98 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

They had ninety-nine problems but Mitt Romney wasn’t one.

At the start of an epic election, the team trying to reelect President Obama faced a mountain of challenges: a dismal economy, the faded hopes of the first campaign, and a struggle to raise enough cash to compete. No president had risen so fast, or fallen so far, in the modern era. And no president in living memory had earned a second term in such troubled times. To resell the president, they needed to redefine the world they were living in. They needed to retell their own story and rewrite the characters.

They needed to find “The Message.”

But first, they needed to fight the enemy within: each other. For six years they kept a lid on their internal disputes-the ego clashes, the disappointed ambitions, and the battle to control the Obama brand. Everything was out of public view and under wraps. They called their style “No Drama Obama,” and the phrase matched the mood of the candidate. But it was never completely true.

In 2008 they found a way around their rivalries. Four years later, their hostilities threatened to undermine the reelection of a president at a time when most voters were deeply unhappy and ready for change.

Drawing on unrivaled access to the key characters, The Message tells the inside story of the mad men—the marketers, message-shapers, and ad-makers—who held the Obama presidency in their hands.

Download and start listening now!

200838

Quotes & Awards

  • “Wolffe’s brisk, well-written narrative is fully in the tradition of Theodore White and Richard Ben Cramer, capturing a pivotal presidential contest dominated by one of the most luminous figures in modern American history.”

    Michael Beschloss, New York Times bestselling author of Presidential Courage

  • “A journalist’s eye and a historian’s breadth and command.”

    Ken Burns

  • “Insightful…a thoughtful meditation on Mr. Obama’s life and character.”

    New York Times

  • “Clear, concise, and well-written…will please the millions who lived and died with every test of the campaign.”

    Washington Post

  • “If you really want to know what happened inside the Obama campaign, this is the one book that will take you there.”

    NPR

  • “A real treat…hot stuff…fascinating…There’s a lot of candy in there for us political junkies.”

    MSNBC

  • “If your gift list includes both Obama loyalists craving encouragement and Obama opponents craving insight into their adversaries’ thinking, consider…this product of exclusive interviews with the president and his inner circle.”

    Pittsburgh Tribune-Review

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations