The Hunting Party: A Novel Audiobook, by Lucy Foley Play Audiobook Sample

Download The Hunting Party: A Novel Audiobook

The Hunting Party: A Novel Audiobook, by Lucy Foley Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $18.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $26.99 Add to Cart
Author: Lucy Foley Narrator: Elle Newlands, Imogen Church, Morag Sims, Gary Furlong, Moira Quirk, various narrators Publisher: HarperAudio Audio Length: Release Date: February 2019 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780062896797

Publisher Description

Everyone's invited...everyone's a suspect...

For fans of Ruth Ware and Tana French, a shivery, atmospheric, page-turning novel of psychological suspense in the tradition of Agatha Christie, in which a group of old college friends are snowed in at a hunting lodge . . . and murder and mayhem ensue.

All of them are friends. One of them is a killer.

During the languid days of the Christmas break, a group of thirtysomething friends from Oxford meet to welcome in the New Year together, a tradition they began as students ten years ago. For this vacation, they’ve chosen an idyllic and isolated estate in the Scottish Highlands—the perfect place to get away and unwind by themselves.

They arrive on December 30th, just before a historic blizzard seals the lodge off from the outside world.

Two days later, on New Year’s Day, one of them is dead.

The trip began innocently enough: admiring the stunning if foreboding scenery, champagne in front of a crackling fire, and reminiscences about the past. But after a decade, the weight of secret resentments has grown too heavy for the group’s tenuous nostalgia to bear. Amid the boisterous revelry of New Year’s Eve, the cord holding them together snaps.

Now one of them is dead . . . and another of them did it.

Keep your friends close, the old adage goes. But just how close is too close?

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • “A ripping, riveting murder mystery—wily as Agatha Christie, charged with real menace, real depth.”

    - A. J. Finn, #1 New York Times bestselling author
  • “Historical novelist Foley makes an auspicious thriller debut…Foley spins her story skillfully through multiple narrators…makes for a cracklingly suspenseful story for a long winter’s night.”

    - Publishers Weekly

Customer Reviews

Write a Review
  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5

    " I could not stop listening. Great characters, great storyline, great narrators. It kept me guessing till the end! "

    - D'anna, 1/3/2020

About the Author

Lucy Foley studied English literature at Durham University and University College London. She then worked for several years as a fiction editor, during which time she wrote her first novel, The Book of Lost and Found. Lucy now writes full-time and is busy traveling (for research, naturally!), painting, and working on her next novel.

About the Narrators

Elle Newlands, an Earphones Award–winning narrator, is a Scottish actor and a singer-songwriter whose vocals and music have been featured in radio, commercials, film, and television in both Europe and the United States. A classically trained vocalist, she has studied voice with coaches from the Royal Scottish Academy of Music and Drama, La Scala in Italy, and voice builder Gary Catona. She has shared the bill with a diverse range of musical acts in various genres including Travis, Natalie Imbruglia, and the Pointer Sisters. She has also scored and composed music for film.

Imogen Church, an Earphones Award-winning narrator, trained as an actress at the Drama Centre London, under Christopher Fettes, Yat Malmgren, and Reuven Adiv. Since graduating, she has worked extensively in theater, film, commercials, and comedy sketch work, and she also works regularly as a voice artist. As a screenwriter, her first screenplay won the 2009 award for Best Feature Screenplay at the Reel Women Film Festival in Los Angeles.

Olivia Waite writes erotic, historical, and paranormal romance and is the author of the Feminine Pursuits series, as well as several stand-alone novels.

Gary Furlong grew up in Wexford, Ireland. Throughout his life he has worn many hats working as a teacher, puppeteer, improv artist, actor, and singer. He can perform in general British, general American, and an Irish accent to a native level and can speak Japanese fluently. He now works full time as an audiobook narrator and voice actor from his home in Ireland.

Moira Quirk, a British actress and Earphones Award–winning narrator, co-narrated Ben Bova’s Mercury and has narrated other popular audiobooks for which she received Audie Award nominations. She is a successful comedian and can be heard on Nickelodeon’s cartoon My Life as a Teenage Robot as well as in The Radio Adventures of Dr. Floyd, The Wild Thornberrys Feature, and Serendipity, among others. She has also lent her voice to several video games, including Mercenaries: Playground of Destruction and Haunting Ground.

Thérèse Plummer is an actor, award-winning voice-over artist, and counselor. She is a winner of several AudioFile Earphones Awards and has been a finalist for the prestigious Audie Award for best narration. She has appeared in a variety of television and film roles. As a counselor for adolescents, she spent five years using drama therapy techniques in individual and group settings.