The Girl with Kaleidoscope Eyes: A Stewart Hoag Mystery Audiobook, by David Handler Play Audiobook Sample

The Girl with Kaleidoscope Eyes: A Stewart Hoag Mystery Audiobook

The Girl with Kaleidoscope Eyes: A Stewart Hoag Mystery Audiobook, by David Handler Play Audiobook Sample
FlexPass™ Price: $16.95
$9.95 for new members!
(Includes UNLIMITED podcast listening)
  • Love your audiobook or we'll exchange it
  • No credits to manage, just big savings
  • Unlimited podcast listening
Add to Cart
$9.95/m - cancel anytime - 
learn more
Regular Price: $21.99 Add to Cart
Read By: Sean Runnette Publisher: HarperAudio Listen Time: at 1.0x Speed 5.83 hours at 1.5x Speed 4.38 hours at 2.0x Speed Series: The Stewart Hoag Mysteries Release Date: October 2017 Format: Unabridged Audiobook ISBN: 9780062842152

Quick Stats About this Audiobook

Total Audiobook Chapters:


Longest Chapter Length:

72:10 minutes

Shortest Chapter Length:

43 seconds

Average Chapter Length:

40:36 minutes

Audiobooks by this Author:


Other Audiobooks Written by David Handler: > View All...

Publisher Description

HARLAN COBEN calls it "One of my all-time favorite series! ...David Handler is so good at writing one smart, funny page-turner after another that he makes it look easy." 

Fans of JANET EVANOVICH and CARL HIAASEN, get ready. If you haven't yet discovered wisecracking sleuth Stewart "Hoagy" Hoag and his faithful basset hound Lulu, you're in for a sharp, hilarious treat.

Once upon a time, Hoagy had it all: a hugely successful debut novel, a gorgeous celebrity wife, the glamorous world of New York City at his feet. These days, he scrapes by as a celebrity ghostwriter. A celebrity ghostwriter who finds himself investigating murders more often than he'd like.

And once upon a time, Richard Aintree was the most famous writer in America -- high school students across the country read his one and only novel, a modern classic on par with The Catcher in the Rye. But after his wife's death, Richard went into mourning... and then into hiding. No one has heard from him in twenty years.

Until now. Richard Aintree — or someone pretending to be Richard Aintree — has at last reached out to his two estranged daughters. Monette is a lifestyle queen à la Martha Stewart whose empire is crumbling; and once upon a time, Reggie was the love of Hoagy's life. Both sisters have received mysterious typewritten letters from their father.

Hoagy is already on the case, having been hired to ghostwrite a tell-all book about the troubled Aintree family. But no sooner does he set up shop in the pool house of Monette's Los Angeles mansion than murder strikes. With Lulu at his side — or more often cowering in his shadow — it's up to Hoagy to unravel the mystery, catch the killer, and pour himself that perfect single-malt Scotch... before it's too late.

Download and start listening now!

“The appearance of a new Stewart Hoag novel…is sure to be celebrated by the series’ many fans, and Handler more than meets expectations…A terrific opportunity to rediscover a fine series.”

— Booklist 


  • “One of my all-time favorite series.”

    — Harlan Coben, #1 New York Times bestselling author
  • “Handler’s fun, clever ninth Stewart Hoag mystery marks a welcome return for the endearing ghostwriter sleuth…Handler brilliantly combines wry humor with solid detection.”

    — Publishers Weekly (starred review)
  • “Hoagy is as cynical as ever with a dry humor that will find wide appeal…Fans who have been missing Handler’s series will be eager to pick up this new installment.”

    — Library Journal
  • “The sorely missed hero’s mixture of cynicism and sweetness plays as well as ever.”

    — Kirkus Reviews

The Girl with Kaleidoscope Eyes Listener Reviews

Be the first to write a review about this audiobook!

About David Handler

David Handler is an Edgar and American Mystery Award winner and a Dilys Award finalist. He is the author of the Berger and Mitry mysteries as well as those featuring Stewart Hoag. He lives in a two-hundred-year-old carriage house in Old Lyme, Connecticut.

About Sean Runnette

Sean Runnette, an Earphones Award–winning narrator, has also directed and produced more than two hundred audiobooks, including several Audie Award winners. He is a member of the American Repertory Theater company and has toured the United States and internationally with ART and Mabou Mines. His television and film appearances include Two If by Sea, Cop Land, Sex and the City, Law & Order, the award-winning film Easter, and numerous commercials.