Extended Audio Sample

Download The Manual of Detection Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Manual of Detection Audiobook, by Jedediah Berry Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (2,280 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Jedediah Berry Narrator: Pete Larkin Publisher: Highbridge Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: February 2009 ISBN: 9781598878783
Regular Price: $24.47 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Armed only with his umbrella and an unusual handbook, this unlikely detective stumbles into his first case when the real detective vanishes. Too soon, he is framed for murder, pursued by goons, and confounded by a femme fatale. His only choice: to enter t Download and start listening now!

BK_HIGH_000489

Quotes & Awards

  • “Jedediah Berry knows magic. The Manual of Detection combines the intricacy and thoughtfulness of Borges and Kafka with the page-turning excitement of a detective thriller…It made me laugh, thrill, think, and wonder.”

    Hannah Tinti, author of The Good Thief

  • “Surreal, absurd, and cerebral, full of sly humor and winks, this novel is meticulously written and plotted. Fans of George Orwell, Ray Bradbury, and Jasper Fforde, take notice.”

    Boston Globe

  • “Jedediah Berry has an ear well-tuned to the styles of the detective story from Holmes to Spade and can reproduce atmosphere with loving skill.”

    Guardian (London)

  • “The plot’s bursting with as many twists and surprises as you could hope for…It steams along the smooth rails of Berry’s neatly constructed sentences, barreling round each well-cambered turn with barely a judder.”

    London Review of Books

  • “Berry sets up a neat literary game and plays it through to the end with a great deal of wit and aplomb…A distinctively surreal whodunit.”

    San Francisco Chronicle

  • “[Berry] defies many mystery novel conventions, but adventurous readers who stay with his strange and fabulous debut work will be handsomely rewarded…There is nothing mysterious about the appeal of this inventive, outrageous, and often amusing dream-within-a-dream.”

    Wall Street Journal

  • Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award
  • Selected for the March 2009 Indie Next List
  • Winner of the 2009 Hammett Prize
  • A 2010 Locus Award Nominee

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Abel Ramirez | 2/16/2014

    " The Manuel of Detection was an great read with very interesting characters, heroes and villains, reminiscent of Dick Tracy with a darker image. The plot was cleverly devised with a unique setting; a gloomy city where it rains all the time. Pick up the book when you get a chance. It will keep you guessing until the end. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jenifer Kidd | 2/16/2014

    " Interesting mix of things: a bit of Jasper Fford, a touch of The Matrix, some Gabriel Garcia Marquez, and all wrapped in a nice noir mystery all set in an alt universe where the phones are still dialed. Hoping for another! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Eileen | 2/12/2014

    " A different type of story "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jason | 2/12/2014

    " Don't know why I didn't like this more than I did. I thought it was clever enough and well written, but it never really grabbed me the way I felt it should have given what I was reading. It was very quirky and had a good sense of humor... all of which I usually get all excited about. It felt a little too detached for some reason. I would still recommend it though. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kristy | 2/10/2014

    " Amazing book, set in a dystopian society, a fun mix of detective novel and surrealist fantasy. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Rebekah | 2/10/2014

    " The author focus on the little details and it got boring. The story took too long to get going. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kathleen | 2/7/2014

    " A pleasing, good-looking book. I really enjoyed this but sometimes felt that maybe I had missed the previous book in a series (is there one?). Worthwhile and fun. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 patience | 1/30/2014

    " Kafka-esque with a bit of Philip Marlowe's detective adventures. I felt compelled to finish the book but not satisfied by it. It did not live up to my expectations. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Alyson Hurt | 1/18/2014

    " Whimsical and fun to read, but falls apart toward the end. Doesn't quite live up to the "Wes Anderson meets Kafka" cover blurb from The New Yorker. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Beth | 1/18/2014

    " Completely and utterly a detective story, but also a bit of Alice in Wonderland for grownups. And even with all that plot going on I still cared about the characters. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Alex | 1/2/2014

    " Very fun read. Certain moments reminded me of Douglas Adams and Jasper Fforde. Definitely enjoyable, light, casual reading. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Jill | 12/18/2013

    " I pretty much read this because I thought the cover was amazing. I wasn't terribly impressed with the story. I do feel like I missed a lot. Also I'm not really a mystery reader so maybe that is why I didn't enjoy it too much. But the cover is AWESOME! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Angie | 10/14/2013

    " I probably would give it more like 3.5 stars. I enjoyed but not as much as I thought I would. Maybe because I've read something similar already in the Jasper Fforde, Thursday Next series. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Trin | 4/29/2013

    " Boring, vaguely Borgian mystery. This paled especially in comparison to the G.K. Chesterton I'd just read; it has none of The Man Who Was Thursday's wit. You should read that instead. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Sarah | 4/7/2013

    " great, intriguing mystery novel! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Wyncia | 1/29/2013

    " This is a strange one. I usually enjoy stories in which reality is a moving target, and I get a kick out of the Philip Marlowe style detective stories. This one is a bit of a stretch for me. I am listening to it and find I drift quite a bit. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Jonathan Manheim | 1/21/2013

    " Meh. Lots of atmosphere. Attempt at a detective novel of ideas. Made me think of City and the City. But not done nearly as well and those ideas were superficial and the internal logic was sloppy "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Linda | 4/15/2012

    " Quirky and atmospheric, so I should have loved it, but ... found it rather dry, and kept wishing it would be over. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Christina | 3/10/2012

    " charming and surreal. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Paige | 11/19/2011

    " Very filmic. Reminded me of "Dark City." An enjoyable, quick read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Blair | 10/24/2011

    " Great concept piece reminiscent of Kafka with detective noir tones stewed in. Very surreal, it reads like a dystopian setting with elements of evil still lurking about. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Becca Loo | 8/3/2011

    " fun. quick. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Stubby Girdle | 6/13/2011

    " So much fantasti-mysteri-fun! Oh geez! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sarah | 5/23/2011

    " ?A steampunk mystery about a book -- The Manual of Detection. It's the story about an accidental promotion to detective. It's sort of creepy, but kind of awesome. It's a little steampunk, a little (weird) mystery and a whole lot of intrigue. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jake | 5/6/2011

    " Audio Book. A quirky book along the lines of "The Hitchhiker's Guide to the Galaxy" only not as stupidly pointless. This book still told a story, had a hero and bad guy and a mystery. I enjoyed it. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Jamie | 4/15/2011

    " Noir meets Borges meets Inception, plus whimsy. Such a great detective novel. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Rene | 4/11/2011

    " Interesting twist on a mystery story. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Katywhumpus | 3/31/2011

    " A very enjoyable, fantastical, mysterious romp. Couldn't help but picture it all Tim Burton style. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Claire | 3/12/2011

    " A really interesting style: a "magical realism detective story" but well worth the read, I think.
    CH "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Chris | 2/25/2011

    " The twists and turns in this book were amazing, I didn't learn much about detection though, which I think was the goal of the book? "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Jedediah Berry

Jedediah Berry holds an MFA from the University of Massachusetts at Amherst and has been published in Best New American Voices 2008 (his story was described by Kirkus Reviews as a “mordant, gripping fantasy”) as well as in literary magazines and online fiction sites. By day, he is an assistant editor at Small Beer Press in Easthampton, Massachusetts.

About the Narrator

Pete Larkin has narrated dozens of audiobook titles, won five Earphones Awards, and been a finalist in 2012 for the prestigious Audie Award for best narration. He has been praised for his expert ability to speak in multiple accents. He is also an on-camera host and accomplished voice-over artist for hundreds of commercials and promos for a variety of companies, corporations, and governmental agencies. He was the public address announcer for the New York Mets and has worked as a radio jockey in New York, Baltimore, and Washington, DC.