Extended Audio Sample

Download The Ghost of Greenwich Village: A Novel Audiobook

Extended Audio Sample The Ghost of Greenwich Village: A Novel Audiobook, by Lorna Graham Click for printable size audiobook cover
3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 3.00 (331 ratings) (rate this audio book) Author: Lorna Graham Narrator: Nicole Vilencia Publisher: Blackstone Audio Format: Unabridged Audiobook Delivery: Instant Download Audio Length: Release Date: June 2011 ISBN: 9781470801809
Regular Price: $20.95 Add to Cart
— or —
FlexPass™ Price: $12.95$5.95$5.95 for new members!
Add to Cart learn more )

In the tradition of Sophie Kinsella and Lauren Weisberger comes this charming debut about a young woman who moves to Manhattan in search of romance and excitement, only to find that her apartment is haunted by the cantankerous ghost of an old beat-generation writer, who needs her help in finishing his life’s work.

For Eve Weldon, moving to Greenwich Village is a dream come true. She grew up listening to stories of her mother’s time there during the bohemian era of the sixties, when she immersed herself in a lively community of artists and writers. But when Eve finally arrives, the only writer she meets is a cranky ghost named Donald, and the only writing she manages to do is for a morning news show called Smell the Coffee. The competitive environment of the network is a far cry from the congenial camaraderie of the literary scene in her mother’s day, and Eve begins to wonder if the world she sought has disappeared entirely. But as she struggles to balance her new job, a budding friendship with a legendary fashion designer, and a search for clues to her mother’s past, she starts to realize that community can come in all different forms and that the true magic of Greenwich Village is eternal, though it may sometimes reveal itself in the most unexpected ways.

Download and start listening now!

BK_BLAK_004406

Quotes & Awards

  • “Delightful.”

    People magazine’s Great Summer Reads List

  • “Go out and buy three copies…one for yourself, one for your mom, and one for your best friend. Lorna Graham has a gift.”

    Hoda Kotb, Today

  • “Bound to please.”

    New York Daily News’ Great Summer Book Roundup

  • “This debut novel exudes charm and insider knowledge…The characters are quirky and realistic, and the story rings true despite its reliance on a ghostly presence. Highly recommended for all fiction readers.”

    Library Journal

  • “A charming, lively tale.”

    Booklist

  • “Delightful coming-of-age story with a sweet reverence for the art and romance of old Gotham.”

    Kirkus Reviews

  • “Lorna Graham’s debut sparkles with wit and warmth and magic. Eve is a modern girl with an old soul whose story will make you smile and wish for ghosts of your own.”

    Judy Merrill Larsen, author of All the Numbers

  • “Lorna Graham’s novel is charming, a sweet and whimsical romp through a magical Manhattan. I would love to live in her Greenwich Village, both past and present.”

    Janelle Brown, author of All We Ever Wanted Was Everything

  • The Ghost of Greenwich Village is a beautifully written love story. It’s a tribute to people and places, past and present, real and imagined. But it’s also a fascinating peek inside the world of morning news, and a fast-paced adventure of a single girl in New York City (complete with fabulous closet). While reading it, I wanted to bury myself in a really comfy chair and silence the phone so no one could disturb me until I’d devoured the last page.”

    Paulina Porizkova, author of A Model Summer

Listener Opinions

  • 1 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 51 out of 5 Caitlin | 1/12/2014

    " Urk. I was really hoping for an interesting ghost story with this one - a haunting with a bit of chick lit thrown in for a twist. Rather it was chick lit with a ghost tacked on. Couldn't get through it. "

  • 5 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 55 out of 5 Hayley Alexis | 1/10/2014

    " This novel had Holmes at the title: "I love Greenwich Village," says the Ohio native who lives in Los Angeles but visits the storied New York neighborhood whenever she can. The tale of a young writer trying to follow in her late mother's literary footsteps "has a lot to say about enduring challenges to achieve a goal." "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Sandra | 1/6/2014

    " makes you ponder the stories each of carry within us "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Anna | 12/18/2013

    " A fun frivoulous far from necessary read for discovering themselves young 20 somethings... "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kim | 11/29/2013

    " This was a satifying read. Nothing bad really happened to anyone and it was a good read. I liked the reference to some of the beat writers . . . myself being a fan of some of their works. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Judi Jxnfan | 11/23/2013

    " The title is the best thing about this book. It was a bit slow, but not unpleasant. It just didn't make me wish I was reading instead of whatever else I was doing. I finished it because I kept waiting for something to happen. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Chris | 11/5/2013

    " I liked the New York City setting, the vintage clothing, the insight into writing copy for a morning show, and the 1960s literary/arts scene in NYC and Paris. Seems a lot to throw into one book, but it worked for me. "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Ophelia | 6/1/2013

    " I expected the book to be a lot more interesting and ended up forcing myself to complete it. The author was well meaning but just didn't deliver. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Robin | 2/22/2013

    " Bought this book out of desperate need to have something to read and the library was closed! It was good. Hate paying $15 for a paperback and then having it be not readable. This was readable and kept my interest. Happy to lend if anyone needs a back up book! "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kelly | 10/15/2012

    " I liked this book...parts of it were pretty predictable and it was an easy read, but it did keep my interest throughout. "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Ruthie Rich | 1/21/2012

    " Whimsical little book. I really enjoyed this summer read. It's about a young woman who heads to New York City to feel closer to her mother and find herself. Along the way she makes some interesting friends... "

  • 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5 Kathleen | 12/6/2011

    " It was charming. More chick lit-y than I had signed on for, but I enjoyed the small town girl making her way in the big city theme. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Erin | 11/28/2011

    " thanks carrie. i didn't know what to expect, but i really liked this novel! "

  • 2 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 52 out of 5 Lola425 | 10/24/2011

    " Ugh. Wasn't horrible but I did a lot of eyerolling. Some of the language felt artificial (Eventual? Really?! Come on) I hated that Kinsella ghost book too and this one had a similar feel. Downtrodden heroines and sassy ghosts are not my thing I guess. "

  • 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5 Margery | 8/13/2011

    " It's a stretch for me to read any book with a talking ghost! However, I am familiar with the neighborhood and enjoyed the author's effort to bring the past generation into Eve's awareness and her future writing career. "

Write a Review
What is FlexPass?
  • Your first audiobook is just $5.95
  • Over 90% are at or below $12.95
  • "LOVE IT" guarantee
  • No time limits or expirations
About the Author

Lorna Graham was born in the San Francisco Bay area and graduated from Barnard College. She has written for Good Morning America and Dateline NBC. She also wrote a short film, A Timeless Call, honoring America’s military veterans, that was directed by Steven Spielberg. She lives in Greenwich Village.

About the Narrator

Nicole Vilencia became a full-time radio personality right out of high school and has worked for twenty-two years at radio stations across the country.