Extended Audio Sample

Download The Heavy: A Mother, A Daughter, A Diet--A Memoir Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Heavy: A Mother, A Daughter, A Diet--A Memoir Audiobook, by Dara-Lynn Weiss Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (355 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Dara-Lynn Weiss Narrator: Amanda Tepe Publisher: Penguin Random House Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: January 2013 ISBN: 9780804120616
Regular Price: $20.00 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $17.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

For readers of Battle Hymn of the Tiger Mother and Bringing Up Bebe, a mother’s unflinching memoir about helping her seven year-old daughter lose weight, and the challenges of modern parenting.
 
When a doctor pronounced Dara-Lynn Weiss’s daughter Bea obese at age seven, the mother of two knew she had to take action. But how could a woman with her own food and body issues—not to mention spotty eating habits—successfully parent a little girl around the issue of obesity?
 
In this much-anticipated, controversial memoir, Dara-Lynn Weiss chronicles the struggle and journey to get Bea healthy. In describing their process—complete with frustrations, self-recriminations, dark humor, and some surprising strategies—Weiss reveals the hypocrisy inherent in the debates over many cultural hot-button issues: from processed snacks, organic foods, and school lunches to dieting, eating disorders, parenting methods, discipline, and kids’ self-esteem.
 
Compounding the challenge were eating environments—from school to restaurants to birthday parties—that set Bea up to fail, and unwelcome judgments from fellow parents. Childhood obesity, Weiss discovered, is a crucible not just for the child but also for parents. She was criticized as readily for enabling Bea’s condition as she was for enforcing the rigid limits necessary to address it. Never before had Weiss been made to feel so wrong for trying to do the right thing.
 
The damned if you do/damned if you don’t predicament came into sharp relief when Weiss raised some of these issues in a Vogue article. Critics came out in full force, and Weiss unwittingly found herself at the center of an emotional and highly charged debate on childhood obesity.
 
A touching and relatable story of loving a child enough to be unpopular, The Heavy will leave readers applauding Weiss’s success, her bravery, and her unconditional love for her daughter.

Advance praise for The Heavy
 
“Have you ever been ‘that mother’? You know, the one who others criticize or question? If so, then you know what incredible courage and daring it can take to raise a child in a way that doesn't always meet other people’s expectations. Dara-Lynn Weiss is inspirational for her sheer will, her unwavering dedication, and her willingness to take accountability for her own actions. The Heavy is a stark look at imperfect parenting—and why our mistakes make us better parents.”—Christine Carter, author of Raising Happiness
 
“Dara-Lynn Weiss had to defy her child’s school, the judgments of other parents, and our fast food culture to rescue her daughter from the epidemic of obesity. Parents should see this as an inspiration—and a wake-up call.”—Amy Dickinson, “Ask Amy” advice columnist and author of The Mighty Queens of Freeville
 
The Heavy should be required reading for every parent because it tackles—with refreshing honesty—that universal question we’ll all face: how to do what’s best for our children, even when the kids resist our efforts and society judges our approach. Dara-Lynn Weiss has written a brave book and started a crucial and overdue national conversation.”—Abigail Pogrebin, author of One and the Same and Stars of David Download and start listening now!

BK_RAND_003360

Listener Opinions

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Kelli | 2/17/2014

    " I could hardly put this book down. The Heavy is a memoir about Dara-Lynn Weiss and her struggles to help her overweight daughter Bea loose weight. Kudos to Weiss for taking the initiative to get her daughter to a healthy weight so that health problems caused by obesity are not an issue her whole life. I'm not entirely on board with the methods Weiss used, but I think she really did the best she could with what she felt was right and I don't think at any point Weiss did anything to undermine her daughter's self esteem or motivation. Childhood obesity is such an important issue these days and the statistics indicate that far too many parents are being lax about this issue to the detriment of their own children. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Lori | 1/21/2014

    " This book should have remained as it started - a magazine article. There was just not enough there to make a book. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Melissa Wentzel | 1/21/2014

    " I think I would have rather read the Vogue article than the book. Weiss seems like a very committed and loving mother, but she is not the greatest writer. The structure was a little too floppy and the writing was not particularly lyrical. I think that a lot of the criticism that Weiss has gotten regarding her strategy for her daughter's weight loss could have been avoided had we known more about Bea other than her weight. I can see that Weiss cares about the other parts of Bea, but she never makes me (as a reader) fall in love with Bea. It is not the fault of a mother. It is a fault of a writer. I applaud her courage for tackling her daughter's weight and for sharing the story with millions. It cannot have been an easy book to write. I'm glad that she was willing to bring the issue front-and-center, and I wish her and Bea much health and happiness. But I'd recommend the article before the book. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Kate | 1/14/2014

    " Take this book for what it is, a memoir, and put your judgements aside. This was the most honest telling of a challenge that many parents face. She raised some great questions, and while I might not have agreed with everything she said (like saying exercise isn't necessary to be healthy) she made some good points. She did what she had to do to pave a healthy eating path for her daughter. Who wouldn't want that? Great read! "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Margaret Konecsni | 12/28/2013

    " Honest and frank and uplifting! I almost wish that childhood obesity had been a diagnosis when I was a kid, then I'd have a healthier body like Bea. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Devon Steven | 12/21/2013

    " While I disagree with Weiss' outlook on exercise, her book demonstrates her healthy use of - and the need for a greater use of - authority (as opposed to overwhelming permissiveness) than seems to be in practice today. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Natalie | 12/18/2013

    " She's a tough mom dealing with an incredibly tough issue. I don't agree with every decision she made, but every kid is different, and every parent too. Very honestly written book. Love that. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Jennifer | 10/23/2013

    " Can I first say, eight year olds do not say things like, "I have a new understanding of my life's fragility." While I thought this was an interesting book, it went on too long. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Tori | 10/1/2013

    " I really expected to dislike this book, based on the backlash from her Vogue article. I went into it with the same mentality as I went into "Tiger Mother." But I was pleasantly surprised at how honestly and practically she wrote about and addressed her daughter's challenges with weight. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 heather mc | 8/23/2013

    " Brave mom. Brave daughter. Together they got through something very difficult. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Devon Parmenter | 8/1/2013

    " Although I do not agree with her method, I applaud her dedication to helping her daughter lose weight. I agree with her philosophy that a diet should not be a temporary torture session, but rather a way of lifestyle and eating habits. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Laurel | 4/20/2013

    " I enjoyed this memoir. I applaud the mother for taking charge of her daughter's food intake. It breaks my heart to see so many fat kids running around, knowing that it is unlikely they will ever shed these extra pounds as they get older. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Nicole Zajack | 1/27/2013

    " Difficult to read but worth it if you have a child who struggles with their relationship with food or their weight. While I don't agree with her approach to weight loss, I did empathize with the struggle of being a parent to an overweight child and trying to figure out the best way to help. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Sandy Alexander | 1/24/2013

    " Interesting enough story, but I felt like this whole book was just the author defending herself and trying to paint herself in a better light. That being said, I read it in one day, so it definitely kept my attention. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Amy Deason | 1/5/2013

    " always hardest to be the adult "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Dara-Lynn Weiss is a freelance writer and producer of Internet, print, and television content. In April 2012, she wrote about helping her daughter lose weight in Vogue’s “Up Front” column. She lives with her husband and two children in New York City.