Download The Gulag Archipelago, 1918–1956, Vol. 3: An Experiment in Literary Investigation, V–VII Audiobook

The Gulag Archipelago, 1918–1956, Vol. 3: An Experiment in Literary Investigation, V–VII Audiobook, by Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn Extended Sample Click for printable size audiobook cover
Author: Aleksandr Solzhenitsyn Narrator: Narrator Info Added Soon Publisher: Blackstone Publishing Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: May 2017 ISBN: 9781538462218
0 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 50 out of 5 0.00 (1 ratings) (rate this audio book)
Coming Soon! We're adding audiobooks daily and hope to make this one available for download very soon. Submit your vote below to let us know you really crave this title!
Vote this up! This audiobook has 3 votes

In this final volume of a towering work that is both a literary masterpiece and a living memorial to the untold millions of Soviet martyrs, Solzhenitsyn’s epic narrative moves to its astounding and unforeseen climax. We now see that this great cathedral of a book not only commemorates those massed victims but celebrates the unquenched spirit of resistance that flickered and then burst into flame, even in Stalin’s “special camps.”

Of the Archipelago as a whole, Le Monde has said, “It is the epic of our times. An epic is always the creation of an entire people, written by the one person who has the creative power and the genius to become the spokesman for his nation. And in this work, we hear a people speaking through the impassioned, intrepid, ironic, furious, lyrical, brutal, and often tender voice of the narrator.”

Download and start listening now!


Quotes & Awards

  • “The greatest and most powerful single indictment of a political regime ever to be leveled in modern times.”

    New York Review of Books

  • “Only when we consider the passionate mission of The Gulag Archipelago can we understand its otherwise improbable style. A work of such substance hardly needs the elaborate narrative…we don’t forget, and we read tomorrow morning’s news a little more carefully.”

    Book Week

  • “This book transcends the mere non-fiction historical account because the author involves himself so much, speaking of his own personal experiences, as well as those around him he knew personally, and those he interviewed years later.”


  • “Written by a man whose courage, whose integrity, and whose experience will give it overwhelming authority throughout the world. It is a truly exceptional work: for in it literature transcends history, without distorting it.”

    Saturday Review

  • Time Magazine Best Nonfiction Book of the Twentieth Century
  • National Review’s 100 Best Nonfiction Books of the Century

Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!
Write a Review

About the Author

Aleksandr I. Solzhenitsyn (1918–2008) was born in Kislovodsk, Russia. A twice-decorated captain in the Soviet Army, he was stripped of his rank, arrested, and convicted for privately criticizing Stalin in 1945. Exiled from the USSR in 1974, he eventually settled in the United States before returning to his homeland twenty years later after the Soviet system had collapsed. Among his acclaimed works are the novels One Day in the Life of Ivan Denisovich and The First Circle. His literary awards include the Nobel Prize for Literature and the Medal of Honor for Literature.