The Killing Room Audiobook, by Peter May Play Audiobook Sample

Download The Killing Room Audiobook

The Killing Room Audiobook, by Peter May Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $13.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
Regular Price: $24.98 Add to Cart
Author: Peter May Narrator: Peter Forbes Publisher: Hachette Book Group Audio Length: Series:The China Thrillers Series Release Date: September 2018 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9781549173875

Publisher Description

When a mass grave containing eighteen mutilated female corpses is discovered in Shanghai, detective Li Yan is sent from Beijing to establish if the bodies are linked to an unsolved murder in the capital. Here, Li will be working with Mei Ling, deputy head of Shanghai’s serious crime squad.

Mei Ling is a formidable woman: a fact that is not lost on Li’s on-again, off-again lover, forensic pathologist Margaret Campbell. But when Campbell, vulnerable and still grieving the death of her father, learns that the victims were subjected to “live” autopsies, she swallows her pride and joins Li Yan and Mei Ling in the hunt for the murderer.

As Li, Campbell, and Mei Ling enter the arena of a sickening nemesis they are forced to confront each of their very worst nightmares.

Download and start listening now!


  • “The Killing Room is a brisk, solidly plotted police procedural, with lots of gritty forensic details.”

    - Mystery Scene Magazine
  • “Margaret’s expertise is made more use of in this book than hitherto, and those who like discoveries from the mortuary slab will find this outing particularly satisfying. The urgency to find the culprit, the frustrations of the task, and the romantic entanglements mean that, as with earlier books in the series, there is barely a dull moment as the book rushes to an exciting conclusion.”

    - Crime Review
  • “Li and Campbell’s fine third case provides thrills, chills, and a window into current Chinese lifestyles.”

    - Kirkus Reviews
  • “Rewarding…May offers a little politics, a little romance, and a lot of autopsy details.”

    - Publishers Weekly

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

Peter May, born and raised in Scotland, was an award-winning journalist at the age of twenty-one and a published novelist at twenty-six. When his first book was adapted as a major drama series for the BBC, he quit journalism and during the high-octane fifteen years that followed, became one of Scotland’s most successful television dramatists. He created three prime-time drama series, presided over two of the highest-rated serials in his homeland as script editor and producer, and worked on more than 1,000 episodes of ratings-topping drama before deciding to leave television to return to his first love, writing novels. He has won several literature awards in France, received the USA’s Barry Award for The Blackhouse, the first in his internationally bestselling Lewis Trilogy; and in 2014 Entry Island won the Deanston’s Scottish Crime Novel of the Year and the ITV Specsavers Crime Thriller Book Club Best Read of the Year Award.

About the Narrator

Peter Forbes is an audiobook narrator and actor. He studied English in the same year as Ian Rankin at Edinburgh University. His credits include Berkeley Square (BBC), Peter Kosminsky’s The Government Inspector (Channel 4 UK), the award-winning Black Watch, Never So Good, Afterlife, and Mamma Mia! (London West End). He was nominated in the 2011 Critics’ Awards for Theatre in Scotland for his performance in Liz Lochhead’s Educating Agnes.