The Heart and Mind of Frances Pauley Audiobook, by April Stevens Play Audiobook Sample

Download The Heart and Mind of Frances Pauley Audiobook

The Heart and Mind of Frances Pauley Audiobook, by April Stevens Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $14.95
$7.95 for new members!(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening) Add to Cart learn more
OR
Regular Price: $17.95 Add to Cart
Author: April Stevens Narrator: Kathleen McInerney Publisher: Listening Library Audio Length: Release Date: February 2018 Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download ISBN: 9780525525486

Publisher Description

Perfect for fans of Jennifer L. Holm's The Fourteenth Goldfish and Holly Goldberg Sloan's Counting by 7s, and called "nothing short of magical" by The New York Times, this heartfelt, deeply moving middle-grade debut features an offbeat girl who learns that she can remain true to herself while also letting others in. Eleven-year-old Frances is an observer of both nature and people, just like her idol, the anthropologist Margaret Mead. She spends most of her time up on the rocks behind her house in her "rock world," as Alvin, her kindhearted and well-read school bus driver, calls it. It's the one place where Frances can truly be herself, and where she doesn't have to think about her older sister, Christinia, who is growing up and changing in ways that Frances can't understand. But when the unimaginable happens, Frances slowly discovers that perhaps the world outside her rugged, hidden paradise isn't so bad after all, and that maybe--just maybe--she can find connection and camaraderie with the people who have surrounded her all along. Original, accessible, and deeply affecting, April Stevens's middle-grade debut about an unforgettable girl and an unlikely friendship will steal your heart.

Download and start listening now!

Quotes

  • “Narrator Kathleen McInerney sets the perfect tone in this unique gem, which addresses common questions adolescents face…McInerney’s likable voice switches effortlessly between the engaging narrative and the youthful, carefully distinguished voices of Frances, Christinia, and other characters. McInerney conveys a sense of compassionate, humorous wisdom with this fine production, making it enjoyable to a wide range of listeners. Winner of the AudioFile Earphones Award.”

    - AudioFile
  • “[For] fifth-grader Frances…coping requires Frances to come out of her shell and modify her routine, but she remains true to herself by appreciating solitude while finding companions…Introverts who are comfortable in their skin and want to see themselves portrayed with respect will appreciate Frances.”

    - School Library Journal

Customer Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About the Author

April Stevens is the author of two novels and two picture books.

About the Narrator

Kathleen McInerney won the prestigious Audie Award for Best Narration in 2011 and was a finalist for the Audie in 2010 and 2015. Her narrations have also earned several AudioFile Earphones Awards. She has performed in New York and around the United States in both classical and contemporary theater. Her credits also include television commercials, daytime drama, radio plays, and a broad range of animation voice-overs.