Extended Audio Sample

Download The Limit: Life and Death on the 1961 Grand Prix Circuit Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Limit: Life and Death on the 1961 Grand Prix Circuit, by Michael Cannell Click for printable size audiobook cover
4.00877192982456 out of 54.00877192982456 out of 54.00877192982456 out of 54.00877192982456 out of 54.00877192982456 out of 5 4.01 (114 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Michael Cannell Narrator: Fred Stella Publisher: Highbridge Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date:
Regular Price: $23.07 Download
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Download learn more )

Phil Hill, a lowly California mechanic who, defying all expectations, became the first American to win the Grand Prix championship. In the tradition of Seabiscuit and The Right Stuff, Cannell’s high-octane narrative evokes the lives of the daredevils who tempted fate each Sunday by driving well over 150 mph without benefit of seat belts or roll bars.

Written with the pacing of a novel, The Limit pits Hill against his Ferrari teammate, German Count Wolfgang Von Trips, as they jockey for the top spot throughout the 1961 season, culminating in one of the deadliest races in Grand Prix history. The Limit captures a distinct moment when men the world over were driven to push the boundaries of the possible.

Download and start listening now!

BK_HIGH_000608

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Dennis Willingham | 1/31/2014

    " Good account of the late '50s - early '60's sportscar and formula 1 racing series. Centers on Ferrari and two "frenemy" drivers, Hill and von Trips. Very enjoyable quick read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 by Pam | 1/22/2014

    " Mike Cannell's book The Limit is an good history of sports cars and the Gran Prix in the 1950s and early 1960s. It focuses on the competition between Phil Hill and Von Trips for Grand Prix wins, and Ferrari's manipulation of them. Ferrari's efforts to keep them on edge in an effort to achieve faster speeds literally caused the drivers to drive themselves to death. The number and description of accidents and deaths ultimately makes this book depressing so I gave up about 75% of the way through. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 by Hardeep | 1/6/2014

    " Excellent read about the 1961 Grand Prix and the events leading up to it. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 by Jim Dolan | 1/5/2014

    " Amazing story...racing as it should be...dangerous! Exciting! "

  • > Show All
Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations