Extended Audio Sample

Download The Memory Garden Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Memory Garden, by Mary Rickert Click for printable size audiobook cover
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Mary Rickert Narrator: Tavia Gilber Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $19.95 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Bay Singer has bigger secrets than most.

Not that she knows about them. Her mother, Nan, is sure that the burden of those secrets would be too much, and that’s why she never told anyone the truth … not even Bay.

There’s a lot that Nan has kept quiet over the years, especially those times with Mavis and Ruthie—times that were dark and full of guilt. But some secrets have a power all their own, and Nan realizes she needs Mavis and Ruthie now more than ever. When the three meet again in Nan’s garden, their reunion has spellbinding effects that none of them could have imagined, least of all Bay.

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “Fans of Alice Hoffman and Sarah Addison Allen will find a new passion in this atmospheric, eerie, and utterly beautiful debut. Mary Rickert walked me through a witch’s garden by moonlight, perfectly invoking a magic place where lies smell like salt, memories taste of ash and honey, and ghosts whisper their last secrets to a girl on the verge of womanhood. The Memory Garden is a mother-daughter love story, soaked with intrigue and seasoned with both regret and the most lovely kind of breathless hope. Don’t miss this one.”

    Joshilyn Jackson, New York Times bestselling author

  • “A potent brew of guilty secrets and tragic histories but also of enduring friendship and love. Add a pinch of the botanical. Serve on a luminous night faintly reminiscent of A Midsummer Night’s Eve. A totally charming, totally engaging story told by Rickert, a magus of the first order. Magic in every line.”

    Karen Joy Fowler, New York Times bestselling author

  • The Memory Garden is a wise portrayal of the way women relate to each other, of how communities deal with their outsiders, of how secrets are held among friends, with the strands of narrative united by the garden and its flowers. But it’s also a superb fantasy novel. The supernatural elements may be as carefully measured and restrained as in a Graham Joyce novel…but the magic is real.”

    Chicago Tribune

  • “Rickert has created a slew of magical and unforgettable characters that will steal readers’ breath away. This is a great story that must be devoured in one sitting.”

    RT Book Reviews

  • “Rickert can build an audience that will marvel at her witchy talents.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “Unwinds the magic and mystery of a mother and daughter and three old friends, all at the fragile juncture of truth and forgiveness…Rickert can build an audience that will marvel at her witchy talents.”

    Publishers Weekly (starred review)

  • “With its fairy-tale qualities, this debut novel is sure to charm…Readers who enjoy the magical realism of novels by Sarah Addison Allen, Laura Esquivel, and Alice Hoffman will savor Rickert’s mesmerizing and magical novel of friendship and family.”

    Library Journal

  • “[A] bewitching marvel of a book.”


  • “Mary Rickert’s debut novel is absolutely stunning. An emotionally complex story bridges the divide between the past and the present, between generations, and between age-old friendships compromised by a web of secrets and lies. Be prepared to fall under this novel’s strange and sensuous spell.”

    Christopher Barzak, author of One for Sorrow

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Mary Rickert holds an MFA from Vermont College of Fine Arts. She has published numerous short stories. The Memory Garden is her first novel. She lives with her husband in Wisconsin.