Extended Audio Sample

Download The Limit: Life and Death on the 1961 Grand Prix Circuit Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Limit: Life and Death on the 1961 Grand Prix Circuit Audiobook, by Michael Cannell Click for printable size audiobook cover
4.00877192982456 out of 54.00877192982456 out of 54.00877192982456 out of 54.00877192982456 out of 54.00877192982456 out of 5 4.01 (114 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Michael Cannell Narrator: Fred Stella Publisher: Highbridge Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: November 2011 ISBN: 9781611746242
Regular Price: $23.07 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Phil Hill, a lowly California mechanic who, defying all expectations, became the first American to win the Grand Prix championship. In the tradition of Seabiscuit and The Right Stuff, Cannell’s high-octane narrative evokes the lives of the daredevils who tempted fate each Sunday by driving well over 150 mph without benefit of seat belts or roll bars.

Written with the pacing of a novel, The Limit pits Hill against his Ferrari teammate, German Count Wolfgang Von Trips, as they jockey for the top spot throughout the 1961 season, culminating in one of the deadliest races in Grand Prix history. The Limit captures a distinct moment when men the world over were driven to push the boundaries of the possible.

Download and start listening now!

BK_HIGH_000608

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Dennis Willingham | 1/31/2014

    " Good account of the late '50s - early '60's sportscar and formula 1 racing series. Centers on Ferrari and two "frenemy" drivers, Hill and von Trips. Very enjoyable quick read. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Pam | 1/22/2014

    " Mike Cannell's book The Limit is an good history of sports cars and the Gran Prix in the 1950s and early 1960s. It focuses on the competition between Phil Hill and Von Trips for Grand Prix wins, and Ferrari's manipulation of them. Ferrari's efforts to keep them on edge in an effort to achieve faster speeds literally caused the drivers to drive themselves to death. The number and description of accidents and deaths ultimately makes this book depressing so I gave up about 75% of the way through. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Hardeep | 1/6/2014

    " Excellent read about the 1961 Grand Prix and the events leading up to it. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jim Dolan | 1/5/2014

    " Amazing story...racing as it should be...dangerous! Exciting! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Jonathan | 11/24/2013

    " The story of Phil Hill, a great American driver and his championship in 1962. In the late 50's early 60's you has a 33% chance of being killed on the great Gran Prix tracks of Europe. This is a peek into those men, with a focus on Phil Hill. Well written look at a very dangerous sport. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Ryan Morris | 10/27/2013

    " A great recollection of stupid-brave racers, before all of the safety systems we have today. The author explains the science of racing in everyday terms while giving great biographical info on each racer and their car. A great read for anyone who loves combustible engines. "

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 John | 10/12/2013

    " Misleadingly titled, this book is a biography of US sports can and Grand Prix champion Phil Hill. It failed to thrill. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 John Navert | 9/23/2013

    " Not a bad portrayal of the 61 grand prix season. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Dan | 9/10/2013

    " Really enjoyed this book! Phil Hill, Count Von Trips, and the labyrinthine universe of Ferrari's racing team In the late 1950's & 1960's. Well-told, humane story of these men and the incredible challenge of their sport. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Brent | 3/2/2013

    " This book is an absolute must read for fans of Motor Sport, particularly GP racing. Primarily about Phil Hill and Wolfgang von Trips,it touches on the lives and deaths of the early drivers , manufacturers and owners. I, literally could not put it down. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 gargravarr | 12/23/2012

    " If you are a fan of Grand Prix racing, this book gives an interesting perspective on the early years of the sport. While focusing on the rivalry between Hill and Von Trips, it gives an overall view of the courage and determination needed to drive Grand Prix cars in the early years "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Bill | 10/31/2012

    " By mistake, put my review out on Beth's page. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Beth | 10/7/2012

    " Good book about a classic race between Hill and von Tripp in 1961. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 David Mesa | 9/26/2012

    " I have been a fan of formula one racing since 1967 and have purchased and read many books and videos on motor racing (fiction and non-fiction) over that period. Books and movies aimed at the general public have generally fallen short of expressing the excitement and drama of this often misunderstood sport to the non-fan. This is one of the best books I have ever read and highly recommend it to both fan and non-fan alike. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Andi | 4/25/2012

    " Great book! I loved it! and I'm not a Formula 1 race fan at all. The story of the two drivers, their relationship, and the toll the deaths of their teammates was so well done. It was a really good book. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Dan Piette | 3/26/2012

    " Lots of death on the early Grand Prix and Sports Car racing circuit. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Walter Bush | 2/14/2012

    " A guy's book, no doubt, but a great read. Cannell makes events of more than 50 years ago seem relevant and quite interesting. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Narrator

Fred Stella has worked as an actor and voice talent in radio, television, independent films, and audio books. He was awarded the Publishers Weekly Listen Up Award for Best Male Narration in 2002. He makes his home in Grand Rapids, Michigan, and is on the adjunct faculty staff of Muskegon Community College.