Extended Audio Sample

Download The Last Detective: An Elvis Cole Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Last Detective: An Elvis Cole Novel Audiobook, by Robert Crais Click for printable size audiobook cover
4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 4.00 (5,733 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Robert Crais Narrator: James Daniels Publisher: Brilliance Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Related: The Elvis Cole / Joe Pike Novels Release Date: September 2004 ISBN: 9781597104418
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 0 votes

Elvis Cole's relationship with attorney Lucy Chenier is strained. When she moved from Louisiana to join Elvis in Los Angeles, she never dreamed that violence would so easily touch her life -- but then the unthinkable happens. While Lucy is away on business and her ten-year-old son, Ben, is staying with Elvis, Ben disappears without a trace. Desperate to believe that the boy has run away, evidence soon mounts to suggest a much darker scenario. Joining forces with his enigmatic partner, Joe Pike, Elvis frantically searches for Ben with the help of LAPD Detective Carol Starkey, as Lucy's wealthy, oil-industry ex-husband attempts to wrest control of the investigation. Amid the maelstrom of personal conflicts, Elvis and Joe are forced to consider a more troubling lead -- one indicating that Ben's disappearance is connected to a terrible, long-held secret from Elvis Cole's past. Venturing deep inside a complex psyche, Crais explores Elvis' need for family - the military that embraced him during a troubled adolescence, his rock-solid partnership with Pike, and his floundering relationship with Lucy - as they race the clock in their search for Ben. The Last Detective is Robert Crais' richest, most intense tale of suspense yet. Download and start listening now!

BK_BRLL_000092

Quotes & Awards

  • An Audie Award Finalist

Listener Opinions

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Cynthia | 2/14/2014

    " Likely the best Crais novel I've read yet! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Temple | 2/13/2014

    " Just finished. It was pretty good. Better than I thought it would be. This was my first Robert Crais. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Lola4 | 2/12/2014

    " I guess I really loved this book, because I stayed up until 1:30 AM unable to put it down until it was finished. I know I love these guys. In this book Crais exposes greater dimensions of character in his heroes and treats us to a deeper glimpse into the history and heart of Elvis Cole. Some male readers bemoan this trend in his later books, but I think female readers generally like to know the heart, mind, personality of the characters to truly enjoy a thriller and for me that is what moves a page-turner from good to great--not just unfolding a gripping plot but also getting inside the skin of realistic human characters. My one complaint is that the last quarter of the plot and the final shoot out were too similar to The Watchman, which I just happened to read the night before, which made it too easy to see what was going on in this story. If I hadn't have read the Watchman first, I'm sure I would have loved this book even more. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Rhod | 2/10/2014

    " Crais was recommended by several folks - wasn't sure I was going to like the plot as it started up, but it became a really suspenseful tale - hard to put down. Now I want to read some more books written by him. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Beth | 1/30/2014

    " Although there was very little humor in this book compared to his others I still really enjoyed it. What a great writer. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Michael Bishop | 1/27/2014

    " SO far this book is a thriller, never know what is going to happen next. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Brian Lee | 1/26/2014

    " Crais starts out well with a great description of the dangers of Alaskan Brown Bears. Then he moves to L A with a mysterious kidnapping. But like most Crais novels, it just sorta gets ho humm for me near the end. I would recommend Pelecanos, Lehane, Rankin, Connelly, or even Robert Parker over Crais most anyday. But Crais 's Elvis Cole series can be a fun read at times. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Tim T | 1/22/2014

    " Joe & Elvis were heroes once again. A fast read with a predictable ending. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Adam | 1/19/2014

    " What an outstanding book! I sat down yesterday morning and didn't put it down until I was finished yesterday afternoon! This was my first introduction to Elvis Cole & Joe Pike and what a deadly combo these two make!! I found the story riveting from the opening page and loved how these guys decided to take matters into their own hands. I mean, what can you do if the police aren't doing enough and a meddling ex-husband starts making things worse? Who is actually trying to get to the bottom of this mystery and who would rather not? What depths will those involved in this sinister plot go to just to prove a point? Read the book to find out!!! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Eugeneson | 1/14/2014

    " Not up to Crais usual high standard. A bit boring. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Susan | 12/9/2013

    " Good whodunit book. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Loree Mathews | 10/13/2013

    " Familiar, predictable plot. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kurt Young | 9/22/2013

    " I keep reading this series out of order and not minding. Great story-telling, and each book gives new info on the characters' backgrounds that I think I've missed in other books. Also, Crais gives my favorite fictional detective, Harry Bosh, an anonymous walk-on role. Too cool... "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Linda | 9/20/2013

    " Another hit by Robert Crais, one not to be missed. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Rochelle | 7/17/2013

    " Elvis Cole #9 "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Annie Michelle | 7/16/2013

    " love my elvis and joe "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Bara'ah | 5/31/2013

    " omg i just started reading this book and i'm soo excited! hhee wish me luck! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sue B | 5/12/2013

    " Another great book by Crais. wish I could stay home and read all day! "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Ronald Howell | 4/12/2013

    " Cole and Pike back together. Lucy (and Ben) are gone. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Michelle Prak | 2/9/2013

    " Cole is cool. That is all. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Joyce Lagow | 12/15/2012

    " His best book yet. A real thriller with a great plot, fast action and real characters. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 el_quijote | 11/21/2012

    " Okay, I'm not much into pulp fiction mysteries. However, since my friends keep giving me their old paperbacks I do read some just before bedtime. This one was a notch above most. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Rob | 11/9/2012

    " Wow! First time reading this author. What a page-turner -- read it in two sittings. Am now off to the library to find a couple more of his titles. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Carolyn | 6/25/2012

    " Not enough Pike. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Mike | 2/25/2012

    " As I started reading, I hated this book, then I loved it. Slow to get into, but like the roller coasters I love, it picked up speed. I finished this on Sweet 16 weekend, and the decision was, do I watch basketball or read? Saw some Elvis background, nice. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Lesley | 7/29/2011

    " I'm behind on this series and am working on catching up. Elvis Cole and Joe Pike search for Lucy(Elvis's girlfriend)'s son, who was kidnapped while Elvis was looking after him. Good action, but was quite easy to figure out what was really going on. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Colleen | 5/19/2011

    " Really liked it! Lots of action! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Ken | 4/6/2011

    " Great, believable action with excellent insight into the characters. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Sue | 3/2/2011

    " Another great book by Crais. wish I could stay home and read all day! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kathleen | 2/28/2011

    " Pivotal installment in the Cole and Pike series. This one provides more of the back story of these two characters. Highly recommend this series for fans of Lee Child, Jeffrey Deaver or Dennis Lehane. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Michael | 1/7/2011

    " SO far this book is a thriller, never know what is going to happen next. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Burt | 12/31/2010

    " An early book on Elvis Cole's life. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kaylol | 12/9/2010

    " A bit predictable but still great "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Andrea | 11/13/2010

    " if I could have, 3 1/2 stars "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 LuAnn | 10/14/2010

    " Elvis Cole and Joe Pike to the rescue, "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Elena | 9/17/2010

    " Someone kidnaps Ben, the only child of Lucy, Cole's partner. Cole and Joe Pike have to find the boy before it's too late. First appearance of detective Starkey. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kathleen | 8/23/2010

    " The Last Detective by Robert Crais (2004) "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Nina | 5/26/2010

    " Entertaining, though I am not sure that this is one of Crais' stronger books. There seemed to be quite a few different threads going on - and though the plot was well resolved, I wasn't sure why some bits of the book were included. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author
Author Robert Crais

Robert Crais is an American author of numerous New York Times bestsellers, including Taken, which debuted at #1 on the New York Times bestseller list. He received the Ross Macdonald Literary Award in 2006, The Eye—Lifetime Achievement Award in 2010, and the Mystery Writers of America’s Grand Master Award in 2014. He has written for such acclaimed television shows as L.A. Law, Cagney and Lacey, Miami Vice, and Hill Street Blues. A film adaptation of his novel Hostage was released in 2005, starring Bruce Willis as ex-LAPD SWAT negotiator Jeff Talley.

About the Narrator

James Daniels is a labor organization attorney who performed Shakespeare in London, received a Grammy nomination for his audiobook narration, and wrote the hard-boiled noir mystery Ghost Bride. He and his family live in the Midwest.