The Last to See Me: A Novel Audiobook, by M. Dressler Play Audiobook Sample

Download The Last to See Me: A Novel Audiobook

The Last to See Me: A Novel Audiobook, by M. Dressler Play Audiobook Sample
Coming Soon!
We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title! This audiobook has 0 votes
Author: M. Dressler Narrator: Lauren Ezzo Publisher: Brilliance Audio Audio Length: Release Date: October 2017 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781543655360

Publisher Description

For readers of Lauren Oliver and Alice Sebold, a sophisticated, literary ghost story that reminds us the past is never, ever forgotten

In a small logging town in northern California, young Emma Rose Finnis was born and died. Now, no one remembers her hardworking life and her grand dreams—but she remembers. She remembers everything. Emma Rose is still here, one hundred years after her death…and she doesn’t plan on leaving.

But when a determined hunter arrives with instructions to “clean” Emma Rose out of her haunt, the stately Lambry mansion, death suddenly isn’t the worst fate imaginable. Emma Rose refuses to be hounded from the only place she’s ever found peace, even if it means waging a war on the living…and the dead.

Lyrical and haunting, this spellbinding American ghost story alternates between Emma Rose’s life and afterlife as the past and present become entwined in a compelling tale of loss, love and tenacity over a century in the making.

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • “Narrator Lauren Ezzo embodies Emma Rose with a light brogue, as gossamer as the spirit herself and a strong contrast to the reserved, low tones of her nemesis, ghost hunter Phillip Pratt. Ezzo also makes Ellen, a real estate agent, sound refreshingly chipper, a voice of reason caught in a battle between the here and the hereafter. Emma Rose may be dead, but Ezzo’s masterful narration—buoyed by Dressler’s lyrical writing—makes her as real as the living. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.”

    - AudioFile
  • “In this highly atmospheric and beautifully crafted novel, the movements of the ghost Emma Rose are both palpable and fascinating…Spellbinding from page one.”

    - Library Journal (starred review)
  • “Evocative…astonishing…at once lyrical, and ruthlessly human.”

    - Horror Reviews
  • “One woman’s unforgettable fight for visibility.”

    - Booklist

Awards

  • Winner of an AudioFile Earphones Award

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

M. Dressler is an author whose work has been praised by the New York Times as “splendid” and by Library Journal as the writing of a “natural born storyteller.” Her stories and essays have appeared in the Kenyon Review, Literary Hub, the Washington Post, and many other journals and magazines. She is a professor at Guilford College.

About the Narrator

Lauren Ezzo, an Earphones Award–winning narrator, is a commercial voice talent and Chicago–based actor and graduate of Hope College. She has acted in Peppermint Creek Theatre Company’s world premiere of Or You Could Kiss Me. Her narrations have placed her on several “Best of the Year” lists, including AudioFile’s Best Audiobooks of the Year list. In 2018, she was part of a full cast of narrators nominated for the prestigious Audie Award for Best Original Work.