The Luck Uglies #2: Fork-Tongue Charmers Audiobook, by Paul Durham Play Audiobook Sample

Download The Luck Uglies #2: Fork-Tongue Charmers Audiobook

The Luck Uglies #2: Fork-Tongue Charmers Audiobook, by Paul Durham Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $18.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $25.99 Add to Cart
Author: Paul Durham Narrator: Fiona Hardingham Publisher: HarperCollins Audio Length: Series:The Luck Uglies Series Release Date: March 2015 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780062397928

Publisher Description

The Luck Uglies must face their greatest enemy in this second installment of the series that's a perfect match for fans of Chris Colfer's Land of Stories series and books by Kelly Barnhill. "There is not a single dull moment in this story. A total delight," raved Bookslist in a starred review!

Rye O’Chanter was shocked to discover that her father was the leader of the notorious band of outlaws known as the Luck Uglies. Now she too has been declared a criminal in her own village, and she must flee to the strange and remote Isle of Pest while her father faces off against the Luck Uglies’ bitter rivals, the Fork-Tongue-Charmers, on the mainland.

But all bets are off when the battle moves to the shores of Pest. To defeat the Fork-Tongue Charmers, Rye must defy a deranged earl, survive a test meant to judge the grit of the fiercest men, and lead the charge in defending the island against a strangely familiar enemy, which means uncovering some long-buried family secrets….

The first Luck Uglies book was named an ALA Notable Children’s Book as well as a New York Public Library Title for Reading and Sharing, and it won the Cybil Award for Middle Grade Speculative Fiction and a Sunshine State Young Readers Award.

Download and start listening now!


  • “There is not a single dull moment in this story, which packs in as many clever twists and fully fleshed characters as the first book. And the writing remains a total delight: witty, richly layered, and capable of creating a world as real as this one. A bittersweet ending assures the reader that Rye’s adventures are not over yet.”

    - Booklist (starred review)
  • “Rye and her friends, Quinn and Folly, are thrown together for another complex but fast-paced adventure…Though enough questions are answered to satisfy readers, the cliff-hanger ending will have them enthusiastically awaiting the final installment.”

    - School Library Journal
  • “This book packs plenty of action, and the plot takes some interesting twists and turns that will keep readers engaged. Fans of the previous volume will enjoy Rye’s new adventure, and those unfamiliar with first book will be able to jump right into this story.”

    - VOYA
  • “With her British accent, Fiona Hardingham follows fantasy tradition in the second installment of Durham’s series…Hardingham’s performance matches the pace and energy of the plot as Rye is forced into hiding and flees to her mother’s war-torn island home.”

    - AudioFile

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Paul Durham was raised in Massachusetts and attended college and law school in Boston. He now lives in New Hampshire with his wife, two daughters, and an enormous, bushy creature the local animal shelter identified as a cat. He writes in an abandoned chicken coop at the edge of a swamp and keeps a tiny porcelain frog in his pocket for good luck.

About the Narrator

Fiona Hardingham is a British-born actress, singer, voice-over artist, and AudioFile Earphones Award–winning narrator. On stage, she appeared at the Edinburgh Festival in her comedic one-woman show The Dark Show. She has also starred in the dark-comedy short film The Ballerino. She earned a BA honors degree in performing arts from Middlesex University, London, and also studied at the Western Australian Academy of Performing Arts.