Download The Importance of Being Seven Audiobook

The Importance of Being Seven Audiobook, by Alexander McCall Smith Extended Sample Click for printable size audiobook cover
Author: Alexander McCall Smith Narrator: Robert Ian MacKenzie Publisher: Recorded Books, LLC Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Series: The 44 Scotland Street Series Release Date: August 2012 ISBN: 9781464008160
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (0 ratings) (rate this audio book)
Regular Price: $24.99 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$7.95$7.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

Perhaps best known for his No. 1 Ladies' Detective Agency series, #1 New York Times best-selling author Alexander McCall Smith delights fans around the world with his warmhearted 44 Scotland Street novels. In the series' sixth entry, the residents of 44 Scotland Street grapple with problems both trivial and severe, but none so great as when six-year-old Bertie Pollock - who longs to be seven - mislays his mum and learns a valuable lesson about wish fulfillment. Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “McCall Smith, a fine writer, paints his hometown of Edinburgh as indelibly as he captures the sunniness of Africa. We can almost feel the mists as we tread the cobblestones.”

    Dallas Morning News

  • “McCall Smith’s assessments of fellow humans are piercing and profound…[His] depictions of Edinburgh are vivid and seamless.”

    San Francisco Chronicle

  • “Just about perfect…Contains a healthy helping of McCall Smith’s patented charm.”

    St. Louis Post-Dispatch

  • “McCall Smith manages sidesplitting send-ups of contemporary pretentiousness and wry and often poignant commentary on the roles of chance, cruelty, and fate in our lives…delightful.”

    Booklist (starred review)

  • “McCall Smith again shows his mastery of light comedy…What pulls the reader in is the good natures of (almost) all the characters and McCall’s uncanny ability to see their world as they do, and to render their worries, pleasures, and musings with charm, grace, and geniality.”

    Publishers Weekly

  • “Narrator Robert Ian Mackenzie delightfully captures the witty and diverse cast. His rendering of Bertie and his friends Tofu, Hiawatha, and Olive is much like eavesdropping on a group of noisy kids. The account of Bertie taking his baby brother, Ulysses, to school for show and tell is priceless. The fussy and warring adults, especially Bertie’s tiresome mother, are equally believable and enjoyable to befriend for a spell. Best of all, Mackenzie is spot-on in delivering McCall Smith’s subtle humor.”


  • A Kirkus Reviews Top 25 Book, August2012
  • A New York Times bestseller

Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!
Write a Review

About the Author

Alexander McCall Smith is the New York Times bestselling author of numerous novels, including the No.1 Ladies’ Detective Agency series, the Isabel Dalhousie series, the Portuguese Irregular Verbs series, and the 44 Scotland Street series. He has also written stand-alone novels, books for children, and nonfiction works. He is professor emeritus of medical law at the University of Edinburgh in Scotland and has served with many national and international organizations concerned with bioethics. He was born in what is now known as Zimbabwe and taught law at the University of Botswana.

About the Narrator

Robert Ian Mackenzie, Earphones Award–winning narrator, became an actor after holding a wide variety of other jobs, including everything from London policeman to water ski instructor in Greece. Since then, his acting career has encompassed straight theater, musicals, opera, films, television, voice-overs, commercials, and recorded books.